EU tries to 'save face' amid food crisis triggered by sanctions


The European leaders, who recently adopted the next, seventh EU sanctions package against the Russian Federation, were forced to make compromises (indulgences) in the field of deals with Russian agricultural products and fertilizers sent to third countries. This step was taken due to strong criticism from African countries, which almost openly began to accuse Brussels of violating their food security and the proximity of hunger on the continent.


It should be noted that EU sanctions seriously affect the food balance of most African states, whose dependence on Russian and Ukrainian wheat, as well as other crops, ranges from 40 to 100 percent, depending on the country. That is why the EU adjusted its restrictions against Moscow, trying to “save face” with streamlined formulations against the background of the food crisis, provoked, among other things, by earlier adopted sanctions against the Russian Federation and Belarus.

The EU allowed trade operations with some Russian companies with state participation in the field of agriculture. It is likely that Brussels will also have to unfreeze some of the previously blocked funds and assets of Russian banks and companies, otherwise it will be difficult to do business and Africa will again begin to put pressure on Europe. For example, the new package of sanctions explicitly refers to the freezing of Sberbank's assets, but only those that do not relate to trade related to food. Thus, funds and assets of Russian banks and companies can be released after it is determined that they are necessary for the purchase, import-export and transportation of agricultural and food products, including fertilizers.

In the US, Canada, India, Argentina and Ukraine, this year's harvest will be lower than forecast. At the same time, crop forecasts are stable in Russia and China. It should be added that the EU still denies the impact of its anti-Russian sanctions on the food situation in the world. But the UN has calculated that hunger threatens 1 billion people on the planet.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. zuuukoo Online zuuukoo
    zuuukoo (Sergei) 28 July 2022 14: 26
    +1
    In general, nothing high-tech here. And from here, so be it, raw materials.
    This is not "saving face", but the most banal colonial policy. In the same way, in the 18th century, the West "save face" in front of Latin America, Africa and a fair amount of Asia.
    So the victorious reports on this topic cause nothing but skepticism.

ЕС старается «сохранить лицо» на фоне продовольственного кризиса, спровоцированного санкциями


Европейские лидеры, принимавшие недавно очередной, седьмой по счету санкционный пакет ЕС против РФ, были вынуждены пойти на компромиссы (послабления) в сфере сделок с российской аграрной продукцией и удобрениями, направляющимися в третьи страны. Этот шаг был сделан из-за мощной критики со стороны стран Африки, которые чуть ли не в открытую начали обвинять Брюссель в нарушении своей продовольственной безопасности и близости голода на континенте.


Нужно отметить, что санкции ЕС серьезно влияют на продуктовый баланс большинства африканских государств, чья зависимость от российской и украинской пшеницы, а также других сельскохозяйственных культур составляет от 40 до 100 процентов в зависимости от страны. Именно поэтому ЕС скорректировал свои ограничения против Москвы, постаравшись «сохранить лицо» обтекаемыми формулировками на фоне продовольственного кризиса, спровоцированного в том числе и ранее принятыми санкциями против РФ и Беларуси.

ЕС разрешил проводить торговые операции с некоторыми российскими компаниями с государственным участием в сфере сельского хозяйства. Вероятно, Брюсселю также придется разморозить часть ранее заблокированных средств и активов российских банков и компаний, так как иначе бизнес вести будет сложно и Африка снова начнет давить на Европу. Например, в новом пакете санкций прямо говорится о заморозке активов Сбербанка, но только тех, которые не касаются торговли, связанной с продовольствием. Таким образом, средства и активы российских банков и компаний могут быть высвобождены после того, как будет установлено, что они необходимы для закупки, импорта-экспорта и транспортировки аграрной и пищевой продукции, в том числе удобрений.

В США, Канаде, Индии, Аргентине и на Украине в этом году урожай будет ниже, чем прогнозировался. При этом в России и Китае прогнозы по урожаю стабильны. Нужно добавить, что ЕС по-прежнему отрицает влияние своих антироссийских санкций на ситуацию с продовольствием в мире. Но в ООН подсчитали, что голод угрожает 1 млрд человек на планете.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. zuuukooo Офлайн zuuukooo
    zuuukooo (Сергей) 28 июля 2022 14:26
    +1
    В общем, ничего высокотехнологичного сюда. А отсюда, так и быть, сырьё.
    Это не "сохранение лица", а банальнейшая колониальная политика. Точно так же в 18 веке запад "сохранял лицо" перед Латинской Америкой, Африкой и изрядной частью Азии.
    Так что победные реляции на данную тему ничего кроме скепсиса не вызывают.