Scientists create chemical engines at the molecular level

Scientists create chemical engines at the molecular level

The microcosm is still full of secrets, but scientists do not stop


Three recent studies in the chemical industry have made breakthroughs in pumps and rotary motors at the molecular level. Microscopic devices are not yet ready for the official premiere and real use, but the prospects for Technology there are large ones. Future microengines will be able to absorb carbon dioxide directly from the atmosphere, after which, with the help of the received energy, they will extract valuable metals from sea water.

Internal combustion engines familiar to us burn fuel to produce heat, which, due to its high energy, pushes pistons, gears and other mechanisms in a strictly specified direction. However, at the molecular level, a completely different principle operates. Due to the vanishingly small size of corpuscular particles, molecular rotors can move both clockwise and counterclockwise with equal probability when heat is supplied. Molecules move randomly, which makes the coordinated work of a large number of micromotors impossible.

For years, Fraser Stoddart, an organic chemist at Northwestern University, struggled to solve this problem. Finally, he achieved the result and was able to create one of the first chemical-based molecular machines, for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2016. A team of scientists led by Stoddart invented microscopic rings that "wrap" on and off the molecular axis under the influence of certain reagents. Initially, the chaotic nature of the movement of the rotors persisted, which means they were useless.

However, over time, Stoddart's team solved the issue of erratic movement of micromotors. In December 2021, in Science, scientists reported that they had succeeded in immobilizing the next generation of molecular pumps using an organometallic framework for this. The researchers literally attached each microscopic rotor to this structure and set a strictly defined position that was maintained throughout the experiment.


The molecular rotor looks like a bunch of several molecules.


David Lee, a chemist at the University of Manchester, and his team of scientists went even further and just recently created a microscopic rotor that spins continuously as long as it has access to "fuel". At the moment, the rotor rotates extremely slowly, making about three revolutions per day. Researchers are working to speed up this process, and literally every day they discover new rules for creating molecular mechanisms.
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Ученые создают химические двигатели на молекулярном уровне

Ученые создают химические двигатели на молекулярном уровне

Микромир до сих пор полон тайн, но ученые не останавливаются


В ходе недавних трех исследований в химической отрасли был совершен прорыв в сфере создания насосов и роторных двигателей на молекулярном уровне. Микроскопические устройства пока не готовы к официальной премьере и реальному использованию, однако перспективы у технологии есть, и большие. Будущие микродвигатели смогут поглощать углекислый газ прямо из атмосферы, после чего при помощи полученной энергии будут выделять ценные металлы из морской воды.

Привычные нам двигатели внутреннего сгорания сжигают топливо для получения тепла, которое за счет своей высокой энергии толкает поршни, шестерни и остальные механизмы в строго заданном направлении. Однако на уровне молекул действует совершенно другой принцип. Из-за исчезающе малого размера корпускулярных частиц молекулярные роторы при поступлении тепла с равной вероятностью могут двигаться как по часовой стрелке, так и против. Молекулы движутся хаотично, из-за чего слаженная работа большого количества микродвигателей становится невозможной.

В течение многих лет Фрейзер Стоддарт – химик-органик из Северо-Западного университета – бился над решением описанной проблемы. Наконец он добился результата и смог создать одну из первых молекулярных машин на химической основе, за что удостоился Нобелевской премии в 2016 году. Команда ученых под управлением Стоддарта изобрела микроскопические кольца, которые «накручиваются» на молекулярную ось и снимаются с нее под действием определенных реагентов. Поначалу хаотичный характер движения роторов сохранялся, а значит, они были бесполезными.

Однако со временем команда Стоддарта решила вопрос беспорядочного движения микромоторов. В декабре 2021 года в издании Science ученые сообщили о том, что им удалось иммобилизировать очередное поколение молекулярных насосов, используя для этого металлоорганический каркас. Исследователи буквально прикрепили каждый микроскопический ротор на эту конструкцию и задали строго определенное положение, которое сохранялось на всем протяжении эксперимента.


Молекулярный ротор выглядит как связка из нескольких молекул


Дэвид Ли – химик из Манчестерского университета – вместе со своей командой ученых пошел еще дальше и буквально на днях создал микроскопический ротор, который непрерывно вращается, пока имеет доступ к «топливу». На текущий момент ротор вращается крайне медленно, совершая около трех оборотов в сутки. Исследователи работают над ускорением этого процесса, а также буквально каждый день открывают новые правила создания молекулярных механизмов.
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.