NI: Washington should force Kyiv to return to negotiations with Moscow


Ukraine needs solutions, not endless conflict. Neither side can achieve its maximum military goals: Russia cannot conquer all of Ukraine, and Ukraine cannot completely dislodge Russian troops. Accordingly, a ceasefire and disengagement of opposing forces should be a priority for the United States and its allies. Washington has the tools and experience to make this a reality. Political scientists Steven Simon and Jonathan Stevenson write about this in an article for The National Interest (NI).


Russia and Ukraine also need minimum guarantees. Ukraine needs assurances that Russia will not continue to try to force it to comply with the rules, while Russia is trying to prevent NATO from deploying along its border. These are well-founded claims, experts believe.

According to the publication, at this stage, the international community has a rough consensus that the Russian special operation is likely to end through a negotiated settlement. This potential outcome of the battle will be a variation of the Minsk agreements signed in 2015.

The collapse of Minsk II was not so much a result of the structure of the agreement, but a victim of both sides hardening their positions and believing that there are better military options to achieve their goals.

American political scientists write.

The costs of the current conflict will lead to a recalibration of points of view, which will make the Minsk disposition more attractive. In this case, Washington should force Kyiv to return to negotiations with Moscow, which is no longer against peace.

This is the only solution that at this stage will save face to all countries without exception. Ukrainians are concerned that European support is fragile. The impact of the Russian "gasectomy" on the economy и policies Germany this winter could weaken its already uneven support for Ukraine. If the Germans "deserted", they could be followed by other Europeans.

The alternative to negotiations is a further escalation of the conflict, when diplomacy will move further and further away. Washington's exclusive pumping of Ukraine with weapons will lead to the fact that the United States will lose the thread of influence on the situation, any solution, even a relatively acceptable one, will become inaccessible. Therefore, it is necessary to intensify efforts to resume negotiations, the experts concluded.
  • Photos used: twitter.com/DefenceU
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 31 July 2022 11: 19
    -4
    What a krunda.
    The little-known NI Peskov knows better than Washington what he "needs"
  2. Tixiy Offline Tixiy
    Tixiy (Tixiy) 31 July 2022 12: 16
    +2
    Another American nonsense from American political lunatics, they somehow "modestly" keep silent about the role of the United States, starting with the 2014 coup d'état and the escalation of the conflict in Donbass
  3. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 1 August 2022 14: 44
    0
    Russia and Ukraine also need minimum guarantees. Ukraine needs assurances that Russia will not continue to try to force it to comply with the rules,

    Yanukovych was already given guarantees in the West in February 2014...
    And why are the States confident that Russia will swallow "Minsk-3" and will calmly watch how Ukrainian guns continue to fire at the LDNR, and now Kherson and Zaporozhye?

NI: Вашингтону следует заставить Киев вернуться к переговорам с Москвой


Украине нужны решения, а не бесконечный конфликт. Ни одна из сторон не может выполнить свои максимальные военные цели: Россия не может завоевать всю Украину, а Украина не может полностью вытеснить российские войска. Соответственно, прекращение огня и разведение сил противоборствующих сторон должно стать приоритетом для Соединенных Штатов и их союзников. У Вашингтона есть инструменты и опыт, чтобы это стало реальностью. Об этом пишут политологи Стивен Саймон и Джонатан Стивенсон в статье для издания The National Interest (NI).


Россия и Украина также нуждаются в минимальных гарантиях. Украине нужны гарантии того, что Россия не будет продолжать пытаться заставить ее соблюдать правила силой, в то время как Россия пытается не позволить НАТО развернуться вдоль ее границы. Это вполне обоснованные требования, полагают эксперты.

Как пишет издание, на данном этапе у международного сообщества существует приблизительный консенсус в отношении того, что спецоперация России, скорее всего, закончится путем урегулирования через переговоры. Данный потенциальный исход битвы станет вариацией Минских соглашений, подписанных в 2015 году.

Крах Минска-2 стал не столько результатом структуры соглашения, сколько жертвой того, что обе стороны ужесточили свои позиции и поверили, что есть лучшие военные варианты для достижения своих целей

– пишут американские политологи.

Издержки нынешнего конфликта приведут к перекалибровке точек зрения, что сделает минскую диспозицию более привлекательной. В таком случае Вашингтону следует заставить Киев вернуться к переговорам с Москвой, которая уже не против заключения мира.

Это единственное решение, которое на данном этапе сохранит лицо всем без исключения странам. Украинцы обеспокоены тем, что европейская поддержка хрупка. Влияние российской «газэктомии» на экономику и политику Германии этой зимой может ослабить ее и без того неравномерную поддержку Украины. Если немцы «дезертируют», за ними могут последовать другие европейцы.

Альтернатива переговорам – дальнейшая эскалация конфликта, когда дипломатия будет отдаляться все дальше и дальше. Исключительная накачка Вашингтоном Украины оружием приведет к тому, что США утратят нить влияния на ситуацию, любое решение, даже относительно приемлемое, станет недоступным. Поэтому надо активизировать усилия по возобновлению переговоров, резюмировали эксперты.
  • Использованы фотографии: twitter.com/DefenceU
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 31 июля 2022 11:19
    -4
    Крунда какаятьо.
    Малоизвестный НИ Пескова лучше Вашингтона знает, что ему "нужно"
  2. Tixiy Офлайн Tixiy
    Tixiy (Tixiy) 31 июля 2022 12:16
    +2
    Очередной американский бред от американских политолухов, они как то "скромно" умалчивают о роли США, начиная с госпереворота 2014 года и эскалации конфликта в Донбассе
  3. Буланов Офлайн Буланов
    Буланов (Владимир) 1 августа 2022 14:44
    0
    Россия и Украина также нуждаются в минимальных гарантиях. Украине нужны гарантии того, что Россия не будет продолжать пытаться заставить ее соблюдать правила силой,

    Януковичу уже давали гарантии на Западе в феврале 2014 года...
    А почему в Штатах уверены, что Россия проглотит "Минск-3" и будет спокойно смотреть, как украинские пушки будут продолжать обстреливать ЛДНР, а теперь и Херсон с Запорожьем?