NASA delays launch of Space Launch System to the Moon due to test failure

NASA delays launch of Space Launch System to the Moon due to test failure

NASA announced that it is sending SLS from the launch site for repairs due to problems encountered during the final tests. Deadlines for the work have not been set. NASA management will hold a briefing on this incident today, April 18, 2022.


Refueling of the rocket tanks was to take place on April 14th. But after the start of the process, a leak of liquid hydrogen was discovered and the procedure had to be stopped. This part of the test is one of the most important, so it is given special attention.

Initially, it was planned to fill the tanks on April 3, but the deadline was constantly postponed due to emerging technical problems. According to preliminary information, a faulty helium check valve in the upper stage of the Space Launch System is to blame. The leak is not located on the SLS, but on the mobile launcher, which makes it much easier to find the leak and repair it.


During refueling, a dangerous leak of liquid hydrogen was discovered

Representatives of the agency are confident that the problem will be resolved promptly. It is possible that the repair will be completed before the next stage of testing, scheduled for April 21. However, the decision to remove the module to the vehicle assembly building is not due to the current problem. Were found flaws that require in-depth study. It is possible that this will result in a long-term repair, although there are no prerequisites for this today.

Without a successful refueling test and a rehearsal of the countdown, launch is not possible. Only then will a launch date for SLS, which is part of the Artemis program, be set. This is a lunar exploration project that has been in preparation for several years.

At the first stage of the program, the Orion spacecraft will be sent without a crew to the Earth's satellite. He will be in space for about a month. This will allow all systems to be tested in real conditions and to confirm that the ship and missile are ready for crewed flights.


The first launch is planned without the participation of astronauts

The shift in the start of the Artemis 1 mission will also affect the second part, originally scheduled for 2024. Within its framework, astronauts will fly around the moon several times. In 2026, an expedition is planned to land in the region of the South Pole of the Moon. According to NASA management, it is critical to complete all work in the coming months in order to launch SLS and move on to the next stages of the program.

Recall that work is also underway in the Russian Federation to create an apparatus for exploring the moon. Its launch is scheduled for the next six months.

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. EXPrompt Offline EXPrompt
    EXPrompt (EXPrompt) April 18 2022 16: 32
    0
    SLS is exactly the rocket that will eat 2 yards from the USA for 1 launch. Too bad it didn't fly.
  2. AlexandrS Offline AlexandrS
    AlexandrS (Alexander Sergeev) April 18 2022 23: 27
    0
    If they were there, why all over again? Without an astronaut, then a flyby, etc., this is a type of waste material .... Somewhere there is a lie
  3. dub0vitsky Offline dub0vitsky
    dub0vitsky (Victor) April 19 2022 01: 08
    0
    Quote: EXPrompt
    SLS is exactly the rocket that will eat 2 yards from the USA for 1 launch. Too bad it didn't fly.

    It is a pity that the hydrogen leak did not lead to anything.
  4. akm8226 Offline akm8226
    akm8226 April 19 2022 19: 21
    +1
    I didn’t understand ... so the Americans flew to the moon ... or not? Did the cleaning lady lose the blueprints of the rocket? Here's a bungler ... she ruined the entire American lunar program ...

NASA откладывает запуск Space Launch System к Луне из-за провала испытаний

NASA откладывает запуск Space Launch System к Луне из-за провала испытаний

Агентство NASA сообщило о том, что отправляет SLS с территории пусковой площадки на ремонт из-за проблем, возникших при проведении финальных тестов. Сроки проведения работ не обозначены. Руководство NASA проведет брифинг, посвященный данному инциденту, сегодня, 18 апреля 2022 года.


Заправка баков ракеты должна была произойти 14 апреля. Но после начала процесса обнаружилась утечка жидкого водорода и процедуру пришлось прекратить. Эта часть испытаний – одна из важнейших, поэтому ей уделяется особое внимание.

Первоначально емкости планировалось заправить еще 3 апреля, но срок постоянно откладывали из-за возникающих технических проблем. По предварительным сведениям, всему виной неисправный гелиевый обратный клапан в верхней ступени Space Launch System. Утечка находится не на SLS, а на мобильной пусковой установке, что существенно упрощает поиск места утечки и ее ремонт.


При заправке обнаружилась опасная утечка жидкого водорода

Представители агентства уверены, что проблему удастся решить оперативно. Не исключено, что ремонт завершат до следующего этапа испытаний, намеченного на 21 апреля. При этом решение убрать модуль в здание сборки транспортных средств обусловлено не текущей неполадкой. Были обнаружены недоработки, требующие углубленного изучения. Не исключено, что это выльется в долговременный ремонт, хотя предпосылок для этого на сегодня нет.

Без успешного проведения испытаний по заправке топливом и репетиции обратного отсчета запуск невозможен. Только после этого будет назначена дата запуска SLS, являющейся частью программы Artemis. Это проект по исследованию Луны, который готовится уже несколько лет.

На первом этапе программы космический корабль Orion будет отправлен без экипажа к спутнику Земли. Он будет находиться в космосе около месяца. Это позволит испытать все системы в реальных условиях и подтвердить, что корабль и ракета готовы к полетам с экипажем.


Первый запуск запланирован без участия астронавтов

Смещение старта миссии Artemis 1 повлияет и на вторую часть, первоначально запланированную на 2024 год. В ее рамках астронавты облетят Луну несколько раз. В 2026 году планируется высадка экспедиции в районе Южного полюса Луны. По мнению руководства NASA, критически важно закончить все работы в ближайшие месяцы, чтобы запустить SLS и перейти к следующим этапам программы.

Напомним, в РФ также ведется работа по созданию аппарата для исследования Луны. Его запуск запланирован в ближайшие полгода.

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. EXPrompt Офлайн EXPrompt
    EXPrompt (EXPrompt) 18 апреля 2022 16:32
    0
    SLS именно та ракета которая будет отжирать у США по 2ярда на 1н запуск. Жаль что не полетела..
  2. AlexandrS Офлайн AlexandrS
    AlexandrS (Александр Сергеев) 18 апреля 2022 23:27
    0
    Если они там были, зачем все заново? Без космонавта, потом облёт и тд, это же типа отработанный материал…. Где то закралась ложь
  3. dub0vitsky Офлайн dub0vitsky
    dub0vitsky (Виктор) 19 апреля 2022 01:08
    0
    Цитата: EXPrompt
    SLS именно та ракета которая будет отжирать у США по 2ярда на 1н запуск. Жаль что не полетела..

    Жаль, что утечка водорода ни к чему не привела.
  4. akm8226 Офлайн akm8226
    akm8226 19 апреля 2022 19:21
    +1
    Я не понял...так летали же на Луну американцы...или нет? Уборщица чертежи ракеты потеряла? Вот растяпа...всю американскую лунную программу загубила...