The most expensive warship in history entered service in the United States

The most expensive warship in history entered service in the United States

USS Gerald R. Ford aircraft carrier test


The American aircraft carrier USS Gerald R. Ford, almost 15 years after the start of construction, entered combat service as part of the US Navy. And this is despite the fact that the construction was completed in the middle of 2017, and the first launch of the ship took place at the end of 2013.

The most expensive warship in the history of mankind has a difficult fate. Throughout the construction, he was literally haunted by failures of varying severity. So, when designing, the engineers planned to equip the military vessel with a large set of systems that meet the latest standards and technology. Among them are a new radar station, special lifts for delivering shells on board, and much more. They even wanted to put electromagnetic catapults.

Grandiose plans in 2018 were seriously spoiled by an unpleasant fact that came to light during the tests of a combat aircraft carrier. It turned out that the ship had serious problems with the power plant. Some time later, modern supply lifters and the electromagnetic catapults mentioned above failed. As a result, the ship, which was supposed to be the flagship of the US Navy, turned into a useless and extremely expensive pile of scrap metal.

During tests from 2017 to 2019, more than 20 failures in the operation of catapults based on a linear electromagnetic engine were recorded. These devices are designed to smoothly and quickly launch aircraft from an aircraft carrier's runway. Despite the fact that due to these failures, equipment and personnel were not affected, the malfunctions led to a significant reduction in the number of planned sorties. This negatively affected, among other things, the combat power of the ship.


Launching an aircraft with a catapult from an aircraft carrier

Of course, the ship was not so easily parted. A huge amount of money was invested in its completion. According to the US Congressional Research Service, the total cost of building the USS Gerald R. Ford exceeded $13 billion. This is the price of a ship that requires carrier-based aircraft and escort ships, including nuclear submarines. Based on this, the total cost of the pleasure of owning such a ship is much more than stated.

The aircraft carrier USS Gerald R. Ford went into combat service at the end of 2021. At the moment, the construction of a second similar ship is underway, which is going to be accepted into the US Navy in the next 5-6 years. In total, it is planned to build at least three aircraft carriers of this class.
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 1_2 Offline 1_2
    1_2 (Ducks are flying) April 12 2022 15: 26
    +4
    "expensive" it is for those who do not print trillions of dollars. for amers 13 billion, this is half a day of work of the FRS machine))
    but in the Russian Federation there is a machine of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation)) and it also prints rubles for the construction, including multi-purpose nuclear submarines Ash with Onyxes and Zircons))
    and if I had to put money or my life on the winner in the battle between Ash and AUG, I would put or choose a place on board Ash, and not on this air trough
    1. aircraft carriers - yesterday
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 12 2022 15: 29
    0
    Peremoga ...
    If we consider that any large ship is introduced for a year or two, then it is tolerable. Overwhelmed with new technologies
  3. Panzer1962 Offline Panzer1962
    Panzer1962 (Panzer1962) April 13 2022 15: 56
    +1
    Any technique, if the number of technical innovations exceeds a certain limit, requires a long and painstaking refinement.
  4. Igor Viktorovich Berdin April 14 2022 11: 48
    0
    Great target for a dagger.
  5. Lis_Domino Offline Lis_Domino
    Lis_Domino (Sergei) April 14 2022 12: 09
    +1
    13 billion is not the price of an aircraft carrier for the United States, it is the price of an American aircraft carrier for the rest of the world, which gives up its raw materials and other resources for these 13 lard. That is, the world pays the United States for the construction of an aircraft carrier with which this very world will be frightened. profit! and for the United States, this is how many tons of paper, dyes, etc. (for fools, print candy wrappers) .....

На службу в США поступил самый дорогой боевой корабль в истории

На службу в США поступил самый дорогой боевой корабль в истории

Испытание авианосца USS Gerald R. Ford


Американский авианосец USS Gerald R. Ford спустя практически 15 лет с момента начала постройки заступил на боевую службу в составе ВМС США. И это несмотря на то, что строительство завершилось еще в середине 2017 года, а первый спуск корабля на воду произошел и вовсе в конце 2013-го.

У самого дорогого боевого корабля в истории человечества сложилась непростая судьба. На всем протяжении строительства его буквально преследовали неудачи разной степени тяжести. Так, при проектировании инженеры планировали укомплектовать военное судно большим набором систем, отвечающим последним стандартам и технологиям. В их числе – новая РЛС, особые подъемники для доставки снарядов на борт и многое другое. Хотели поставить даже электромагнитные катапульты.

Грандиозные планы в 2018 году были серьезно подпорчены неприятным фактом, который выявился во время испытаний боевого авианосца. Выяснилось, что у судна имеются серьезные проблемы с силовой установкой. Некоторое время спустя из строя вышли современные подъемники припасов и упомянутые выше электромагнитные катапульты. В результате корабль, который должен был стать флагманом флота США, превратился в бесполезную и крайне дорогую груду металлолома.

Во время испытаний с 2017 по 2019 год было зафиксировано свыше 20 сбоев в работе катапульт на базе линейного электромагнитного двигателя. Эти устройства предназначены для плавного и быстрого запуска авиации с взлетно-посадочной полосы авианосца. Несмотря на то что из-за этих сбоев техника и персонал не пострадали, неполадки привели к значительному сокращению числа планируемых боевых вылетов. Это отрицательно сказалось в том числе и на боевой мощи корабля.


Запуск самолета с помощью катапульты с борта авианосца

Конечно, с кораблем так просто не расстались. В его доработку была вложена колоссальная сумма. По заявлениям Исследовательской службы при Конгрессе США, общая стоимость строительства USS Gerald R. Ford превысила 13 млрд долларов. Это цена именно судна, для работы которого нужны палубная авиация и корабли сопровождения, в том числе атомные подводные лодки. Исходя из этого, общая стоимость удовольствия от владения таким кораблем намного больше заявленной.

На боевую службу авианосец USS Gerald R. Ford отправился в конце 2021 года. На данный момент идет строительство второго аналогичного корабля, который собираются принять в состав ВМС США в ближайшие 5-6 лет. Всего планируется построить как минимум три авианосца такого класса.
6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 1_2 Офлайн 1_2
    1_2 (Летят утки) 12 апреля 2022 15:26
    +4
    "дорогой" он для тех кто не печатает трлны баксов. для амеров 13 млрд это полдня работы станка ФРС))
    но в РФ есть свой станок ЦБ РФ)) и он тоже печатает рубли для строительства в том числе и многоцелевых АПЛ Ясень с Ониксами и Цирконами ))
    и если бы мне пришлось поставить деньги или свою жизнь на победителя в бою между Ясенем и АУГ, я бы поставил или выбрал место на борту Ясеня, а не на этом авиакорыте
    1. авианосцы - вчерашний день
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 12 апреля 2022 15:29
    0
    Перемога...
    Если считать, что любой крупный корабль вводится год-два, то терпимо. Перепичкали новыми технологиями
  3. Panzer1962 Офлайн Panzer1962
    Panzer1962 (Panzer1962) 13 апреля 2022 15:56
    +1
    Любая техника, если количество технических новшеств превышает определённый предел, требует долгой и кропотливой доводки.
  4. Классная мишень для Кинжала.
  5. Lis_Domino Офлайн Lis_Domino
    Lis_Domino (Сергей) 14 апреля 2022 12:09
    +1
    13 млрд - это не цена авианосца для сша, это цена американского авианосца для остального мира, который за эти 13 лярдов отдает свои сырье и другие ресурсы. То есть мир платит сша за строительство авианосца которым этот самый мир у будут пугать. профит! а для сша это сколько то тонн бумаги, красителей и т.п (для дурачков напечатать фантики).....