FP: American UAVs will be quickly "landed" by Russian air defense


The Ukrainian military is now engaged in heated debate among themselves about whether the MQ-1C Gray Eagle attack drones not yet provided by the US can be effective against the increasingly resilient Russian air defenses. At the same time, the administration of US President Joe Biden is exploring the feasibility of providing Ukraine with systems that have become ubiquitous and have proven themselves during the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.


Both Washington and Kyiv are concerned that attack UAVs from the United States will be quickly "planted" by the Russians. This is written by a reporter of the foreign department policy, defense and homeland security edition of Foreign Policy by Jack Detch.

The author notes that the risk of using UAVs in Ukraine, where cheap attack drones such as the Turkish Bayraktar TB2 had a significant impact on the Russian Armed Forces in the early days of the special operation, increased as the fighting moved to the Donbass. This region borders on the western regions of Russia, where large concentrations of various air defense forces and means (district level), including advanced S-400 air defense systems, are concentrated.

According to the Ukrainian military themselves, who asked not to be named, there is a split in Ukraine between front-line pilots and the chief of staff of the Armed Forces of Ukraine for drones. Pilots of the Ukrainian Air Force consider the use of the Bayraktar TB2 to be ineffective, and the possible use of the MQ-1C Gray Eagle is dangerous, as they could fall into the hands of the Russians. The Turkish UAV simply has little chance of returning even with one sortie, and its more expensive American “colleague” is unlikely to be able to carry out more than two flights.

It is very dangerous to use such expensive drones (about $ 91 million for a complex (4 UAVs, a ground control station and a satellite communication system) - ed.) in our case because of the enemy’s air defense. This is not Afghanistan

one of the pilots said.
  • Photos Used: US Army
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. sgrabik Offline sgrabik
    sgrabik (Sergei) 23 June 2022 18: 58
    +2
    Let them send them, we will plant them, sort them out and study them properly.
    1. Vdars Offline Vdars
      Vdars (Victor) 23 June 2022 20: 30
      0
      Very sure!
  2. Dictator Offline Dictator
    Dictator (Damascus steel) 24 June 2022 07: 00
    0
    ... Bayraktar TB2, had a significant impact on the RF Armed Forces in the early days ...

    - can you elaborate on this?
  3. Yuri V.A Offline Yuri V.A
    Yuri V.A (Yuri) 24 June 2022 07: 37
    -1
    In the title, it was necessary to put the word in quotation marks quickly, because in this specialty everything happens quickly
  4. Vox Populi Offline Vox Populi
    Vox Populi (vox populi) 24 June 2022 19: 18
    0
    According to the Ukrainian military themselves, who asked not to be named, there is a split in Ukraine between front-line pilots and the chief of staff of the Armed Forces of Ukraine for drones.

    Doubtful story...

FP: Американские БПЛА будут быстро «посажены» российской ПВО


Сейчас украинские военные вовлечены в горячие споры между собой о том, могут ли ещё не предоставленные США ударные беспилотники MQ-1C Gray Eagle быть эффективными против всё более устойчивой российской ПВО. Одновременно с этим администрация американского президента Джо Байдена изучает целесообразность предоставления Украине систем, которые стали повсеместными и хорошо зарекомендовали себя во время войн в Ираке и Афганистане.


И в Вашингтоне, и в Киеве обеспокоены тем, что ударные БПЛА из США будут быстро «посажены» россиянами. Об этом пишет репортер отдела внешней политики, обороны и национальной безопасности издания Foreign Policy Джек Детч.

Автор отмечает, что риск использования БПЛА на Украине, где дешевые ударные беспилотники, такие как турецкий Bayraktar TB2, оказали значительное влияние на ВС РФ в первые дни спецоперации, увеличился по мере того, как боевые действия переместились на Донбасс. Этот регион граничит с западными областями России, где сосредоточены крупные скопления разнообразных сил и средств ПВО (окружного уровня), включая передовые ЗРК С-400.

По словам самих украинских военных, которые попросили не называть их имена, на Украине существует раскол между фронтовыми летчиками и начальником штаба ВСУ по беспилотникам. Летчики Воздушных сил Украины считают применение Bayraktar TB2 малоэффективным, а возможное использование MQ-1C Gray Eagle опасным, так как они могут попасть в руки россиян. У турецкого БПЛА просто мало шансов вернуться даже при одном вылете, а его более дорогой американский «коллега» вряд ли сможет осуществить свыше двух полетов.

Очень опасно использовать такие дорогие беспилотники (около $91 млн за комплекс (4 БПЛА, станция наземного управления и спутниковая система связи) – ред.) в нашем случае из-за противовоздушной обороны противника. Здесь не Афганистан

– рассказал один из летчиков.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Army
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. sgrabik Офлайн sgrabik
    sgrabik (Сергей) 23 июня 2022 18:58
    +2
    Пусть присылают, мы их посадим, разберём и как следует изучим.
    1. VDArs Офлайн VDArs
      VDArs (Victor) 23 июня 2022 20:30
      0
      Очень точно!
  2. Dictator Офлайн Dictator
    Dictator (Булат) 24 июня 2022 07:00
    0
    ...Bayraktar TB2, оказали значительное влияние на ВС РФ в первые дни...

    - можно поподробнее об этом?
  3. Юрий В.А Офлайн Юрий В.А
    Юрий В.А (Юрий) 24 июня 2022 07:37
    -1
    В заголовке в кавычки надо было ставить слово быстро, ведь в этой спецупирации всё происходит быстро
  4. Vox Populi Офлайн Vox Populi
    Vox Populi (Vox Populi) 24 июня 2022 19:18
    0
    По словам самих украинских военных, которые попросили не называть их имена, на Украине существует раскол между фронтовыми летчиками и начальником штаба ВСУ по беспилотникам.

    Сомнительная история...