Sanctions in action: contract with Indonesia for the purchase of Su-35 postponed

US continues to threaten sanctions against countries purchasing Russian weapons and military machinery. These threats act on someone, but not on someone. This is a natural and expected development of events. But, the most unpleasant nuance of what is happening is the fact that not only contractors are afraid of sanctions, but also individual Russian structures, whose participation in such transactions is important.



Russian media have learned from informed sources that the contract with Indonesia for the purchase of 11 Su-35 fighters has been delayed under the threat of Washington's possible use of restrictive measures against Jakarta under the Law on Countering US Enemies through Sanctions (CAATSA).

It is worth noting that for Russia, the problem is not only and not so much that Indonesia did not receive “guarantees of non-application of sanctions” from the USA, but that, according to sources, a certain part of the contract amount should have been covered by a Russian commercial loan.

However, there were no Russian banks willing to fall under secondary sanctions for a contract with Rosoboronexport. And, if domestic banks are afraid of falling under US sanctions, then what could be the claim against Indonesia?
  • Photos used: https://depositphotos.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Санкции в действии: контракт с Индонезией на покупку Су-35 отложен

США продолжают угрожать санкциями в отношении стран, закупающих российское вооружение и боевую технику. На кого-то эти угрозы действуют, на кого-то – нет. Это естественное и ожидаемое развитие событий. Но, самым неприятным нюансом происходящего является тот факт, что санкций боятся не только контрагенты, но и отдельные российские структуры, участие которых в таких сделках является важным.


Российским СМИ из осведомленных источников стало известно о том, что контракт с Индонезией на покупку 11 истребителей Су-35 отсрочен под угрозой возможного применения Вашингтоном в отношении Джакарты ограничительных мер на основании закона «О противодействии противникам США посредством санкций» (CAATSA).



Стоит особо отметить, что для России проблема не только и не столько в том, что Индонезия не получила у США «гарантий неприменения санкций», сколько в том, что по информации источников определенную часть суммы по контракту должен был покрыть российский коммерческий кредит.

Однако, среди российских банков не нашлось желающих попасть под вторичные санкции за контракт с Рособоронэкспортом. И, если отечественные банки боятся попасть под американские санкции, то какие могут быть претензии к Индонезии?
Использованы фотографии: https://depositphotos.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти