China Disappointed by Moscow's Restrained Response to NATO's Northern Expansion


The approaching "northern" expansion of NATO, which, despite all the difficulties, may soon occur due to the accession of Sweden and Finland to the alliance, will seriously squeeze the "strategic space of Russia." In this regard, and taking into account the causes of the Russian-Ukrainian conflict, Moscow's reaction to this process, which is taking place near the northern borders, is too restrained. This conclusion was made by the vice-president of the Xi Jinping Institute of Ideas from the People's University of China, director of the Eurasian Research Center Professor Wang Yiwei. In Beijing, in his opinion, such behavior of a neighbor looks disappointing, since it poses a threat to China.


The expert published his arguments in Huanqiu Shibao. He emphasizes that NATO's 1300-kilometer expansion directly on the border with Russia will bring the alliance's infrastructure closer to strategically important objects and regions of the Russian Federation, such as the Kola Peninsula or St. Petersburg. Kaliningrad in this case will lose all its former attractiveness and tactical importance in military terms.

In addition, according to the expert, the successful transfer of Helsinki and Stockholm under the wing of NATO will bring down the entire "front" of the Scandinavian countries, and they will also be under the complete control of the alliance. All this will cause negative phenomena in the long term for both Russia and the region as a whole.

However, China's disappointment was caused not by the fact of an attempt to expand the alliance, but by Russia's unwillingness to become a buffer between NATO and China in the West (to actively prevent the growth of a military association). According to Ywei, for Washington, the entry of Finland and Sweden into the North Atlantic military bloc is very beneficial in terms of accelerating the armament of the alliance and the possibility for the US to release additional forces with the cessation of investment in European security.

In this case, America will have a free hand, and they will pay more attention to the Asia-Pacific region. NATO has long been targeting China

- the expert says.

Of course, Beijing is concerned not only about the release of US forces on the bridgehead of Northern Europe, but, on the contrary, the fettering of Russia's attention and forces in the same region. Washington creates several hotbeds of tension around the Russian Federation, and this weakens the security of China, as Moscow finds itself in a tactical operational environment. In this sense, Beijing has always expected the help of the Russian Federation, but now it turns out that partner assistance may be required from China.
  • Photos used: pixabay.com
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Art Pilot Offline Art Pilot
    Art Pilot (pilot) 19 May 2022 09: 38
    +4
    First, the opinion of one Chinese is not the opinion of China, so the headline is inaccurate and provocative. And, secondly, this Chinese has problems with logic: he considers Finland's entry into NATO a threat to China (!). The proof is this: by joining Finland, NATO is freeing its hands and the next step will become more active in the Asia-Pacific region (??). So it's the other way around: having received 1300 km of new borders with Russia, NATO receives a 1300-kilometer haemorrhage and danger to itself from Russia. This means that the ATP should be put aside. That is, in fact, China should thank Russia for taking on a new burden of containing the North Atlantic Alliance.
    And the Chinese are a provocateur. And the article is provocative.
    1. Michael L. Offline Michael L.
      Michael L. 19 May 2022 17: 46
      0
      The article is "provocative": given the long-term prospects, Professor Wang Yiwei "provokes" his leadership to active (!) Support for the Russian Federation in the confrontation with the US-NATO!
      1. Kofesan Offline Kofesan
        Kofesan (Valery) 20 May 2022 20: 48
        +1
        The article is provocative. Undoubtedly. But this is the only one where we can agree with both of you.
        But! There are a lot of such articles here, if not most. Strictly speaking, that is why I am here. As a debater with the position of most authors. But this is a lyric.

        There is a third point of view. Yiwei is the tip of the iceberg of similar articles in the Chinese press. Particularly noticeable are the publications Sohu and Global times, often quoted in the Russian media. And almost all of them (similar publications in the style of Iwei) are "sick" with poorly disguised fears of the Chinese. What are the concerns?

        1. That China will end up alone with NATO and the United States.

        2. That the position of the Dragon, watching the fight between the giant eagle and the Bear, can be erroneous. And instead of repeating the path of the USA, which got rich during and after the Second World War, standing aside from the battle between the USSR and Hitler, ...

        ... China will remain as a result of this war, in fact, undeclared slavery among the Saxons. Those. - exactly like "an old woman with a broken trough." But to get involved in a fight on the side of Russia is very, very scary, even worse than any outcome of the battle ...
        Although (mentally) they are on the Russian side.

        3. Based on the first two, China has chosen the tactics of accumulating muscle and fat. And it is very afraid that Russia will find common ground with the West on the basis of a stalemate in a theoretical war and the West will switch to China. Therefore, the Chinese, who are close in spirit and circumstances to us, in every possible way want the mutual bleeding of "partners from NATO" and us too, even if Russia also bleeds to death. That's when they will be left alone!!! ...Further - wet dreams of Chinese hegemony.

        4,,,5,,,6,,,
        There are many more moments, but the main one ... - little belongs to the Chinese. Mostly these are Americans who hired a slave force. Even in Aliexpress. And they, like everyone else, are very afraid of their boss, each in his own workplace ... Since the boss (now even Huawei is Amer or German)

        PS I lived there...
        1. Art Pilot Offline Art Pilot
          Art Pilot (pilot) 20 May 2022 22: 02
          0
          Fursov cited his statistics - 25% of the Chinese elite are focused on the United States. 35-40 are inclined to support us, because they understand that in the event of a defeat for Russia, they are the next to be dealt with. The rest is an undecided swamp.
  2. speed4fun Offline speed4fun
    speed4fun (Carlo da campo) 19 May 2022 11: 01
    +3
    It would be interesting if China, in addition to complaining, put a little more effort into ending US hegemony. Many protesters, but let the neighbors solve problems
    1. Smilodon terribilis nimis 20 May 2022 00: 10
      +1
      They can not. They are not warriors, but merchants.
  3. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 19 May 2022 13: 43
    +2
    The industrial and mobilization potential of EuroNATO exceeds that of the United States and, with a strong desire, with the blessing of the United States, they can increase their military arsenal, including nuclear weapons, to the level of the Russian Federation or do something similar to the transfer of nuclear submarines to Australia.
    In this scenario, the United States will focus on the Asia-Pacific region, i.e. on the PRC, and the Russian Federation will be left at the mercy of EuroNATO.
    Mr. Wang Yiwei's opinion in Huanqiu Shibao can be considered China's official reaction to Russia's attitude to NATO expansion and the ultimatum on non-expansion, non-deployment and return to the 1979 borders.
    The PRC refrains from real assistance to the Russian Federation, which today comes down to verbiage about eternal friendship and condemnation of the United States.
    After such a humiliation of the Russian Federation, all potential “friends”, and above all the PRC, will think a hundred times before having any business with the Russian Federation and being substituted for similar or secondary sanctions. The total turnover of China with the EU (200) and the US (700) exceeds $900 billion. against 146 from the Russian Federation. It is a well-known axiom that there are no permanent friends, but only permanent interests, and this fully applies to the PRC.
    1. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
      Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 19 May 2022 13: 57
      0
      Of course, not $200 billion, but about 800-900 and the total turnover, respectively, $1500 billion.
    2. Smilodon terribilis nimis 20 May 2022 00: 10
      0
      They will have to think 100 times more, because their ostrich stance gives the West confidence in their crushability.
  4. Roma Phil Offline Roma Phil
    Roma Phil (Roma) 20 May 2022 00: 28
    +2
    Beijing has always expected Russian help, but from now on it turns out that partner assistance may be required from China.

    Exactly. Beijing expected help. And is he ready to help Russia? For example, he takes advantage of the fact that the West wants to abandon Russian oil and gas and is ready to buy these energy sources but at a large discount of 30%.
    In general, even in other goods it trades with Russia with an eye on the United States and Europe.
    How did Beijing help Russia in these difficult days, when Russia was subjected to sanctions?
    1. The comment was deleted.
  5. Alexey Davydov Offline Alexey Davydov
    Alexey Davydov (Alexey) 20 May 2022 13: 43
    -1
    Russia's serene and therefore inadequate reaction to obvious threats is already becoming a cause of concern and doubts for strategic partners behind our backs.
    Opinion formed and published. While in the tabloid, but it already exists.
    If we do not trust our own assessments, then there is the view of our smart strategic partners from the outside.
    They can be understood. Trust a country that has the same mortal enemy, and now you have to be afraid to stay one on one with the States
    1. Alexey Davydov Offline Alexey Davydov
      Alexey Davydov (Alexey) 20 May 2022 14: 07
      0
      The states dream of driving a wedge between us and China. It turns out that we ourselves will quickly cope with this disregard for ourselves and our own future.
      Who needs such partners in the face of a mortal enemy?
      However, we forget that by ceasing to be a partner, China will start a different game, become a contender for the joint division of our territories with the States.
  6. Don't freak out, professoro, we'll blow their heads off with hydrogen just in case. They will only sail to China in a cloud (radioactive, alas ...)!
  7. Vladimir1155 Offline Vladimir1155
    Vladimir1155 (Vladimir) 22 May 2022 07: 54
    0
    firstly, a restrained reaction to what? Finns have been de facto NATO partners for a long time, St. Petersburg and Kaliningrad under the gunpoint of NATO from Poland and the Baltic states, so the addition of the Finns does not change anything, the Kola Peninsula is under the gunpoint of the Norwegians, and in general aim at our taiga .... this is more of a political action and will bring economic difficulties for the Finns and the Swedes, and it’s already bringing, hunger in Finland is more dangerous than hunger in Italy, vegetables and fruits grow cold and poorly there ..... Of course, China would like NATO to get bogged down in the Russian Federation, but you need to understand that the economic difficulties of the United States are inevitable and with whom will they fight against China or the Russian Federation? Hitler's choice between the USSR and England was made on us .... it seems to them that Russia is weak and that it is possible to take possession of its oil and bread, so it is necessary to build up nuclear potential, the Russian Federation has only four allies of the Strategic Missile Forces, the Aerospace Forces, the Army and the submarine fleet
  8. Choro Kyrgyz Offline Choro Kyrgyz
    Choro Kyrgyz (Choro Kyrgyz) 22 May 2022 13: 45
    0
    And why are you, the Chinese partners, inactive, Russia has already said enough and understands that it is necessary to respond with deeds, which they are doing.

В Китае разочарованы сдержанной реакцией Москвы на «северное» расширение НАТО


Приближающееся «северное» расширение НАТО, которое, несмотря на все трудности, может вскоре произойти за счет присоединения к альянсу Швеции и Финляндии, серьезно сдавит «стратегическое пространство России». В этом плане и с учетом причин российско-украинского конфликта реакция Москвы на данный процесс, происходящий около северных границ, является излишне сдержанной. К такому выводу пришел вице-президент Института идей Си Цзиньпина из народного университета Китая, директор Исследовательского евразийского центра профессор Ван Ивэй. В Пекине, по его мнению, такое поведение соседа выглядит разочаровывающим, поскольку несет угрозу Китаю.


Эксперт опубликовал свои доводы в издании «Хуаньцю шибао». Он подчеркивает, что расширение НАТО на 1300-километровую длину непосредственно на границе с Россией приблизит инфраструктуру альянса к стратегически важным объектам и регионам РФ, таким как Кольский полуостров или же Санкт-Петербург. Калининград в таком случае утратит всю былую привлекательность и тактическую важность в военном плане.

Ко всему прочему, по мнению эксперта, успешный переход Хельсинки и Стокгольма под крыло НАТО обрушит весь «фронт» скандинавских стран, и они также окажутся под полным контролем альянса. Все это вызовет негативные явления в долгосрочной перспективе как для России, так и региона в целом.

Однако разочарование Китая вызвал не факт попытки расширения альянса, но нежелание России становиться буфером между НАТО и Китаем на западе (активно препятствовать росту военного объединения). Как говорит Ивэй, для Вашингтона вступление Финляндии и Швеции в североатлантический военный блок очень выгодно с точки зрения ускорения вооружения альянса и возможности для США высвободить дополнительные силы с прекращением инвестирования в безопасность Европы.

В таком случае у Америки будут развязаны руки, и они станут больше обращать внимание на Азиатско-Тихоокеанский регион. НАТО давно нацелилось на Китай

– говорит эксперт.

Конечно, Пекин беспокоит не только высвобождение сил США на плацдарме Северной Европы, но и, наоборот, сковывание внимания и сил России в этом же регионе. Вашингтон создает несколько очагов напряженности вокруг РФ, и это ослабляет безопасность Китая, поскольку Москва оказывается в тактическом оперативном окружении. В этом смысле Пекин всегда ожидал помощи РФ, однако отныне выходит, что, возможно, партнерская помощь потребуется от Китая.
  • Использованы фотографии: pixabay.com
15 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ArtPilot Офлайн ArtPilot
    ArtPilot (Pilot) 19 мая 2022 09:38
    +4
    Во-первых, мнение одного китайца - это не мнение Китая, так что заголовок неточен и провокационен. А, во-вторых, у этого китайца проблемы с логикой: вступление Финляндии в состав НАТО он считает угрозой Китаю (!). Доказательство такое: присоединив Финляндию, НАТО развязывает себе руки и следующим шагом активизируется на Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе(??). Так ведь всё наоборот: получив 1300 км новых границы с Россией, НАТО получает 1300-километровый гемор и опасность для себя от России. Это значит, что АТР должен быть отложен в сторону. То есть по сути, Китай должен благодарить Россию, что она берёт на себя новую нагрузку по сдерживанию Северо-атлантического альянса.
    И китаец - провокатор. И статья провокационная.
    1. Mikhail L. Офлайн Mikhail L.
      Mikhail L. 19 мая 2022 17:46
      0
      Статья "провокационная": учитывая долгосрочные перспективы, профессор Ван Ивэй "провоцирует" свое руководство на активную(!) поддержку РФ в противостоянии с США-НАТО!
      1. Kofesan Офлайн Kofesan
        Kofesan (Валерий) 20 мая 2022 20:48
        +1
        Статья провокационная. Безусловно. Но это единственное, где можно согласиться с Вами обоими.
        Но! Здесь таких статей - очень много, если не большинство. Строго говоря, именно поэтому я здесь и нахожусь. Как спорщик с позицией большинства авторов. Но это лирика.

        Есть третья точка зрения. Ивей - вехушка айсберга из подобных статей в китайской прессе. Особенно заметны издание Sohu и Global times, часто цитируемые в российских медиа. И почти все они (подобные публикации в стиле Ивея) "болеют" плохо прикрытыми опасениями китайцев. Какие опасения?

        1. Что Китай останется в итоге один на один с НАТО И США.

        2. Что позиция Дракона, наблюдающая за схваткой гиганского орла и Медведя может быть ошибочной. И вместо того, что бы повторить путь США, разбогатевших во время и после второй мировой войны, стоя в стороне от битвы СССР И Гитлера , ...

        ...Китай останется по итогам этой войны, в фактически необъявленном рабстве у саксов. Т.е. - точь в точь как "старуха у разбитого корыта". Но вот ввязываться в драку им на стороне России очень-очень страшно, еще страшнее чем любой итог битвы...
        Хотя (мысленно) они и на Российской стороне.

        3. Исходя из первых двух, Китай выбрал тактику накопления мускулов и жирка.И очень боится, что Россия найдет точки соприкосновения с Западом на основе пата в теоретической войне и Запад переключится на Китай. Поэтому близкие по духу и обстоятельствам нам китайцы всячески желают взаимного обескровливания "партнеров из НАТО" и нас тоже, даже если Россия тоже истечет кровью. Вот тогда то они останутся ОДНИ!!! ...Далее - влажные мечты о китайской гегемонии.

        4,,,5,,,6,,,
        Есть и еще много моментов, но главный из них... - китайцам мало что принадлежит. В основном это американцы, которые наняли раб силу. Даже в АлиЭкспресс. И они, как все, очень боятся своего начальника, каждый на своем рабочем месте... Так как начальник (сейчас даже у Хуавей - амер или немец)

        PS Я там жил...
        1. ArtPilot Офлайн ArtPilot
          ArtPilot (Pilot) 20 мая 2022 22:02
          0
          Фурсов привёл свою статистику - 25% китайской элиты ориентированы на США. 35-40 склонны нас поддержать, поскольку понимают, что в случае поражения России, следующие под раздачу они. Остальны - неопределившееся болото.
  2. speed4fun Офлайн speed4fun
    speed4fun (Carlo d acampo) 19 мая 2022 11:01
    +3
    Было бы интересно, если бы Китай, помимо жалоб, приложил немного больше усилий для прекращения гегемонии США. Много протестующих, но пусть соседи решают проблемы
    1. Smilodon terribilis nimis 20 мая 2022 00:10
      +1
      Они не могут. Не воины они, а - торгаши.
  3. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 19 мая 2022 13:43
    +2
    Промышленный и мобилизационный потенциал евроНАТО превышает СШАсовский и при большом желании, с благословления США, могут нарастить военный арсенал, включая атомный, до уровня РФ или провернуть нечто аналогичное передаче атомных подлодок Австралии.
    При таком раскладе США сосредоточатся на АТР, т.е. на КНР, а РФ оставят на откуп евроНАТО.
    Мнение господина Ван Ивэй в «Хуаньцю шибао» можно считать официальной реакцией КНР на отношение РФ к расширению НАТО и ультиматум о нерасширении неразмещении и возврату в границы 1979 года.
    КНР воздерживается от реальной помощи РФ, которая сегодня сводится к словоблудию о вечной дружбе и осуждению США.
    После такого унижения РФ все потенциальные “друзья” и прежде всего КНР, сто раз подумают прежде чем иметь с РФ какие-либо дела и подставляться под аналогичные или вторичные санкции. Суммарный оборот КНР с ЕС (200) и США (700) превышает $900млрд. против 146 с РФ. Всем известная аксиома, что не бывает постоянных друзей, а бывают лишь постоянные интересы и это в полной мере относится и к КНР.
    1. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
      Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 19 мая 2022 13:57
      0
      Конечно же не $200млдр., а порядка 800-900 и суммарный оборот соответственно $1500млрд.
    2. Smilodon terribilis nimis 20 мая 2022 00:10
      0
      Им думать придётся в 100 раз больше, поскольку их страусиная позиция вселяет в Запад уверенность в их сокрушимости.
  4. Рома Фил Офлайн Рома Фил
    Рома Фил (Рома ) 20 мая 2022 00:28
    +2
    Пекин всегда ожидал помощи РФ, однако отныне выходит, что, возможно, партнерская помощь потребуется от Китая.

    Вот- вот. Пекин ожидал помощи. А сам оказать помощь России готов ? Например пользуется тем , что на Западе хотят отказаться от российской нефти и газа и готов покупать эти энергоносители но с большим дисконтом в 30%.
    А вообще даже по другим товарам торгует с Россией с оглядкой на США и Европу.
    Чем помог Пекин России в эти трудные дни, когда Россию обложили санкциями ?
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Алексей Давыдов (Алексей) 20 мая 2022 13:43
    -1
    Безмятежная и потому - неадекватная реакция России на очевидные угрозы уже становится причиной беспокойства и сомнений стратегических партнеров, находящихся у нас за спиной.
    Мнение сформировалось и опубликовано. Пока в таблоиде, но оно уже есть.
    Если мы не доверяем собственным оценкам - есть взгляд наших умных стратегических партнеров со стороны.
    Их можно понять. Доверять стране которая имеет того же смертельного врага, и вот уже приходится бояться остаться со Штатами один на один
    1. Алексей Давыдов (Алексей) 20 мая 2022 14:07
      0
      Штаты мечтают вбить клин между нами и Китаем. Получается, что мы сами быстрее справимся с этим своим наплевательским отношением к себе и собственному будущему.
      Кому нужны такие партнеры перед лицом смертельного врага?
      Однако мы забываем, что перестав быть партнером Китай начнет другую игру, станет претендентом на совместный раздел наших территорий со Штатами.
  6. Не трепыхайся, профэссоро, мы их водородом налыса снесем в случай чего. До Китая только облаком приплывут (радиоактивным, увы...)!
  7. владимир1155 Офлайн владимир1155
    владимир1155 (владимир) 22 мая 2022 07:54
    0
    во первых сдержанная реакция на что? Фины де факто давно партнеры НАТО, санкт петербург и Калининград под прицелом НАТО из Польши и прибалтики, так что добавление финов ничего не меняет, Кольский полуостров под прицелом норвежцев, и вообще п8рицеливаться по нашей тайге .... это скорее политическое действо и принесет экономические трудности финам, и шведам, и уже приносит, голод в финляндии опаснее голода в италии, там холодно и плохо растут овощи и фрукты..... Китаю конечно бы хотелось чтобы НАТО увязло в РФ, но нужно понимать что экономические трудности США, неминуемы и с кем они станут а воевать с Китаем или с РФ? выбор гитлера между СССР и Англией был сделан на нас.... им кажется что Россия слаба и что можно завладеть ее нефтью и хлебом, так что нужно наращивать ядерный потенциал, у РФ только четыре союзника РВСН, вкс, Армия и подводный флот
  8. Чоро Кыргыз Офлайн Чоро Кыргыз
    Чоро Кыргыз (Чоро Кыргыз) 22 мая 2022 13:45
    0
    А почему бездействуете вы, китайские партнэры, Россия уже достаточно сказал и понимает что реагировать надо делом, что и делают.