Rise in price or disappear from the shelves: media about a new round of shortages


The food crisis in certain regions of the world is gradually gaining momentum, attracting the attention of the press. In addition to the shortage of grain, meat and dairy products, problems with growing vegetables and fruits are beginning to add.


It is assumed that they will completely disappear from the shelves only temporarily and not everywhere, but this is possible in some countries and regions. However, the widespread rise in prices is the new reality. And it applies to both developed and developing countries.

The reasons for the impending shortage are varied. And in addition to a number of common reasons - drought, rise in prices for fertilizers, electricity, fuels and lubricants and spare parts for equipment, there are also specific difficulties that are specific to individual countries.

If Europe has lost cheap Ukrainian seasonal workers, who this year came under mobilization, then in the United States, for example, there are difficulties with more qualified personnel.

In particular, the resource AgNet West notes that problems with growing and harvesting various crops, in particular, are associated with a shortage of agricultural machinery specialists and teachers who should train these same specialists.

Site Growing Produce also notes that agriculture in the United States is uneconomical and wasteful beyond measure. Significant amounts of water, fertilizers and other resources are wasted because part of the produce - fruits and vegetables - simply ends up in the fields. And this at a time when many Americans are in need.

The topic of problems with the supply of vegetables was also touched upon by the corporation's website ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation). According to him, one of Western Australia's largest vegetable growers claims that rising production costs mean that buyers have to pay high prices for vegetables or purchase imported frozen products.

Fertilizer prices skyrocketed by 100%, fuel by 70%, labor costs skyrocketed.

- explains the resource the cause of the crisis with vegetables.

Winter vegetable crops in key agricultural regions of Queensland and New South Wales were destroyed by floods in May and June, resulting in a shortage of some items on store shelves.

The American weekly magazine paid attention to the topic of the shortage of vegetables and fruits. Barron's, who noted that prices began to increase even before the Ukrainian conflict, and the main factors here are the climate and the impact of the pandemic.
  • Photos used: USDA
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Pat Rick Offline Pat Rick
    Pat Rick 8 August 2022 16: 03
    +2
    All nonsense. Poland, USA, Queensland.
    In Russia, there is a "borsch set": potatoes, carrots, beets, cabbage, onions. It would be more relevant to compare its cost over the years in the Central Federal District, not even in everything, but to take Kaluga, Tver, Yaroslavl, Moscow, Kostroma and Tula, autumn-spring, over the past 3-5 years. And there would be a lot of wonderful discoveries. For example, I remember how in March 1 kg of white cabbage cost 104.6 rubles. Was it a shortage, shortage or crisis? Drought or labor shortage?
    And every Queensland there is purple and parallel.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 8 August 2022 18: 04
    +1
    Yes, panic, nightmare, horror, but specific prices are not given from any source ...
    Yuyloby actually - would lead
  3. Bloshka Offline Bloshka
    Bloshka (Konstantin) 8 August 2022 18: 06
    -1
    Quote from Pat-Rick
    I remember how in March 1 kg of white cabbage cost 104.6 rubles. Was it a shortage, shortage or crisis? Drought or labor shortage?

    It was not the season.
    1. Pat Rick Offline Pat Rick
      Pat Rick 8 August 2022 18: 59
      +1
      Did not guess.
      In May, it was also "off season", when it fell in price to 60 rubles per kg.

Подорожают или пропадут с прилавков: СМИ о новом витке дефицита


Продовольственный кризис в отдельных регионах мира постепенно набирает обороты, привлекая внимание прессы. К нехватке зерновых, мясных и молочных изделий начинают прибавляться проблемы с выращиванием овощей и фруктов.


Предполагается, что полностью с прилавков они пропадут лишь временно и не везде, но в отдельных странах и регионах возможно и такое. Однако повсеместное подорожание – это новая реальность. Причём касается она и развитых стран, и развивающихся.

Причины надвигающего дефицита разнообразны. И помимо ряда общих причин – засухи, подорожания удобрений, электроэнергии, горюче-смазочных материалов и запчастей для техники, наличествуют и специфические трудности, характерные именно для отдельных стран.

Если Европа потеряла дешёвых украинских сезонных работников, которые в этом году, попали под мобилизацию, то в Соединённых Штатах, например, трудности с более квалифицированным персоналом.

В частности, ресурс AgNet West отмечает, что проблемы с выращиванием и сбором различных культур, в частности, связаны с дефицитом специалистов по сельхозтехнике и преподавателей, которые этих самых специалистов должны подготавливать.

Сайт Growing Produce также отмечает, что сельское хозяйство в США неэкономично и расточительно сверх всякой меры. Значительное количество воды, удобрений и прочих ресурсов тратится впустую, потому что часть продукции – овощей и фруктов – просто остаётся на полях. И это в то время, как многие американцы находятся в нужде.

Темы проблем с поставками овощей коснулся и сайт корпорации ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation). Согласно его сведениям, один из крупнейших производителей овощей в Западной Австралии утверждает, что растущие производственные затраты означают, что покупателям приходится платить высокие цены за овощи или приобретать импортную замороженную продукцию.

Стоимость удобрений взлетела на 100%, топлива – на 70%, цена рабочей силы так и вовсе подскочила до небес

– разъясняет ресурс причину кризиса с овощами.

Посевы озимых овощей в ключевых сельскохозяйственных регионах Квинсленда и Нового Южного Уэльса были уничтожены наводнениями в мае и июне, что привело к нехватке некоторых наименований на прилавках магазинов.

Теме дефицита овощей и фруктов уделил внимание американский еженедельный журнал Barron's, который отметил, что цены начали прибавлять ещё до украинского конфликта и главные факторы тут – климат и влияние пандемии.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минсельхоз США
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Pat-Rick Офлайн Pat-Rick
    Pat-Rick 8 августа 2022 16:03
    +2
    Ерунда всё. Польша, США, Квинслэнд.
    В России есть "борщевой набор": картошка-моркошка-свекла-капуста-лук. Было бы более актуально сравнить его стоимость по годам в Центральном Федеральном округе, даже не во всем, а взять Калужскую, Тверскую, Ярославскую, Московскую, Костромскую и Тульскую, осень-весна, за последние 3-5 лет. И было бы очень много при этом открытий чудных. Я, например, припоминаю, как в марте 1 кг белокочанной капусты стоил 104.6 руб. Это была нехватка, дефицит или кризис? Засуха или нехватка рабочих рук?
    А всякий там Квинслэнд - фиолетово и параллельно.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 8 августа 2022 18:04
    +1
    Да, паника, кошмар, ужас, но ни от одного исходника конкретные цены не приводят...
    Юылобы на самом деле - привели бы
  3. Bloshka Офлайн Bloshka
    Bloshka (Константин) 8 августа 2022 18:06
    -1
    Цитата: Pat-Rick
    Я припоминаю, как в марте 1 кг белокочанной капусты стоил 104.6 руб. Это была нехватка, дефицит или кризис? Засуха или нехватка рабочих рук?

    Это был не сезон.
    1. Pat-Rick Офлайн Pat-Rick
      Pat-Rick 8 августа 2022 18:59
      +1
      Не угадал.
      В мае тоже был "не сезон", когда она подешевела до 60 руб за кг.