Three reasons why global gold demand has set a new record


Despite a noticeable decline in the exchange rate ($ 1700 per ounce against $ 2067 a year earlier), at the end of 2021, gold set a record in terms of demand over the past three decades. The precious metal is bought up by everyone - central banks, professional investors, and individuals. What caused such a rush of demand on the eve of the New Year?


As for the records, this is not an exaggeration, today the total volume of reserves of the "yellow metal" in the Central Banks of all countries has reached the level of 36 thousand tons, a record level over the past 31 years. In the third quarter of the outgoing year, Russia bought 6 tons of gold, Kazakhstan - 7 tons, Brazil - 9 tons, Uzbekistan - 26 tons of gold, and India - 41 tons of this precious metal. Ireland and Singapore also joined the ranks of "accumulators" - 2 and 26 tons of gold, respectively.

In addition to central banks, ordinary people are actively buying yellow metal in its various forms. In the countries of Southeast Asia, the demand for jewelry gold has increased. By the end of the year, the aggregate demand for it in India may exceed 400 tons, and in China - 500 tons. By the way, it is “jewelery” that accounts for about 40-50% of the precious metal produced in the world. But not only Asia, with its love for ostentatious chic and glitter, is increasing the demand for gold. Conservative Germans are actively buying coins and bars. The volume of demand in Germany exceeds the global indicators by at least 20%. Interest in the yellow metal is growing in other Western countries as well.

But why is this happening? The set of measures being taken is objectively aimed at reducing the position of gold: raising the key rate, ostensibly to fight inflation, strengthening the dollar. However, despite the loss in price, the precious metal is still very popular with everyone. Presumably, there are more powerful factors influencing investor sentiment.

At first, this is what can be roughly called a "pandemic project". We in no way deny the existence of COVID-19, its danger to health and the need to fight it, but objectively pandemics, or rather, the mechanisms for their prevention and fight against them, give too much power into the hands of a very narrow circle of people to be so easy with it breake down. The introduction of lockdowns, the forced isolation of entire countries is a powerful tool of political and economic pressure.

Pandora's Box is already open. Sooner or later, the coronavirus will exhaust itself, but another, possibly more dangerous infectious disease may take its place. An ordinary person has nothing to oppose to such a misfortune, so everyone is trying to create a "safety cushion" to the best of his ability.

Secondly, the big threat comes from the so-called "global energy transition". Carried out with the best wishes, the abandonment of traditional energy sources in favor of renewable ones carries a lot of new risks. So, recently, southern Texas froze over, being unprepared for the arrival of the Arctic cyclone and the fact that the blades will freeze on numerous wind turbines, and the work of oil rigs will stop. The light wind played a cruel joke with Europe, where a real energy crisis is now growing.

By the way, the current energy crisis is a side effect of the EU's attempt to rather abandon fossil fuels. We started ahead of time, had not been sufficiently prepared, and this is the natural result. The European Union is now paying for the green agenda with abnormally high prices for energy and electricity, which leads to a decrease in consumer demand and industrial production.

Thirdly, the risk of major armed conflicts has sharply increased, which will certainly hit the world the economy... Sooner or later, but Russia will have to somehow solve the "Ukrainian problem", which will lead to new economic sanctions: disconnecting the banking sector from SWIFT, banning operations with the state debt, etc. There is a high likelihood that the transit of Russian gas to Europe will decrease, or even stop altogether. The possibility of deploying American nuclear and hypersonic weapons in Eastern Europe and Ukraine, as well as some kind of military response from the Kremlin to this step, only increase the risks political and economic instability.

The likelihood of a serious armed conflict in the Middle East is increasing. Iran has stopped literally half a step from creating its own nuclear weapons, which will inevitably entail military aggression from Israel and the United States. One of the retaliatory steps will be the blocking of the Strait of Hormuz by Tehran, which could aggravate the already difficult situation on the world energy market.

It is already clear that the coming year 2022 will be difficult. The former "globalist" system of the world order is shaken and is trying to find new meanings of its existence in order to return to a stable balance. This is a lot of trouble for all of us, and therefore it is not surprising that those who can afford it take gold as a traditional “defensive” asset.
12 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 28 December 2021 13: 16
    +2
    It's just that people feel that the dollar may soon disappear, and it is not known who will replace it. It has always been that way. Previously, treasures were buried for a rainy day.
    1. instead of the dollar there will be yuan, what else?
  2. Rusa Offline Rusa
    Rusa 28 December 2021 14: 01
    +2
    It should be added that the reunification of Taiwan and the PRC was not removed from the agenda in Beijing, despite the opposition from Washington. Which can also lead to a military conflict as well as provocations of Israel against Iran.
  3. Yuri Shishlov Offline Yuri Shishlov
    Yuri Shishlov (Yuri Shishlov) 28 December 2021 14: 06
    +3
    Russia bought 6 tons, and sold over 200 to brites ?!
    1. Rusa Offline Rusa
      Rusa 28 December 2021 14: 34
      0
      The left hand in the RF does not know what the right hand is doing.
    2. Why not sell it to the Britons, and the Franks, and the Deutsches - if they are looting?
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 28 December 2021 14: 46
    +1
    This is P.'s cunning plan.

    For 2 years now, gold has been exported at a record. 290 and 240 tons.
    And the proceeds in this are allowed not to return to Russia. Toto gave everything wildly, but tangerines and bananas did not.
    1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
      Bulanov (Vladimir) 28 December 2021 16: 07
      +2
      It would be better if they sold them to their population in micro-ingots.
  5. gunnerminer Offline gunnerminer
    gunnerminer (gunner miner) 28 December 2021 22: 36
    -5
    good Especially on the third point. Competition. Donbass or Iran. Worse if Hel Hawir starts by killing the Iranians on the Syrian bridgehead.
  6. Sergeyjluf Offline Sergeyjluf
    Sergeyjluf (Sergei) 29 December 2021 10: 33
    +1
    US President Franklin Roosevelt's decree No. 6102 on the actual confiscation of gold in bullion and coins from the population and organizations entered into force during the Great Depression on April 5, 1933.

    And it's not a fact that it is not possible to do it in any country now!
  7. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 29 December 2021 12: 52
    +3
    1. An oversupply of dollars inflates a financial bubble that threatens to undermine the entire world economy, but you want to live and want to live well.
    2. Everyone is waiting for changes in the existing world order, financial system, money circulation, etc.
    3. The "globalist" system of world order today is the dictatorship of the United States and its allies.
    Globalization does not mean today's neo-colonial form of world domination of state institutions, but the impending transition to world domination and power of transnational monopolistic associations !!!
  8. Moray Boreas Offline Moray Boreas
    Moray Boreas (Morey Borey) 22 January 2022 11: 06
    0
    The population of the Earth is about 7,5 billion hours.
    The total amount of gold mined on Earth is about 200 thousand tons.
    We divide 200000 tons of gold by 7,5 billion hours = 266 grams per person. This is all gold and jewelry and monetary .... from the article it can be seen that monetary gold is approximately 60-50%, which is about 133 - 145 grams per person. The forecast for gold mining for the next 100 years is about another 55 grams per nose maximum. Then there will be so little gold, and it will be so difficult to extract from the bowels that one can say this is the limit. Thus, one can roughly imagine that for every person on Earth there will be 150-200 grams of this wonderful metal. However, there are rich people and there are poor people... therefore, gold, as an equivalent of available and possible goods, is an ideal material. It will rise in price over the long term.

Три причины, почему мировой спрос на золото установил новый рекорд


Несмотря на заметное снижение курса (1700 долларов за унцию против 2067 долларов годом ранее), под конец 2021-го золото поставило рекорд по объемам спроса за последние три десятилетия. Драгоценный металл скупают все – и Центробанки, и профессиональные инвесторы, и частные лица. Чем же вызван такой ажиотажный спрос накануне Нового года?


Насчет рекордов – это не преувеличение, на сегодняшний день совокупный объем запасов «желтого металла» в ЦБ всех стран достиг уровня 36 тысяч тонн, рекордный уровень за последние 31 год. В третьем квартале уходящего года Россия докупила 6 тонн золота, Казахстан – 7 тонн, Бразилия – 9 тонн, Узбекистан – 26 тонн золота, а Индия – 41 тонну этого драгметалла. Также к числу «накопителей» присоединились Ирландия и Сингапур – 2 и 26 тонн золота, соответственно.

Помимо Центробанков, желтый металл в различных его проявлениях активно скупают простые люди. В странах Юго-Восточной Азии увеличился спрос на ювелирное золото. До конца года совокупный спрос на него в Индии может превысить 400 тонн, а в КНР – 500 тонн. К слову, именно на «ювелирку» приходится порядка 40-50% производимого в мире драгметалла. Но не одной Азией с ее любовью к показному шику и блеску прирастает спрос на золото. Консервативные немцы активно приобретают монеты и слитки. Объем спроса в ФРГ превышает общемировые показатели минимум на 20%. Растет интерес к желтому металлу и в других западных странах.

Но почему так происходит? Предпринимаемый комплекс мер объективно направлен на снижение позиций золота: повышение ключевой ставки якобы для борьбы с инфляцией, укрепление доллара. Однако, несмотря на потерю в цене, драгметалл по-прежнему пользуется у всех повышенной популярностью. Надо полагать, что на настроение инвесторов влияют более мощные факторы.

Во-первых, это то, что можно условно назвать «проект пандемия». Мы никоим образом не отрицаем существование COVID-19, его опасность для здоровья и необходимость борьбы с ним, однако объективно пандемии, вернее, механизмы их профилактики и борьбы против них, дают слишком много власти в руки очень узкого круга лиц, чтобы так легко с нею расстаться. Введение локдаунов, принудительная изоляция целых стран – это мощнейший инструмент политического и экономического давления.

«Ящик Пандоры» уже открыт. Раньше или позже, коронавирус себя исчерпает, но его место может занять уже иная, возможно, более опасная инфекционная болезнь. Простому человеку нечего противопоставить такой напасти, вот каждый и пытается создать «подушку безопасности» в меру своих возможностей.

Во-вторых, большая угроза исходит из так называемого «глобального энергоперехода». Осуществляемый при самых благих пожеланиях, отказ от традиционных энергоносителей в пользу возобновляемых несет в себе массу новых рисков. Так, недавно южный Техас замерз, оказавшись неготовым к приходу арктического циклона и тому, что на многочисленных ветрогенераторах произойдет обледенение лопастей, остановится работа нефтяных вышек. Маловетреная погода сыграла злую шутку и с Европой, где сейчас нарастает настоящий энергокризис.

К слову, нынешний энергетический кризис является побочным эффектом от попытки ЕС скорее отказаться от ископаемого топлива. Стартанули раньше времени, недостаточно подготовившись, и вот закономерный результат. Европейский союз теперь расплачивается за «зеленую повестку» аномально высокими ценами на энергоносители и электроэнергию, что ведет к снижению объемов потребительского спроса и промышленного производства.

В-третьих, резко возрос риск крупных вооруженных конфликтов, которые непременно ударят по мировой экономике. Раньше или позже, но России придется как-то решать «украинскую проблему», что приведет к новым экономическим санкциям: отключение банковской сферы от SWIFT, запрет на операции с госдолгом и т.д. Велика вероятность того, что сократится, а то и вовсе прекратится транзит российского газа в Европу. Возможность размещения американского ядерного и гиперзвукового оружия в Восточной Европе и на Украине, а также некий военный ответ Кремля на этот шаг только повышают риски политической и экономической нестабильности.

Все выше вероятность начала серьезного вооруженного конфликта на Ближнем Востоке. Иран остановился буквально в полушаге от создания собственного ядерного оружия, что неминуемо повлечет военную агрессию со стороны Израиля и Соединенных Штатов. Одним из ответных шагов будет перекрытие Тегераном Ормузского пролива, что может усугубить и без того непростую ситуацию на мировом рынке энергоносителей.

Уже сейчас понятно, что грядущий 2022-й год будет сложным. Прежняя «глобалистская» система мироустройства расшатана и пытается найти новые смыслы своего существования, чтобы вернуться в устойчивое равновесие. Всем нам это несет массу неприятностей, и потому неудивительно, что те, кто может себе это позволить, берут золото как традиционный «защитный» актив.
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 28 декабря 2021 13:16
    +2
    Просто народ чувствует, что доллар может скоро уйте, а кто придет на смену - неизвестно. Так всегда было. Раньше клады закапывали на черный день.
    1. вместо доллара будет юань, что ж еще?
  2. Руса Офлайн Руса
    Руса 28 декабря 2021 14:01
    +2
    Стоит добавить, что воссоединение Тайваня и КНР никто не снимал с повестки дня в Пекине, несмотря на противодействие Вашингтона. Что может также привести к военному конфликту как и провокации Израиля против Ирана.
  3. Юрий Шишлов Офлайн Юрий Шишлов
    Юрий Шишлов (Юрий Шишлов) 28 декабря 2021 14:06
    +3
    Россия купила 6 тонн, а продала бритам более 200?!
    1. Руса Офлайн Руса
      Руса 28 декабря 2021 14:34
      0
      Левая рука в РФ не знает, что делает правая.
    2. А че бы и не продать, и бриттам, и франкам, и дойчам - ежели бабло плотят?
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 28 декабря 2021 14:46
    +1
    Это хитрый план П.

    Уже 2 года золото рекордно вывозится. 290 и 240 тонн.
    А выручку в этом разрешено не возвращать в Россию. Тото все подарожало дико, а мандарины и бананы нет.
    1. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
      Буланов (Владимир) 28 декабря 2021 16:07
      +2
      Лучше бы своему населению в микрослитках продавали.
  5. gunnerminer Офлайн gunnerminer
    gunnerminer (gunnerminer) 28 декабря 2021 22:36
    -5
    good Особенно по третьему пункту. Соревнование. Донбасс или Иран.Хуже, если Хель Хавир начнет с уничтожения иранских на сирийском плацдарме.
  6. Sergejluf Офлайн Sergejluf
    Sergejluf (Сергей) 29 декабря 2021 10:33
    +1
    Указ президента США Франклина Рузвельта № 6102 о фактической конфискации у населения и организаций золота, находящегося в слитках и монетах, вступил в силу во время Великой депрессии 5 апреля 1933 г.

    И не факт что не возможно это провернуть в любой стране сейчас!
  7. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 29 декабря 2021 12:52
    +3
    1. Переизбыток долларов раздувает финансовый пузырь который грозит подорвать всю мировую экономику, а жить-то хочется и хочется жить хорошо.
    2. Все в ожидании перемен существующего миропорядка, финансовой системы, денежного обращения и т.д.
    3. «глобалистская» система мироустройства сегодня – диктатура США и их союзников.
    Под глобализацией понимается не сегодняшняя неоколониальная форма мирового господства гособразований, а предстоящий переход к мировому господству и власти транснациональных монополистических объединений !!!