Russia left the American project of the near-moon station

Judging by the statement of the head of Roskosmos Dmitry Rogozin, our country will not participate in the construction of the Deep Space Gateway (DSG).



Russia cannot afford to participate in this project in its current form on the sidelines. We create our own transport system.

- said Rogozin.

The reason is an overly subordinate, secondary role with respect to the USA in the project. What does this decision promise to domestic cosmonautics?

The concept of a near-moon visited orbital station was introduced in the United States in 2017. Thus, NASA played on the space ambitions of Donald trump. The new president announced plans to return to the moon with a view to its possible militarization. The White House resident wanted to return the Americans to the Earth’s satellite again in 2019 with the help of the hastily developed superheavy rocket Space Launch System and Orion. However, experts dissuaded Trump from this idea because of its significant risk to astronauts and the image of the United States in the event of a mission failure for technical reasons.

Why is it necessary to create a DSG if there is already an ISS, and even though the Americans are not going to land on the moon? There are several reasons:

At firstis a question economic. In the near future, the United States will receive an extra-heavy Space Launch System, but the problem is that it doesn’t have much work to do. Today, all of the launch requirements of the United States are either covered by existing space companies, or closed by launch vehicles and ships under construction. Americans don’t like to throw money away, so the Space Launch System needs a Moon, or a near-moon station.

Secondly, at a lunar station it will be possible to conduct such studies that are impossible within the ISS, where the astronauts themselves with their life support systems, vibrations, the need to evade large space debris interfere with the purity of experiments.

Thirdly, the station will justify its high-profile name, meaning the gate to deep space. A high lunar orbit is convenient for launching to the next line - Mars. The Martian ship itself can also be gradually assembled by docking it to the DSG, which will achieve significant fuel economy for an interplanetary flight.

Well, finally, political motive. The United States wants to wipe China’s nose with its growing space ambitions. Deep Space Gateway is created on the basis of international cooperation, but, unlike the ISS, the role of the United States in this project is decisive. China, the Americans did not allow to participate in the project.

And I must say that Washington tried to put Russia in its place. This project was interesting for our country as a driver for the development of its own space industry. Thanks to DSG, it made sense to create your own superheavy rocket, Federation ship, spacesuits, station modules, etc.

Unfortunately, the United States began to abuse its dominant position in the project and set unacceptable conditions for Roscosmos: switch to American standards when creating gateways for the station and use spacesuits made in the United States. They did not want to be in the role of Washington’s assistants in Moscow. Obviously, now Russia will have to either concentrate on the development of the ISS with full autonomy for the national segment, or cooperate, for example, with China in creating a similar Deep Space Gateway project.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Россия вышла из американского проекта окололунной станции

Судя по заявлению главы «Роскосмоса» Дмитрия Рогозина, наша страна все-таки не будет участвовать в строительстве Deep Space Gateway (DSG).


Россия не может себе позволить участвовать в этом проекте в текущем виде на вторых ролях. Мы создаем свою транспортную систему



– заявил Рогозин.

Причина – излишне подчиненная, второстепенная по отношению к США роль в проекте. Что же сулит отечественной космонавтике это решение?

Концепция окололунной посещаемой орбитальной станции была представлена в Соединенных Штатах Америки в 2017 году. Тем самым NASA сыграло на космических амбициях Дональда Трампа. Новый президент заявил о планах по возвращению на Луну с целью ее возможной милитаризации. Обитатель Белого дома хотел вновь вернуть американцев на земной спутник уже в 2019 году с помощью спешно разрабатываемых сверхтяжелой ракеты Space Launch System и корабля Orion. Однако специалисты отговорили Трампа от этой идеи ввиду ее значительного риска для астронавтов и имиджевой угрозе США в случае срыва миссии по техническим причинам.

Зачем же надо создавать DSG, если уже есть МКС, а также при том, что высаживаться на Луну американцы пока не собираются? Причин несколько:

Во-первых, это вопрос экономический. В ближайшем будущем США получат сверхтяжелую ракету Space Launch System, но проблема в том, что для нее особо нет работы. Все потребности Штатов по запускам сегодня перекрывают или существующие космические компании, или закроют за счет строящихся ракет-носителей и кораблей. Деньги на ветер американцы кидать не любят, поэтому для Space Launch System нужна Луна, или окололунная станция.

Во-вторых, на окололунной станции можно будет проводить такие исследования, которые невозможны в пределах МКС, где чистоте экспериментов мешают сами астронавты с их системами жизнеобеспечения, вибрациями, необходимостью уклоняться от крупного космического мусора.

В-третьих, станция оправдает свое громкое название, означающее ворота в глубокий космос. Высокая окололунная орбита удобна для старта к следующему рубежу – Марсу. Сам марсианский корабль также можно постепенно собирать, пристыковав его к DSG, что позволит добиться значительной экономии топлива для межпланетного перелета.

Ну и, наконец, политический мотив. США хотят утереть нос Китаю с его растущими космическими амбициями. Deep Space Gateway создается на основе международного сотрудничества, но, в отличие от МКС, роль Соединенных Штатов в этом проекте определяющая. КНР к участию в проекте американцы не допустили.

И, надо сказать, что Вашингтон постарался поставить на место и Россию. Нашей стране этот проект был интересен как драйвер развития собственной космической отрасли. Благодаря DSG, появлялся смысл в создании собственной сверхтяжелой ракеты, корабля «Федерация», скафандров, модулей для станции и т.д.

К сожалению, США стали злоупотреблять своим главенствующим положением в проекте и выставлять «Роскосмосу» неприемлемые условия: перейти на американские стандарты при создании шлюзов для станции и использовать скафандры, произведенные в Штатах. Быть в роли подручных у Вашингтона в Москве не захотели. Очевидно, теперь России придется или сосредоточиться на развитии МКС с приданием полной автономии национальному сегменту, или кооперироваться, например, с Китаем при создании аналогичного Deep Space Gateway проекта.
Автор: Сергей Маржецкий
Использованы фотографии: https://hdnux.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти