Diamond plate with a billion gigabytes of memory will appear in a year

Diamond plate with a billion gigabytes of memory will appear in a year

Representatives of the Japanese developer Adamant Namiki Precision Jewel Co., Ltd. announced the creation of a breakthrough Technology, in comparison with which modern methods of storing information will be obsolete. The base is an artificial diamond, on the basis of which it is possible to build quantum computing systems that are thousands of times superior to all current technologies.


The development was carried out jointly with scientists from Saga University. According to the members of the research team, quantum computing is in its infancy. Work on their use has been going on for a long time, as it opens up new possibilities for data storage and computing needs.

The main problem with the introduction of new technology turned out to be the material for creating an effective carrier. As a result of long-term studies, a diamond with a nitrogen-vacancy center was chosen as the basis. A structural defect allows data to be stored in the form of qubits. But there is a problem here too - growing an artificial diamond in the laboratory requires the use of nitrogen gas. But, if the content of nitrogen atoms in the material exceeds 3 ppb, the storage efficiency and reliability of the media are reduced.


One thin 55mm platter holds more data than a billion Blu-ray discs

Another problem was that existing facilities did not allow obtaining a diamond of the highest purity with a diameter of more than 4 mm. A group of scientists and engineers has developed a new production technology that allows the synthesis of wafers up to 55 mm in size, while maintaining the required purity.

A sapphire substrate with a stepped structure is used, which guarantees the expansion of the diamond to the sides as it grows without stretching and cracking. At the same time, much less nitrogen is required, which makes it possible to reduce its content in the final product.

Plates will help not only take computing to a new level, but also store huge amounts of data. So, one element fits 1 exabyte - 1 gigabytes. Approximately so much is transmitted by all mobile devices in the world in 073 day. That is, the memory of one smartphone in the future will become huge, not to mention computers and information storage systems. The company plans to begin production of diamond plates as early as 741, but there is no cost data yet.
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 123 Offline 123
    123 (123) April 29 2022 14: 51
    -1
    Some kind of fantasy, artifacts with precious stones Where the world is headinglaughing
    Do you know when the new flash drives will be on sale?
    1. greenchelman Offline greenchelman
      greenchelman (Grigory Tarasenko) April 29 2022 15: 24
      0
      Oh, new flash drives? If not a secret, what are we talking about?
      1. 123 Offline 123
        123 (123) April 29 2022 15: 30
        -1
        Oh, new flash drives? If not a secret, what are we talking about?

        About them relatives. Constantly some applications fill the memory, and everything strives to be saved not on the inserted flash drive, but on the memory of the smartphone itself. Infuriates wassat

        That is, the memory of one smartphone in the future will become huge, not to mention computers and information storage systems.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) April 29 2022 16: 57
    -3
    All over the hill, all over the hill ....

    They promised their super-capacious batteries, yes light bulbs, but so far everything is not there, everything has to be ordered from China
    1. goncharov.62 Offline goncharov.62
      goncharov.62 (Andrei) April 29 2022 19: 31
      -1
      Well, we already have tablets with a flexible screen from Chubais ... Well, the Guarantor Himself held them in his hands and praised them ... All this noodles are fed up ... You, yo, give funding normally and a salary (fuck a million money) , and then ... and then what? ...
      1. KLV Offline KLV
        KLV (Konstantin) 1 May 2022 12: 47
        0
        I dare to ask: is it all gone? What do you advise? Where to run? What to buy? What to shout?
  3. FGJCNJK Offline FGJCNJK
    FGJCNJK (Nikolai) April 29 2022 21: 23
    +1
    Quote: goncharov.62
    what then?...

    And then soup with a cat, well, or soup - RATATOUY - potatoes around the edges - in the middle ....
  4. cooper Offline cooper
    cooper (Alexander) 12 May 2022 11: 19
    0
    Labuda all this.
  5. cooper Offline cooper
    cooper (Alexander) 19 May 2022 08: 15
    0
    I will buy then a dozen or two on occasion.

Алмазная пластина с объемом памяти в миллиард гигабайт появится через год

Алмазная пластина с объемом памяти в миллиард гигабайт появится через год

Представители японского разработчика Adamant Namiki Precision Jewel Co., Ltd. сообщили о создании прорывной технологии, в сравнении с которой современные методы хранения информации окажутся устаревшими. Базой служит искусственный алмаз, на основе которого можно строить квантовые системы вычисления, превосходящие все актуальные технологии в тысячи раз.


Разработки велись совместно с учеными университета Сага. Как рассказали участники исследовательской группы, квантовые вычисления находятся в зачаточном состоянии. Работы по их использованию велись давно, так как это открывает новые возможности для хранения данных и вычислительных нужд.

Основной проблемой внедрения новой технологии оказался материал для создания эффективного носителя. В результате длительных исследований основой был выбран алмаз с азотно-вакансионным центром. Структурный дефект позволяет хранить данные в виде кубитов. Но и тут есть проблема – выращивание искусственного алмаза в лабораторных условиях требует использования газообразного азота. Но, если содержание атомов азота в материале превышает 3 части на миллиард, эффективность хранения данных и надежность носителя снижаются.


Одна тонкая пластина диаметром 55 мм вмещает больше данных, чем миллиард блюрей-дисков

Еще одной проблемой было то, что существующие возможности не позволяли получить алмаз высочайшей степени чистоты диаметром более 4 мм. Группа ученых и инженеров разработала новую технологию производства, позволяющую синтезировать пластины размером до 55 мм, при этом обеспечивая необходимые показатели чистоты.

Применяется сапфировая подложка со ступенчатой структурой, гарантирующей расширение алмаза в стороны по мере роста без его растяжения и растрескивания. При этом азота требуется намного меньше, что и позволяет снизить его содержание в конечном продукте.

Пластины помогут не только вывести вычисления на новый уровень, но и хранить огромные массивы данных. Так, на одном элементе умещается 1 эксабайт – 1 073 741 824 гигабайт. Примерно столько передают все мобильные устройства в мире за 1 день. То есть память одного смартфона в перспективе станет огромной, не говоря о компьютерах и системах хранения информации. Компания планирует начать производство алмазных пластин уже в 2024 году, данных о стоимости пока нет.
9 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 123 Офлайн 123
    123 (123) 29 апреля 2022 14:51
    -1
    Прям фэнтази какое то, артефакты с драгоценными камнями Куда мир катитсяlaughing
    Не слышно когда новые флешки появятся в продаже?
    1. greenchelman Офлайн greenchelman
      greenchelman (Григорий Тарасенко) 29 апреля 2022 15:24
      0
      О, новые флешки? Если не секрет о чем речь?
      1. 123 Офлайн 123
        123 (123) 29 апреля 2022 15:30
        -1
        О, новые флешки? Если не секрет о чем речь?

        О них родимых. Постоянно какие то приложения память заполняют, да и все норовит сохраниться не на вставленную флешку, а на память самого смартфона. Бесит wassat

        То есть память одного смартфона в перспективе станет огромной, не говоря о компьютерах и системах хранения информации.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 29 апреля 2022 16:57
    -3
    Все за бугром, все за бугром....

    Обещали свои сверх емкие аккумуляторы, да лампочки, но пока все нет, все приходится с Китая заказывать
    1. goncharov.62 Офлайн goncharov.62
      goncharov.62 (Андрей) 29 апреля 2022 19:31
      -1
      Ну, планшеты с гибким экраном от Чубайса у нас уже ёсть... Ну Сам Гарант их в руцах держал и нахваливал... Обрыдла вся эта лапша на ухи... Вы, ё, финансирование нормально дайте и зарплату (хучь мильон денег), а потом ... а что потом?...
      1. KLV Офлайн KLV
        KLV (Константин) 1 мая 2022 12:47
        0
        Осмелюсь спросить: всё пропало? Что посоветуете? Куда бежать? Что покупать? Что кричать?
  3. FGJCNJK Офлайн FGJCNJK
    FGJCNJK (Николай) 29 апреля 2022 21:23
    +1
    Цитата: goncharov.62
    а что потом?...

    А потом суп с котом, ну или суп - РАТАТУЙ - по краям картошка - в середине ....
  4. Cooper Офлайн Cooper
    Cooper (Александр) 12 мая 2022 11:19
    0
    Лабуда всё это.
  5. Cooper Офлайн Cooper
    Cooper (Александр) 19 мая 2022 08:15
    0
    Прикуплю тогда с десяток-другой по случаю.