The mask never dreamed of: Engines that will conquer the Galaxy


New era - old engines


Even if we discard the romantic utopian ideals of the 60s, which implies the conquest of the Milky Way by man, you can still notice the "subsidence" of the pace of modern progress against the background of the rocket and space industry of the last century. Its main reason is simple: both the Soviet Union and the United States wanted to prove to each other, as well as to themselves, that they are better than they are. For this race paid hundreds of billions of dollars (at the current rate). Humanity has received outstanding for its time Technologywhich even now, more than half a century after their development, allow us to feel confident in the framework of the practical tasks before us. One example: for Russian Soyuz rockets, they use the RD-107 marching rocket engine, developed in the 50s (the missile itself, to be frank, is also a version of the ballistic R-7, created at the same time).

The Americans are actively working on methane engines, which have a number of operational characteristics, but, but the essence, having the same limitations as old developments using the fuel scheme kerosene / liquid oxygen. Roughly speaking, chemical rocket engines in many respects have reached the pinnacle of evolution, and purely conceptually - a dead end. In order to obtain a higher acceleration, one must either increase the flow rate of the reactive stream, which is limited by the energy of the oxidation reaction, or increase the mass of fuel burned, which, again, will increase the mass of the entire complex. This kind of contradiction is full. Fortunately, this almost does not interfere with the launch of commercial communications satellites. But the colonization of distant planets is another matter.


Nuclear rocket engine

Elon Musk, the new Raptor methane-propelling methane engine, is planning to create many space-based fuel stations for BFR ships in the future. However, earlier scientists presented other interesting options. Among the most realistic ideas is a nuclear rocket engine. The pluses are obvious. Such an engine can give the characteristics required for long-distance flights, and the fuel needed for it will be measured not in tens and hundreds of tons, as it is now, but in tens and hundreds of kilograms.


The energy that will be released during the radioactive decay of heavy nuclei will heat the working fluid - then the familiar scheme of jet propulsion comes into play. In general, of all promising rocket engines that do not use "chemistry", nuclear / thermonuclear engines are the most thoughtful and realistic option. According to scientists, they will allow you to get to Pluto in two months and return back in four: you will have to spend 75 tons of fuel. Reaching Alpha Centauri will be possible in theory in twelve years. The main disadvantage of a nuclear engine is the high radiation hazard. I must say that modern concern for the environment clearly does not add chances for their early appearance.

Ion engine

An ionic engine is a type of electric rocket engine, the principle of which is based on the creation of jet propulsion based on ionized gas, accelerated to high speeds in an electric field. To call an ion engine “promising” would not be very correct. Already now he owns a record of non-gravitational acceleration of a spacecraft in space. At one time, the Deep Space 1 experimental station increased speed (the mass of the device was 370 kg) by 4,3 km / s, having consumed 74 kg of xenon. This record was broken by Dawn in 2010, while in the fall of 2016, it was possible to gain speed at 11,1 km / s. Now, by the way, the company Dawn is ionic Artemis, and then LISA will join them.


The concept definitely has a future. The disadvantages of ion rocket engines are also well known. The main one is extremely weak traction, reaching at best 100 millinewtons. At the current level of technology development, it is impossible to start from Earth using such an engine. But, according to estimates, in space, provided that the ion engine will work for a long time, the spacecraft can be accelerated to very decent speeds. At a minimum, such a device can be used to adjust the course.

Antimatter

Much more revolutionary is a promising engine using antimatter. As you know, when antiparticles and particles of ordinary matter meet, annihilation occurs with the release of colossal energy. One kilogram of antimatter and one kilogram of substance can emit 43 megatons of TNT equivalent energy, which is comparable to the explosion of the Soviet thermonuclear Tsar Bomb. They say that a flight to Mars with such an engine would take in the region of the month. And there, and to the nearest stars, perhaps it would have come down.


There is, alas, one “but.” Antimatter is the most expensive substance on the planet - according to NASA estimates for 2006, the production of a milligram of positrons (electron antiparticle) cost about $ 25 million. Given the current trend towards cheaper missile launches, the concept looks utopian. Fortunately, science does not stand still. Perhaps in the future, there will be chances to put such an engine into practice.

EmDrive

The strangest and most fantastic guest on our list is the now widely acclaimed EmDrive. If anyone forgot, we recall: it is an experimental setup that has perplexed many scientists of the world. According to the creators, the engine creates traction, although it should not do this, according to the laws of physics. The device consists of a magnetron and a resonator. A magnetron generates microwaves, the energy of their oscillations is accumulated in a high-Q resonator, and, according to the authors, a standing wave of electromagnetic oscillations in a closed resonator serves as a source of thrust. The problem is that the absence of a consumable working fluid in this engine, apparently, contradicts the law of conservation of momentum.

In general, the effect achieved is insignificant and many scientists associate it with the errors made during research or openly gross errors in the calculations. One of the latest research conducted by the Germans says that the thrust that appears inside the EmDrive engine is a result of the interaction between the magnetic field of the cables, the amplifier and the magnetic fields of the planet. A hazy but nevertheless explanation.


In general, nothing threatens the hegemony of chemical rocket engines at this stage. They, as we have already noted, fit perfectly with current realities and meet all the requirements of the rocket and space industry. Well, flights to other planets, and even more so to other planetary systems, are associated not only with the problem of new engines, but also with a whole list of other issues that have yet to be solved.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: https://sciences.ucf.edu
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Syoma_67 Offline Syoma_67
    Syoma_67 (Semyon) 18 September 2018 21: 18
    -1
    We train on cartoons again!
  2. Monster_Fat Offline Monster_Fat
    Monster_Fat (What's the difference) 20 September 2018 15: 11
    +1
    The author even knows that the Mask was dreaming and what wasn’t .... Oh, not in the same bed with him, does he spend time? lol love
  3. Former optimist Offline Former optimist
    Former optimist (Former optimist) 24 September 2018 22: 21
    0
    We are competing with Musk himself. Sociologists and journalists will lead far away ...

Маску и не снилось: Двигатели, которые позволят покорить Галактику


Новая эра — старые двигатели

Даже если отбросить романтическо-утопические идеалы 60-х, предполагающие покорение человеком Млечного пути, то всё равно заметны «проседания» темпов современного прогресса на фоне ракетно-космической индустрии прошлого столетия. Основная его причина проста: и Советский Союз, и Соединенные Штаты хотели доказать друг другу, а также и сами себе, что они лучше, чем есть. За эту гонку заплатили сотнями миллиардов долларов (по современному курсу). Человечество получило выдающиеся для своего времени технологии, которые даже сейчас, спустя более чем полвека после их разработки, позволяют уверенно себя чувствовать в рамках стоящих перед нами практических задач. Один пример: для российских ракет «Союз» используют маршевый ракетный двигатель РД-107, разработанный в 50-е (сама ракета, если быть откровенными, тоже является версией баллистической Р-7, созданной тогда же).



Американцы активно работают над метановыми двигателями, имеющими ряд эксплуатационных характеристик, но, но сути, обладающие теми же ограничениями, что и старые разработки, использующие топливную схему керосин/жидкий кислород. Грубо говоря, химические ракетные двигатели во многих отношениях достигли вершины эволюции, а чисто концептуально — тупика. Дабы получить более высокое ускорение, нужно либо увеличить скорость истечения реактивного потока, которая ограничена энергией реакции окисления, либо увеличить массу сжигаемого топлива, что, опять же, приведет к увеличению массы всего комплекса. Подобного рода противоречий полным-полно. К счастью, выводу на орбиту коммерческих спутников связи это почти не мешает. А вот колонизация далеких планет — другой вопрос.


Ядерный ракетный двигатель

Продвигающий новый метановый двигатель Raptor Илон Маск предлагает в будущем создать множество космических заправочных станций для кораблей BFR. Однако ранее ученые представили и другие интересные варианты. В числе самых реалистичных идей — ядерный ракетный двигатель. Плюсы очевидны. Такой двигатель может дать требуемые для дальних полетов характеристики, а нужное для него топливо будет измеряться не десятками и сотнями тонн, как сейчас, а десятками и сотнями килограммов.


Энергия, которая будет выделяться при радиоактивном распаде тяжелых ядер, будет нагревать рабочее тело — дальше в дело вступает знакомая схема реактивного движения. В целом, из всех перспективных ракетных двигателей, не использующих «химию», ядерные/термоядерные двигатели являются самым продуманным и реалистичным вариантом. По оценкам ученых они позволят добраться до Плутона за два месяца и вернуться обратно за четыре: при этом придется затратить 75 тонн топлива. Достичь Альфы Центавра можно будет в теории за двенадцать лет. В качестве основного недостатка ядерного двигателя называют высокую радиационную опасность. Нужно сказать, что современная забота об экологии явно не прибавляет шансы на их скорое появление.

Ионный двигатель

Ионным двигателем называют тип электрического ракетного двигателя, принцип работы которого основывается на создании реактивной тяги на базе ионизированного газа, разогнанного до высоких скоростей в электрическом поле. Назвать ионный двигатель «перспективным» было бы не очень правильно. Уже сейчас ему принадлежит рекорд негравитационного ускорения космического аппарата в космосе. В свое время экспериментальная станция Deep Space 1 увеличила скорость (масса аппарата составляла 370 кг) на 4,3 км/с, израсходовав 74 кг ксенона. Данный рекорд побил Dawn в 2010 году, при этом осенью 2016-го года удалось набрать скорость в 11,1 км/с. Сейчас, кстати, компанию аппарату Dawn составляет ионный Artemis, а потом к ним присоединится LISA.


Будущее у концепции определенно есть. Недостатки ионных ракетных двигателей тоже хорошо известны. Главный из них — чрезвычайно слабая тяга, достигающая в лучшем случае 100 миллиньютонов. При текущем уровне развития технологий произвести старт с Земли, используя такой двигатель, невозможно. Зато, по оценкам, в космосе, при условии, что ионный двигатель будет работать долго, космический корабль можно будет разогнать до очень приличных скоростей. Как минимум, такое устройство можно будет применять для корректировки курса.

Антиматерия

Куда более революционным видится перспективный двигатель, использующий антивещество. Ка известно, при встрече античастиц и частиц обычной материи происходит аннигиляция с высвобождением колоссальной энергии. Один килограмм антивещества и один килограмм вещества могут выделить энергии на 43 мегатонны в тротиловом эквиваленте, что сравнимо со взрывом термоядерной советской «Царь-бомбы». Говорят, что полет к Марсу с таким двигателем занял бы в районе месяца. А там и до ближайших звезд, возможно, дело бы дошло.


Есть, увы, одно «но». Антивещество является самой дорогой субстанцией на планете — по оценкам NASA за 2006 год, производство миллиграмма позитронов (античастица электрона) стоило примерно 25 миллионов американских долларов. С учетом современного тренда на удешевление ракетных запусков концепция выглядит утопично. К счастью, наука на месте не стоит. Возможно, в будущем, появятся шансы реализовать такой двигатель на практике.

EmDrive

Самый же странный и фантастичный гость нашего списка — теперь уже широко известный EmDrive. Если кто забыл, напомним: он является экспериментальной установкой, поставивший многих ученых мира в тупик. Согласно точки зрения создателей, двигатель создает тягу, хотя не должен этого делать, по законам физики. Устройство состоит из магнетрона и резонатора. Магнетрон генерирует микроволны, энергия их колебаний накапливается в резонаторе высокой добротности, и, по заявлениям авторов, стоячая волна электромагнитных колебаний в замкнутом резонаторе служит источником тяги. Проблема в том, что отсутствие расходуемого рабочего тела у этого двигателя, по-видимому, идет в разрез с законом сохранения импульса.

В целом, достигаемый эффект незначителен и многие ученые связывают его с допущенными при исследованиях погрешностями или же откровенно грубыми ошибками в расчетах. Одно из последних исследований, проведенных немцами, гласит, что появляющаяся внутри двигателя EmDrive тяга является следствием взаимодействия между магнитным полем кабелей, усилителем и магнитными полями планеты. Туманное, но все же объяснение.


В целом, гегемонии химических ракетных двигателей на данном этапе ничего не угрожает. Они, как мы уже отмечали, вполне вписываются с текущие реалии и отвечают всем требованиям ракетно-космической индустрии. Ну а полеты к другим планетам и, тем более — к другим планетным системам — связаны не только с проблемой новых двигателей, но и с целым списком других вопросов, которые только предстоит решить.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: https://sciences.ucf.edu

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сёма_67 Офлайн
    Сёма_67 (Семён) 18 сентября 2018 21:18
    -1
    Снова тренируемся на мультиках!
  2. Monster_Fat Офлайн
    Monster_Fat (Да Какая Разница) 20 сентября 2018 15:11
    +1
    Автор, даже знает, что Маску снилось, а что нет.... Уж, не в одной постели с ним, он время проводит? lol love
  3. Бывший оптимист (Бывший оптимист) 24 сентября 2018 22:21
    0
    С самим Маском соревнуемся. Социологи и журналисты далеко заведут...