Russian scientists have developed extra strong implants

Russian scientists have developed extra strong implants

Domestic scientists, in collaboration with foreign colleagues, have managed to synthesize bone implants based on calcium phosphates, surpassing all modern analogues. The development is in demand not only in dentistry, but also in surgery.


Problems with the musculoskeletal system are not only among the older generation. They are increasingly manifested in young people, which makes it difficult not only to work normally, but also to feel like a full-fledged member of society.

The demand for synthetic bone tissue substitutes is growing every year. But they are subject to increased requirements: characteristics close to human bones, strength and the absence of a negative impact on health. The basis for the creation of synthetic implants are calcium phosphates, since it is from them that the bones in the human body are made.


Calcium phosphates are the main raw material in the manufacture of implants

To increase the strength of artificial bone tissues, they are alloyed with metal cations. This not only improves the characteristics of the material, but also gives it antibacterial properties. It takes root well, and after healing, the implant does not need to be removed.

Scientists from five Russian institutes, in collaboration with specialists from Italy and Romania, studied the change in the characteristics of ceramic materials depending on Technology synthesis. As a result, regularities were revealed that affect the microstructure of the material.

Several methods have been developed to ensure the homogeneity of the structure and the necessary physical parameters. The finished compositions showed good antibacterial characteristics, which is important for implantation in the human body.


Gadolinium treatment significantly increases the antibacterial characteristics of the material

All the synthesized compositions, alloyed with the rare earth element gadolinium, turned out to be an order of magnitude better than the materials used today. They not only have increased strength characteristics, but also have antimicrobial properties. Implants of this type have shown good biological compatibility with the human body, which allows them to be used for any medical purposes.

Representatives of the A. A. Baikov Institute of Metallurgy and Materials Science of the Russian Academy of Sciences reported that the technology is being developed and will be used not only in Russia, but also abroad in the near future. At present, documents are being prepared for certification and obtaining a patent of the established form.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Just a cat Offline Just a cat
    Just a cat (Bayun) April 5 2022 11: 47
    -1
    wolverine will soon cease to be a fantasy ... limbs seem to soon be just printed on a printer.

Российские ученые разработали особо прочные имплантаты

Российские ученые разработали особо прочные имплантаты

Отечественные ученые в сотрудничестве с зарубежными коллегами сумели синтезировать на основе фосфатов кальция костные имплантаты, превосходящие все современные аналоги. Разработка востребована не только в стоматологии, но и в хирургии.


Проблемы с костно-мышечной системой есть не только у старшего поколения. Они все чаще проявляются у людей молодого возраста, что мешает не только нормально трудиться, но и чувствовать себя полноценным участником общества.

Востребованность синтетических заменителей костной ткани растет с каждым годом. Но к ним предъявляются повышенные требования: характеристики, близкие к костям человека, прочность и отсутствие негативного влияния на здоровье. Основой для создания синтетических имплантатов служат фосфаты кальция, так как именно из них состоят кости в организме человека.


Фосфаты кальция – основное сырье при изготовлении имплантатов

Для увеличения прочности искусственных костных тканей их легируют катионами металлов. Это не только улучшает характеристики материала, но и придает ему антибактериальные свойства. Он отлично приживается, и после заживления удалять имплантат не требуется.

Ученые из пяти российских институтов в сотрудничестве со специалистами из Италии и Румынии изучили изменение характеристик керамических материалов в зависимости от технологии синтеза. В итоге были выявлены закономерности, влияющие на микроструктуру материала.

Было разработано несколько методик, обеспечивающих однородность структуры и необходимые физические параметры. Готовые составы показали хорошие антибактериальные характеристики, что важно при имплантации в организм человека.


Обработка гадолинием в разы повышает антибактериальные характеристики материала

Все синтезированные составы, прошедшие легирование с использованием редкоземельного элемента гадолиния, оказались на порядок лучше материалов, применяемых сегодня. Они не только обладают повышенными характеристиками прочности, но и имеют противомикробные свойства. Имплантаты данного типа показали хорошую биологическую совместимость с организмом человека, что позволяет использовать их для любых медицинских целей.

Представители Института металлургии и материаловедения имени А. А. Байкова РАН сообщили, что технология отрабатывается и в ближайшем будущем начнет использоваться не только в России, но и за ее пределами. На сегодня готовятся документы для сертификации и получения патента установленного образца.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Просто Кот Офлайн Просто Кот
    Просто Кот (Баюн) 5 апреля 2022 11:47
    -1
    росомаха скоро перестанет быть фантастикой... конечности похоже скоро будут просто печатать на принтере.