The US Department of Defense announced the alleged bypass of Russian electronic warfare systems by the Starlink system "by changing one line of code"


Starlink satellites in the package before separation from the upper stage



The global satellite system Starlink, owned by the American company SpaceX, allegedly managed to bypass Russian electronic warfare systems that jam communications in Ukraine. This was announced at the C4ISRNET meeting by the head of the electronic warfare department of the US Department of Defense office Dave Tremper, the IXBT portal reported to the public on April 23.

The functionary noted that in order to effectively resist the usual means of electronic warfare and break through the "jammers" of the RF Armed Forces, it turned out to be enough just to make a small change to the software of the Starlink system - to add one line of code.

The next day (after reports of attempts to jam the service appeared) Starlink added a line of code and fixed it. And suddenly this attack ceased to be effective. From the point of view of an electronic warfare technologist, this is fantastic ... and the way they did it amazed me

Tremper said without providing any hard evidence.

According to the American portal Defense News, the Pentagon really expected more from the electronic warfare systems of the RF Armed Forces taking part in the conflict on Ukrainian territory. At the same time, the American newspaper The Washington Post told readers that the US government is secretly paying millions of dollars to American taxpayers by sponsoring the sending of Starlink stations to Ukraine.

The special operation of the RF Armed Forces in Ukraine began on February 24. Two days later, on February 26, Kyiv asked to use the Starlink service on the territory of Ukraine, and the owner of SpaceX, Elon Reeve Musk, immediately responded to this request. Starlink provides high-speed broadband satellite Internet access in places where it was unreliable, expensive or completely unavailable.

Just a week after the appeal of the Ukrainian side, the first 500 sets of access to the Network with free firmware arrived in Ukraine, which were immediately handed over to the Armed Forces of Ukraine. Ukraine received thousands of Starlink satellite internet terminals in March, SpaceX President and COO Gwynne Shotwell confirmed. At the same time, she stressed that Starlink supplies to Ukraine are financed mainly from private sources. At present, according to the assurances of the Minister of Digital Transformation of Ukraine Mikhail Fedorov, over 10 thousand Starlink “plates” are already operating on Ukrainian territory.
  • Photos Used: SpaceX
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 1_2 Offline 1_2
    1_2 (Ducks are flying) April 23 2022 23: 43
    +5
    the next fairy tales of the Pentagon - changed the software code and the satellite radio signal stopped being read by Krasukha, became "invisible" like f22))
  2. Yuri Bryanskiy Offline Yuri Bryanskiy
    Yuri Bryanskiy (Yuri Bryansky) April 24 2022 03: 03
    +2
    empire of lies
  3. zzdimk Offline zzdimk
    zzdimk April 24 2022 07: 43
    +2
    Some nonsense. How can hardware restrictions be bypassed programmatically?
  4. korosun Offline korosun
    korosun (MP) April 24 2022 07: 59
    +1
    storytellers at work laughing
  5. Nike Offline Nike
    Nike (Nikolai) April 24 2022 09: 06
    +1
    Once I read that when testing a laser in the USSR, an Amer space station fell under its beam. The situation was on the verge of an emergency evacuation, there was a failure of life support systems, but after the flight of the landfill on the lake. Bolkhash everything has recovered. And what cannot be illuminated with a ray now. Are these satellites more powerful?
  6. Yuri 5347 Offline Yuri 5347
    Yuri 5347 (Yuri) April 24 2022 10: 02
    +1
    ...mattresses are known for their marketing tales about their weapons. And it’s not easy for ours to write a detailed refutation about their combat work.
  7. lomograph Offline lomograph
    lomograph (Igor) April 24 2022 10: 59
    0
    Yes, it was their boiler that shorted out there, knocked out the plugs, everything went out, and in the ensuing darkness one professional said in confusion: "Oh beliviebel ... we cut down the entire GPS ..." and the journalists picked it up and inflated it.
  8. Siegfried Offline Siegfried
    Siegfried (Gennady) April 24 2022 20: 05
    +1
    The electronic warfare of the Russian Federation was made against NATO, and not these mugs. Now both sides are trying to get as much data as possible about each other's electronic warfare capabilities, while trying not to shine their capabilities as much as possible. Therefore, the Yankees are calling to show at least something. They'll show you when it's your turn.

В Минобороны США заявили о якобы обходе российских систем РЭБ системой Starlink «сменой одной строчки кода»


Спутники Starlink в пакете до отделения от разгонного блока



Глобальной спутниковой системе Starlink, принадлежащей американской компании SpaceX, якобы удалось обойти российские комплексы РЭБ, которые осуществляют на Украине глушение связи. Об этом на собрании C4ISRNET заявил руководитель отдела радиоэлектронной борьбы офиса Минобороны США Дэйв Тремпер (Dave Tremper), сообщил общественности 23 апреля портал IXBT.

Функционер отметил, что для того, чтобы эффективно противостоять привычным средствам РЭБ и пробиться через «глушилки» ВС РФ, оказалось достаточно всего лишь внести в программное обеспечение системы Starlink небольшое изменение – добавить одну строку кода.

На следующий день (после появления данных о попытках глушения сервиса) Starlink добавил строку кода и исправил её. И вдруг эта атака перестала быть эффективной. С точки зрения технолога РЭБ, это фантастика… и то, как они это сделали, меня поразило

– сказал Тремпер, не приведя никаких убедительных доказательств.

По данным американского портала Defense News, Пентагон ждал реально большего от систем РЭБ ВС РФ, принимающих участие в конфликте на украинской территории. При этом американская газета The Washington Post рассказала читателям, что правительство США тайно платит миллионы долларов американских налогоплательщиков, спонсируя отправку на Украину станций Starlink.

Спецоперация ВС РФ на Украине началась 24 февраля. Через два дня, 26 февраля, Киев попросил задействовать сервис Starlink на территории Украины, и владелец SpaceX Илон Маск (Elon Reeve Musk) моментально откликнулся на эту просьбу. Starlink обеспечивает высокоскоростной широкополосный спутниковый доступ в Интернет в местах, где он был ненадежным, дорогим или полностью недоступным.

Всего через неделю после обращения украинской стороны на Украину прибыли первые 500 комплектов доступа в Сеть с бесплатной прошивкой, которые были сразу переданы ВСУ. В марте Украина получила тысячи терминалов спутникового интернета Starlink, что подтвердила президент и главный операционный директор SpaceX Гвинн Шотвелл (Gwynne Shotwell). При этом она подчеркнула, что поставки Starlink в Украину финансируются преимущественно из частных источников. В настоящее время, по заверениям министра цифровой трансформации Украины Михаила Фёдорова, на украинской территории работают уже свыше 10 тыс. «тарелок» Starlink.
  • Использованы фотографии: SpaceX
8 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 1_2 Офлайн 1_2
    1_2 (Летят утки) 23 апреля 2022 23:43
    +5
    очередные сказочки Пентагона- изменил программный код ПО и радиосигнал спутника перестал считываться Красухой, стал "невидимым" как ф22 ))
  2. Юрий Брянский (Юрий Брянский ) 24 апреля 2022 03:03
    +2
    Империя лжи
  3. zzdimk Офлайн zzdimk
    zzdimk 24 апреля 2022 07:43
    +2
    Чушь какая-то. Как можно аппаратные ограничения обходить программно?
  4. korosun Офлайн korosun
    korosun (МP) 24 апреля 2022 07:59
    +1
    сказочники при делах laughing
  5. Найк Офлайн Найк
    Найк (Николай) 24 апреля 2022 09:06
    +1
    Когда то читал что при испытаниях лазера в СССР под его луч попала амерская космическая станция. Ситуация была на грани экстренной эвакуации, произошел отказ систем жизнеобеспечения,но после пролета полигона на оз. Болхаш все восстановилось.А что сейчас нельзя подсветить лучиком.да по мощьней эти спутники?
  6. Юрий 5347 Офлайн Юрий 5347
    Юрий 5347 (Юрий) 24 апреля 2022 10:02
    +1
    ...матрасники известны своими маркетинговыми сказками о своем оружии. А нашим не с руки писать подробное опровержение о своей боевой работе.
  7. lomograf Офлайн lomograf
    lomograf (Игорь) 24 апреля 2022 10:59
    0
    Да это у них там кипятильник замкнуло, выбило пробки, всё погасло, и в наступивших потёмках один профессионал растерянно сказал: "О беливибел... мы вырубили весь GPS..." а журналюги подхватили и раздули.
  8. Siegfried Офлайн Siegfried
    Siegfried (Gennady) 24 апреля 2022 20:05
    +1
    РЭБ РФ делалось против НАТО, а не этих лопухаев. Сейчас обе стороны пытаются добыть как можно больше данных о РЭБ возможностях друг друга, при этом стараясь максимально не светить свои возможности. Поэтому янки и призывают показать хоть что-то. Покажут, когда будет ваша очередь.