Completely updated "Abrams": the first image of the new tank for the US Army


In 1981, the M1 Abrams ("Abrams") tank was adopted by the US Army. Now the Pentagon and General Dynamics Corporation are working on another upgrade of this MBT. In October 2022, a completely updated version of the M1A2 SEPv4 should be officially presented to the public, but interesting details can already be seen in the first image published on the Web.


The latest version of the Abrams, which is in service with the US Army, is the M1A2 SEPv3. The improved tracked combat vehicle will receive a completely new turret. It will be with a low profile, but habitable or not, is not yet known. Whether this will affect the number of crew members is also not clear.

The gun will also be updated, but its caliber will remain the same 120 mm. It will work in tandem with an automatic loader. The barrel of the gun is similar to that used by the XM-360 gun. A few years ago, she was tested on the MCS XM1202 infantry fighting vehicle as part of the FCS program. It is expected that the new gun will provide the ability to hit targets at a distance of up to 10 km, but how it will be in reality is still difficult to assess.

Reconnaissance of the area and target designation for firing will be carried out using airborne drones. Probably the same as recently submitted the public of the latest German tank KF51 Panther manufactured by the Rhainmetall concern, equipped with a 130-mm gun.

The new generation American tank, like the future German-French EMBT tank, will receive a remote-controlled installation with a 30 mm automatic cannon and a 7,62 mm machine gun. This will allow hitting lightly armored targets without spending expensive 120mm rounds.

Detailed changes in the chassis, hull and MTO can only be assessed after the appearance of the M1A2 SEPv4 in metal. The developers assure that they are making efforts to reduce the mass of the tank, since 70 tons is a critical weight for logistics and transport infrastructure.

The Americans want the M1A2 SEPv4 to take the lead among MBTs in the world. The tank will also receive an updated laser rangefinder, color video cameras, an improved turret ring with slip rings, meteorological equipment, ammunition programming tools, radiation warning devices and improved 120-mm projectiles with increased efficiency. The central element of the terms of reference is the introduction of a new third-generation thermal imaging system. A new type of digital equipment should have a higher resolution and an increased detection range. Engineers also want to reduce the sensitivity of equipment to various interferences. New thermal imagers will allow the tank to find and identify potentially dangerous objects earlier, which will give it an advantage over others. Modern sights with a night channel will also allow you to gain an advantage in the observation range, thanks to which the tank will detect the enemy before he notices him.

In addition, it is proposed to install means for detecting laser radiation, as well as the use of a system of circular visual review. New meteorological sensors will increase the accuracy of current conditions and fire efficiency. An interesting innovation will be improved slip rings connecting the hull and turret equipment. With their help, it is planned to reduce the number of necessary "boxes" with equipment that provides communication between various on-board equipment. They promise that there will be an active protection system for the tank.
  • Photos used: General Dynamics Land Systems
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Colonel Kudasov Offline Colonel Kudasov
    Colonel Kudasov (Boris) 19 June 2022 10: 39
    0
    The improved tracked combat vehicle will receive a completely new turret. It will be with a low profile, but habitable or not, is not yet known. Whether this will affect the number of crew members is also not clear.

    With an uninhabited tower, it is unlikely that the tank crew is more than 2 people
  2. Victor Du Offline Victor Du
    Victor Du (Victor) 19 June 2022 23: 57
    0
    Quote: Colonel Kudasov
    The improved tracked combat vehicle will receive a completely new turret. It will be with a low profile, but habitable or not, is not yet known. Whether this will affect the number of crew members is also not clear.

    With an uninhabited tower, it is unlikely that the tank crew is more than 2 people

    The Germans are going to put an operator of drones and other additional husks in the crew.
  3. GIS Online GIS
    GIS (Ildus) 24 June 2022 16: 38
    0
    mmmmm, xenoncheg is everyone there, dho ...

Полностью обновленный «Абрамс»: первое изображение нового танка для армии США


В 1981 году танк M1 Abrams («Абрамс») был принят на вооружение армии США. Сейчас Пентагон и корпорация General Dynamics работают над очередной модернизацией этого ОБТ. В октябре 2022 года публике должны официально представить полностью обновленную версию M1A2 SEPv4, но интересные детали уже можно разглядеть на первом обнародованном в Сети изображении.


Последним вариантом «Абрамса», который стоит на вооружении армии США, является M1A2 SEPv3. Усовершенствованная гусеничная боевая машина получит совершенно новую башню. Она будет с заниженным профилем, однако обитаемая или нет, пока не известно. Повлияет ли это на количество членов экипажа, также не ясно.

Пушку тоже обновят, но её калибр останется прежним 120-мм. Она будет работать в паре с автоматом заряжания. Ствол орудия похож на тот, что использовался у пушки ХМ-360. Несколько лет назад она проходила испытания на БМП MCS XM1202 в рамках программы FCS. Ожидается, что новая пушка обеспечит возможность поражения целей на расстоянии до 10 км, но как будет в реальности, сложно пока оценить.

Разведка местности и целеуказание для стрельбы будут осуществляться при помощи бортовых беспилотников. Вероятно, также, как и у недавно представленного общественности новейшего немецкого танка KF51 Panther производства концерна Rhainmetall, оснащенного 130-мм орудием.

Американский танк нового поколения, как и будущий немецко-французский танк EMBT, получит дистанционно-управляемую установку с 30 мм автоматической пушкой и 7,62 мм пулемётом. Это позволит поражать легкобронированные цели, не расходуя дорогие снаряды калибра 120-мм.

Детальные изменения по ходовой части, корпусу и МТО можно будет оценить лишь после появления M1A2 SEPv4 в металле. Разработчики заверяют, что они прилагают усилия, чтобы снизить массу танка, так как 70 тонн – это критический вес для логистики и транспортной инфраструктуры.

Американцы хотят, чтобы M1A2 SEPv4 занял лидирующие позиции среди ОБТ в мире. Танк также получит обновленный лазерный дальномер, цветные видеокамеры, улучшенный башенный погон с контактными кольцами, комплекс метеорологического оборудования, средства программирования боеприпасов, приборы предупреждения об облучении и улучшенные 120-мм снаряды с повышенной эффективностью. Центральным элементом технического задания является внедрение новой тепловизионной системы третьего поколения. Цифровая аппаратура нового типа должна иметь более высокое разрешение и увеличенную дальность обнаружения. Инженеры также хотят снизить чувствительность оборудования к различным помехам. Новые тепловизоры позволят танку раньше находить и идентифицировать потенциально опасные объекты, что даст преимущество перед другими. Современные прицелы с ночным каналом позволят получить преимущество также в дальности наблюдения, благодаря чему танк будет обнаруживать противника раньше, чем он его заметит.

Кроме того, предлагается установка средств обнаружения лазерного излучения, а также использование системы кругового визуального обзора. Новые метеорологические датчики повысят точность текущих условий и эффективность огня. Интересным нововведением станут улучшенные контактные кольца, соединяющие оборудование корпуса и башни. С их помощью планируется сократить количество необходимых «коробочек» с аппаратурой, обеспечивающей связь между различным бортовым оборудованием. Обещают, что появится система активной защиты танка.
  • Использованы фотографии: General Dynamics Land Systems
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Полковник Кудасов (Борис) 19 июня 2022 10:39
    0
    Усовершенствованная гусеничная боевая машина получит совершенно новую башню. Она будет с заниженным профилем, однако обитаемая или нет, пока не известно. Повлияет ли это на количество членов экипажа, также не ясно.

    При необитаемой башне вряд ли экипаж танка больше 2 человек
  2. Виктор Ду Офлайн Виктор Ду
    Виктор Ду (Виктор) 19 июня 2022 23:57
    0
    Цитата: Полковник Кудасов
    Усовершенствованная гусеничная боевая машина получит совершенно новую башню. Она будет с заниженным профилем, однако обитаемая или нет, пока не известно. Повлияет ли это на количество членов экипажа, также не ясно.

    При необитаемой башне вряд ли экипаж танка больше 2 человек

    Немцы собираются посадить в экипаж оператора беспилотников и прочей дополнительной шелухи.
  3. ГИС Офлайн ГИС
    ГИС (Ильдус) 24 июня 2022 16:38
    0
    ммммм, ксенончег там всякий, дхо...