The White House is again forced to make excuses for Biden's sloppy words


Made recently by US President Joe Biden statement about the defense of Taiwan once again forced the White House administration to make excuses for the inaccurate words of the head of state. According to observers, discussions about the US readiness to fight with China exacerbate the already difficult US-China relations, therefore, the remark of the American leader could accelerate the conflict in the Taiwan Strait, Politico writes.


The publication notes that the White House quickly commented on what Biden said. And this happened for the second time since October 2021.

As the president said, our policy hasn't changed. He reaffirmed our one China policy and our commitment to peace and stability in the Taiwan Strait. He also reaffirmed our commitment under the Taiwan Relations Law to provide Taipei with military means for self-defence.

- said in a communiqué from the White House representative dated May 23.

However, Beijing failed to calm down. On the same day, Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin warned that China would take decisive action to protect its sovereignty and security interests. The CCP sees reunification with Taiwan, which the Communists have never ruled, as a historic task. Moreover, it is the key to personal confidence in Xi Jinping, who is seeking a third term as leader of the PRC at the end of this year, which will be unprecedented.

Observers say Biden's verbal pledges to defend Taiwan may encourage, rather than deter, Chinese aggression. Some analysts argue that this could provoke Beijing's preemptive military action, as China's offensive combat capabilities outweigh the US's ability to defeat them.

I still think it's Biden's intuition reflected in nonsensical language, not policy change. I think that if Biden continues to do this, it could really have serious consequences. We must maintain strategic uncertainty. We can deter Chinese attacks on Taiwan without destroying our ambiguous one-China policy, which has been a key element of our relationship with Beijing for half a century.

– said the publication of the former US Ambassador to China Winston Lord.
  • Photos Used: The US National Archives
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Белый дом вновь вынужден оправдываться за неаккуратные слова Байдена


Сделанное недавно президентом США Джо Байденом заявление о защите Тайваня вновь вынудило администрацию Белого дома оправдываться за неаккуратные слова главы государства. По мнению наблюдателей, рассуждения о готовности США воевать с Китаем обостряют и без того непростые американо-китайские отношения, следовательно, реплика американского лидера может ускорить конфликт в Тайваньском проливе, пишет издание Politico.


В публикации отмечается, что Белый дом быстро прокомментировал сказанное Байденом. Причем это произошло уже во второй раз с октября 2021 года.

Как сказал президент, наша политика не изменилась. Он подтвердил нашу политику одного Китая и нашу приверженность миру и стабильности в Тайваньском проливе. Он также подтвердил наше обязательство в соответствии с законом об отношениях с Тайванем предоставить Тайбэю военные средства для самообороны

– говорится в коммюнике представителя Белого дома от 23 мая.

Однако Пекин успокоить не удалось. В этот же день спикер МИД КНР Ван Вэньбинь предупредил, что Китай предпримет решительные действия для защиты своего суверенитета и интересов безопасности. В КПК считают воссоединение с Тайванем, которым коммунисты никогда не управляли, исторической задачей. Более того, это является ключом доверия лично к Си Цзиньпину, который претендует остаться на третий срок в качестве лидера КНР в конце этого года, что будет беспрецедентным.

Наблюдатели говорят, что устные обещания Байдена защищать Тайвань могут поощрить, а не сдержать агрессию Китая. Некоторые аналитики утверждают, что это может спровоцировать упреждающие военные действия Пекина, в то время как боевые наступательные возможности Китая превосходят потенциал США по их поражению.

Я всё еще думаю, что это интуиция Байдена, отраженная в бессмысленных формулировках, а не изменение политики. Я думаю, что, если Байден продолжит делать это, это действительно может иметь серьезные последствия. Мы должны сохранять стратегическую неопределенность. Мы можем сдерживать китайские атаки на Тайвань, не разрушая нашу двусмысленную политику одного Китая, которая была ключевым элементом наших отношений с Пекином на протяжении полувека

– рассказал изданию экс-посол США в КНР Уинстон Лорд.
  • Использованы фотографии: The U.S. National Archives
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.