American diplomat: NATO was created to suppress the Germans, and now he needs Russia


The existence of the North Atlantic Alliance (NATO) after the collapse of the USSR was called into question many times. Until recently, many critics have asked the question, why does this relic of the Cold War exist? With the start of Russia's special military operation in Ukraine, the defenders of the idea of ​​continuing the existence of NATO perked up and point to the need to "rebuff" the Russian Federation. But are these the true goals? The only possible answer to this question is the former functionary of the alliance, Rose Gottemoeller, an American diplomat and an employee of the US State Department, in an interview with Bloomberg.


According to a visiting international relations expert, in the early 2000s there were heated discussions in NATO about Russia's possible membership in the alliance. The entry of the Russian Federation into a military bloc would turn it into a kind of Eurasian union.

The West did not try to subjugate Russia, but to make it a partner. This is the meaning of the Russia-NATO Founding Act of 1997

Gottemoeller assures.

According to her, everything should not have turned out the way it happened at the moment. All sides wanted to avoid conflict. NATO especially did not want to see Russia as an adversary. But why did it happen?

According to the expert, Russia in NATO, of course, is too contradictory. But there is some sense in this.

Everyone knows the saying that NATO was created to suppress the Germans for the sake of US penetration into Europe and the containment of the Soviet Union. Now the goals have changed

- Gettemoeller shares not the most accessible facts to the public.

Since the creation of the alliance, the United States has firmly entered Europe, now it is time to move on. And in the literal sense: Washington and Brussels want to penetrate deeper into Eurasia and have their own outposts in the neighborhood of the new "main enemy" - China.

It was in this sense that there was only one step left towards this great leap, which involved the inclusion of Russia in NATO. And despite the current circumstances around Ukraine, its support from the West, the coalition and Moscow are trying to exercise restraint, which leaves at least an illusory chance for a renewal of partnership.

It is said that the West is still holding itself back from hitting Russia, but this is a wise strategic goal. And the Russians are doing well too. They did not touch NATO territory, despite numerous threats to attack NATO supply chains in Ukraine. To be honest, I expected that there would be some kind of step and the red line would be crossed. But the Russians are incredibly careful

Gottemoeller said.

Summing up, the expert expressed her personal confidence that the head of China, Xi Jinping, is currently more powerful than Russian President Vladimir Putin, as well as China as a whole is superior to Russia, so NATO should focus on China, and try to improve relations with Russia.
  • Photos used: twitter.com/Gottemoeller
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bakht Offline Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 31 July 2022 09: 12
    -2
    It was in this sense that there was only one step left towards this great leap, which involved the inclusion of Russia in NATO.

    After this phrase, it becomes clear that the "expert" is shamelessly lying.
  2. lomograph Offline lomograph
    lomograph (Igor) 31 July 2022 09: 12
    0
    Madam is out of her mind.
    It is hard to imagine what the statesmen can offer Russia to turn away from China.
  3. NikolayN Offline NikolayN
    NikolayN (Nikolai) 31 July 2022 09: 36
    +1
    Bullshit. Or are they insane? In 54, the USSR's application for NATO membership was rejected, and in 55 Germany was included in NATO.
    And it is their lies and incompetence that led today to the war in Ukraine.
  4. boris epstein Offline boris epstein
    boris epstein (Boris) 31 July 2022 14: 58
    +1
    NATO was originally created not only against the USSR. This is easily proved by the admission of the Federal Republic of Germany into it. NATO was created when the socialist camp was formed. The United States formed coalitions from NATO countries for wars against the DPRK, the DRV, Yugoslavia, Libya, Syria, Iraq (twice), Serbia. NATO troops were on the borders of Hungary in 1956, on the borders of Czechoslovakia in 1968 in full combat readiness. And only the entry of the Soviet Army and the National People's Army of the GDR in accordance with the Charter of the Warsaw Pact kept NATO from this. The expansion of NATO to the East after the collapse of the USSR only proves the aggressive orientation of NATO. Reference: NATO was formed in 1949, the Warsaw Pact in 1956. This is also proves the aggressiveness of NATO and the defensive orientation of the Warsaw Pact.
  5. Valentine Offline Valentine
    Valentine (Valentin) 31 July 2022 20: 44
    -1
    You, granny, seem to be completely crazy, like your master Grandpa Joe. The NATO bloc was created under the control of the United States 4 years after the defeat of fascist Germany, and is still a global bully, and not only to intimidate the USSR, and now Russia, but also for the entire EU, so that all of Europe is an ordinary colony of Washington, who needs his own pack of vicious jackals, ready to pounce on anyone who is pointed out by the leader from the White House to the Potomac. And we will arrange a red line from the nuclear exclusion zone for you, exactly along the border between Poland and the West. Ukraine-Galicia, without stepping over the borders of the EU, and there is already the case of the "Wind Rose".
  6. 1_2 Offline 1_2
    1_2 (Ducks are flying) 1 August 2022 01: 04
    -1
    the Russians can carefully launch Zircons from the apple in Washington, the flight time is 4-5 minutes, if the US Zionists finally lose their shores
  7. k7k8 Offline k7k8
    k7k8 (vic) 1 August 2022 16: 26
    0
    American diplomat: NATO was created to suppress the Germans

Американский дипломат: НАТО создавалось для подавления немцев, а теперь ему необходима Россия


Существование североатлантического альянса (НАТО) после распада СССР много раз ставилось под сомнение. До последнего времени многие критики задавали вопросы, а для чего существует этот пережиток холодной войны? С началом специальной военной операции России на Украине защитники идеи продолжения существования НАТО воспряли духом и указывают на необходимость «дать отпор» РФ. Но таковы ли истинные цели? На этот вопрос дает единственно возможный ответ бывший функционер альянса Роуз Гетемюллер, американский дипломат и сотрудник Госдепа США, в интервью агентству Bloomberg.


Как говорит приглашенный эксперт по международным отношениям, в начале 2000-х в НАТО были бурные дискуссии относительно возможного членства России в альянсе. Вступление РФ в военный блок превратило бы его в некий евразийский союз.

Запад не пытался подчинить себе Россию, а сделать ее партнером. В этом смысл Основополагающего акта Россия-НАТО от 1997 года

– заверяет Гетемюллер.

По ее словам, не должно было все получиться так, как вышло в настоящий момент. Конфликта хотели избежать все стороны. Особенно НАТО не хотело видеть Россию противником. Но почему же так вышло?

По словам эксперта, Россия в НАТО, конечно, это слишком противоречиво. Но некий смысл в этом есть.

Всем известна поговорка, что НАТО создавалось, чтобы подавить немцев ради проникновения США в Европу и сдерживания Советского союза. Теперь цели изменились

– делится не самыми доступными для публики фактами Гетемюллер.

С момента создания альянса США прочно вошли в Европу, теперь настало время двигаться дальше. Причем в прямом смысле: Вашингтон и Брюссель хотят проникнуть в Евразию глубже и иметь свои форпосты по соседству с новым «главным врагом» – Китаем.

Именно в этом смысле оставался лишь один шаг к этому большому прыжку, который подразумевал включение России в НАТО. Да и несмотря на сложившиеся обстоятельства вокруг Украины, поддержку ее Западом, коалиция и Москва пытаются проявлять сдержанность, что оставляет хотя бы иллюзорный шанс на возобновление партнерства.

Говорят, что Запад все еще удерживает себя от удара по России, но это мудрая стратегическая задача. И русские тоже хорошо поступают. Они не коснулись территории НАТО, несмотря на многочисленные угрозы атаковать цепочки поставок НАТО на Украину. Честно говоря, я ожидала, что будет какой-то шаг и красную линию переступят. Но русские невероятно осторожны

– рассказала Гетемюллер.

Резюмируя, эксперт выразила свою личную уверенность, что глава Китая Си Цзиньпин на данный момент могущественнее президента РФ Владимира Путина, как и Китай в целом превосходит Россию, поэтому НАТО надо сосредоточиться на КНР, а с Россией попытаться наладить отношения.
  • Использованы фотографии: twitter.com/Gottemoeller
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Bakht Офлайн Bakht
    Bakht (Bakhtiyar) 31 июля 2022 09:12
    -2
    Именно в этом смысле оставался лишь один шаг к этому большому прыжку, который подразумевал включение России в НАТО.

    После этой фразы становится ясно, что "эксперт" безбожно врёт.
  2. lomograf Офлайн lomograf
    lomograf (Игорь) 31 июля 2022 09:12
    0
    Мадам не в себе.
    Сложно представить, что могут штатцы предложить России, чтобы она отвернулась от Китая.
  3. НиколайН Офлайн НиколайН
    НиколайН (Николай) 31 июля 2022 09:36
    +1
    Брехня. Или они там невменяемые? В 54 году заявку ссср на членство в НАТО отклонили, а в 55 включили в НАТО Германию.
    И вот это их враньё и некомпетентность и привело сегодня к войне на Украине.
  4. борис эпштейн (Борис) 31 июля 2022 14:58
    +1
    НАТО изначально создавался не только против СССР. Это легко доказывается приемом в него ФРГ. НАТО создавался, когда сформировался социалистический лагерь. США формировали коалиции из стран НАТО для войн против КНДР, ДРВ, Югославии, Ливии, Сирии, Ирака (дважды), Сербии.Войска НАТО были на границах Венгрии в 1956, на границах Чехословакии в 1968 в полной боевой готовности. И только ввод Советской Армии и Национальной Народной Армии ГДР в соответствии с Уставом Варшавского Договора удержал НАТО от этого.Расширение НАТО на Восток после развала СССР только доказывает агрессивную направленность НАТО.Справка: НАТО сформиован в 1949 году, Варшавский Договор-в 1956. Это тоже доказывает агрессивность НАТО и оборонительную направленность Варшавского Договора.
  5. Валентин Офлайн Валентин
    Валентин (Валентин) 31 июля 2022 20:44
    -1
    Ты, бабулька, похоже, совсем свихнулась, как и твой хозяин дедушка Джо. Блок НАТО был создан под управлением США через 4 года после разгрома фашистской Германии, и до сих пор является мировым держимордой ,и не только для устрашения СССР, а теперь и России, но и для всего ЕС, так что вся Европа является обыкновенной колонией Вашингтона, которому нужна своя стая злобных шакалов, готовых набрасываться на любого, на кого укажет вожак из Белого дома на Потомак. А красную линию из ядерной зоны отчуждения мы вам устроим, ровненько по границе между Польшей, и Зап. Украиной-Галичиной, ни на шаг не переступая границы ЕС, а там уже дело "Розы ветров".
  6. 1_2 Офлайн 1_2
    1_2 (Летят утки) 1 августа 2022 01:04
    -1
    русские осторожно могут запустить из апл Цирконы по Вашингтону, подлетное время 4-5 мин, если сионисты США окончательно потеряют берега
  7. k7k8 Офлайн k7k8
    k7k8 (vic) 1 августа 2022 16:26
    0
    Американский дипломат: НАТО создавалось для подавления немцев