Libya went with the "Russian card"

Russian officials and official media have denied information from the British tabloid The Sun, which published an article on October 8, “Putin Troops in Libya,” which spoke about the deployment of Russian missile systems, special forces units and units of the private military company (PMC) Wagner in Tobruk and Benghazi - Libyan cities in the territory controlled by the Libyan National Army (LNA).



The Sun claimed that in this way Russia seeks to control illegal immigration flows to Europe from Libyan territory in order to create a new lever of pressure on the West.

The information of the British tabloid was denied by the leaders of the relevant profile committees in the State Duma and the Federation Council, as well as the Russian diplomat, the head of the Russian contact group on the intra-Libyan settlement Lev Dengov.

Money, in particular, stated:

The facts published in the British newspaper Sun are not true. To date, the leadership of our country has formed a state policy with regard to Libya; there are specific tasks associated with recovery economic ties between Russia and Libya; the country's leadership has set the task of interacting with all parties to the Libyan conflict.


This is not the first time we are faced with a situation where the fact of the interaction of the Russian Federation with one of the actors in Libya is trying to present as a support policy for one side. Information that Russia supports one of the parties to the conflict is not true

- Lev Dengov also noted.

However, as you know, one should not fully trust the statements of diplomats and parliamentarians. Their statements often contain only part of the truth, convenient for the current moment. Let me remind you of the classic story of one of the British prime ministers of the XNUMXth century, who, upon assuming office, refused to read the text of the agreement on the Mediterranean Entente with Austria-Hungary in order to be able to deny the existence of such a document if asked about it.

Note that the Russian news agency RBC, for its part, today managed to obtain information about Russian activity in Libya.

The presence of the Russian military in Libya, RBC was confirmed by a source close to the Russian Defense Ministry. The Russian contingent in this country is also represented by elite airborne units transported to the eastern region from units in the Moscow region, he said, adding that the transfer began in recent months.

A source close to the Libyan authorities confirmed RBC Russia's military activity in the region. RBC sources indicated that Russia's national ally in Libya is the national army led by Haftar

- reports the RBC agency.

Note that the Libyan People’s Army has long been inviting Russia to play the same role in Libya as in Syria.

For example, in February 2018, the same Lev Dengov declared the following:

He [Marshal Khalifa Haftar] always turns to us for military help, he always addresses issues of armament, training in military fields


In August 2018, in an interview with RIA News LNA spokesman Brigadier General Ahmed al-Mismari spoke even more frankly:

The Libyan people are aware that in this very difficult and sensitive period, they need a strong ally. And even if we thought about choosing another strategic ally, not Russia, it would still be practically impossible in the near future, as the battles continue, and Russian weapons need Russians.


Ahmed al-Mismari said that Libya needs Russia to tackle terrorism, following the example of a similar operation in Syria, and also said that Russia needs to remove foreign players from the Libyan political scene:

The Libyan problem also needs intervention from Russia and President Putin personally, the removal of foreign players from the Libyan arena. For example, Turkey, Qatar, directly - Italy. Russian diplomacy has an important role to play here.


The information presented by The Sun looks pretty logical. Indeed, why not Russia try to control the flow of illegal migrants to Europe? For hybrid operations, in the format of which the confrontation between Russia and the West is being carried out today, this is a good and indeed alarming move for the EU.

In the end, we recall that many Russian military tend to perceive the connection between the US operation in Afghanistan and the US and NATO aggression against Yugoslavia in that in this way the US Air Force was able to establish control over the air bases needed to carry out drug trafficking on military transport aircraft USA.

Compared to this example, the control of illegal migrants seems to be quite respectable motivation.

We also note that Lev Dengov said that representatives of Khalifa Haftar constantly seek military assistance and training. The key word is “constantly”, that is, apparently, in some form his requests were satisfied.

Moreover, there is nothing extremely complicated in organizing the supply of components, and possibly weapons, from the world "black market", as well as providing instructors and technical specialists who are not on active duty in Russia.

The expansion of the zone of influence in Libya is generally beneficial to Russia and represents a logical step after the successful development of the operation in Syria. At the same time, it is currently unprofitable for Moscow to announce its plans in Libya, although, in terms of information pressure, reports on the readiness of the LNA to invite Russia to cooperate with it appear in the Russian media with a certain regularity.

Note that one of the sources of RBC is defined as "close to the Libyan authorities." If some limited military activity of Russia in Libya has begun, but judging by the information obtained by RBC, this is so, then it is beneficial for the Libyan People’s Army to publicize this in order to eventually draw Russia into a situation where, for reasons of prestige, it will be more rational to escalate hybrid operations before the operation of the air forces, similar to the operation in Syria, rather than retreat before the pressure of the West.

To the West, the publication of military, or hybrid contacts between Russia and Marshal Khalifa Haftar, is also currently beneficial, as this will form another idea of ​​the aggressive actions of Russia, and the Libyan People’s Army can be quite calmly declared the target of future missile attacks by the United States and NATO.

Meanwhile, in the long term, the deployment of an official military operation in Libya is also useful for the Kremlin, since there is no reason to count on a decrease in the degree of tension and anti-Russian activity of the West, and the threat of another sensitive point is a good argument for Russian opponents who can understand only one language - language of military force.

Another question is whether this situation is beneficial to Russia at the moment. It seems that for a few more months or six months it would be desirable for Moscow to keep the situation in limbo in order to deploy the necessary defensive infrastructure in Benghazi and Tobruk.
Ad
The publication is looking for authors in the news and analytical departments. Requirements for applicants: literacy, responsibility, efficiency, inexhaustible creative energy, experience in copywriting or journalism, the ability to quickly analyze text and check facts, write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. The work is paid. Contact: [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Ливия пошла с «российской карты»

Российские официальные лица и официозные СМИ опровергли информацию британского таблоида The Sun, опубликовавшего 8 октября статью «Putin Troops in Libya», в которой шла речь о развертывании российских ракетных комплексов, групп спецназа и подразделений частной военной компании (ЧВК) «Вагнер» в Тобруке и Бенгази – ливийских городах на территории, контролируемой Ливийской национальной армией (ЛНА).


В публикации The Sun утверждалось, что таким образом Россия стремится поставить под свой контроль нелегальные иммиграционные потоки в Европу с территории Ливии, в целях создания нового рычага давления на Запад.



Информацию британского таблоида опровергли руководители соответствующих профильных комитетов в Государственной думе и Совете Федерации, а также российский дипломат, глава российской контактной группы по внутриливийскому урегулированию Лев Деньгов.

Деньгов, в частности, заявил:

Опубликованные в британской газете Sun факты не соответствует действительности. На сегодняшний день руководством нашей страны сформирована государственная политика в отношении Ливии; существуют конкретные задачи, связанные с восстановлением экономических связей между Россией и Ливией; руководством страны поставлена задача взаимодействовать со всеми сторонами ливийского конфликта.


Не в первый раз встречаемся с ситуацией, когда факт взаимодействия Российской Федерации с одним из акторов в Ливии пытаются представить, как политику поддержки одной стороны. Информация о том, что Россия поддерживает одну из сторон конфликта, не соответствует действительности

– отметил также Лев Деньгов.

Впрочем, как известно, полностью доверять высказываниям дипломатов и парламентариев не следует. Их высказывания зачастую содержат лишь часть правды, удобную для текущего момента. Напомню классическую историю об одном из британских премьеров XIX века, который, вступив в должность, отказался прочесть текст соглашения о Средиземноморской Антанте с Австро-Венгрией, с тем, чтобы иметь возможность отрицать факт существования такого документа, если его об этом спросят.

Заметим что российскому информационному агентству РБК, со своей стороны, сегодня удалось получить сведения о российской активности в Ливии.

Присутствие российских военных в Ливии РБК подтвердил источник, близкий к Минобороны РФ. Российский контингент в этой стране представлен в том числе элитными десантными подразделениями, переправленными в восточную область из частей в Подмосковье, указал он, добавив, что переброска началась в последние месяцы.

Близкий к ливийским властям источник подтвердил РБК военную активность России в регионе. Источники РБК указали, что союзником России в Ливии выступает национальная армия во главе с Хафтаром

– сообщает агентство РБК.

Заметим, что Ливийская народная армия давно уже приглашает Россию сыграть в Ливии ту же роль, что и в Сирии.

Например, в феврале 2018 года тот же Лев Деньгов заявил следующее:

Он [маршал Халифа Хафтар] всегда обращается к нам за военной помощью, он всегда обращается с вопросами вооружения, обучения в военных сферах


В августе 2018 года в интервью РИА Новости официальный представитель ЛНА бригадный генерал Ахмед аль-Мисмари высказался ещё более откровенно:

Ливийский народ осознает, что в этот очень сложный и чувствительный период он нуждается в сильном союзнике. И даже если бы мы подумали о выборе другого стратегического союзника, не России, то это все равно было бы практически невозможно в ближайшем будущем, так как бои продолжаются, а российское оружие нуждается в русских.


Ахмед аль-Мисмари сообщил, что Ливия нуждается в России в решении задач по борьбе с терроризмом, по примеру аналогичной операции в Сирии, а также заявил, что России нужно удалить зарубежных игроков с ливийской политической сцены:

Ливийская проблема также нуждается во вмешательстве со стороны России и лично президента Путина, удалении зарубежных игроков с ливийской арены. Например, Турции, Катара, непосредственно — Италии. Российская дипломатия должна играть здесь важную роль.


Информация, излагаемая The Sun, выглядит довольно логично. Действительно, почему бы России не попытаться контролировать потоки нелегальных мигрантов в Европу? Для гибридных операций, в формате которых сегодня осуществляется противоборство России и Запада, это неплохой, и в самом деле тревожный для ЕС ход.

В конце концов, напомним, что многие российские военные склонны усматривать связь между операцией США в Афганистане и агрессией США и НАТО против Югославии в том, что таким образом ВВС США получили возможность установить контроль над авиабазами, необходимыми для осуществления наркотрафика на военно-транспортных самолетах ВВС США.

Контроль над нелегальными мигрантами в сравнении с этим примером выглядит вполне добропорядочной мотивацией.

Отметим также, что Лев Деньгов говорил, что представители Халифы Хафтара постоянно обращаются за военной помощью и обучением. Ключевое слово – «постоянно», то есть, видимо, в каком-то виде его запросы удовлетворялись.

Тем более что нет ничего чрезвычайно сложного в том, чтобы организовать поставки комплектующих, и возможно, вооружений, с мирового «чёрного рынка», а также предоставить инструкторов и технических специалистов, не находящихся на действительной военной службе в России.

Расширение зоны влияния в Ливии в целом выгодно России и представляет собой логичный шаг после успешного развития операции в Сирии. В то же время Москве в настоящий момент невыгодно объявлять о своих планах в Ливии, хотя, в плане информационного давления, сообщения о готовности ЛНА пригласить Россию к себе и сотрудничать с ней, появляются в российских СМИ с определенной регулярностью.

Заметим, что один из источников РБК определен как «близкий к ливийским властям». Если какая-то ограниченная военная активность России в Ливии начата, а, судя по информации, добытой РБК, это так, то Ливийской народной армии выгодно аккуратно предать это огласке, дабы со временем втянуть Россию в ситуацию, когда по соображениям престижа будет рациональнее эскалировать гибридные операции до операции ВКС, сходной с операцией в Сирии, нежели отступить перед давлением Запада.

Западу огласка военных, или гибридных контактов России с маршалом Халифой Хафтаром, также на текущий момент выгодна, так как таким образом будет сформировано ещё одно представление об агрессивных действиях России, а Ливийская народная армия может быть совершенно спокойно объявлена целью грядущих ракетных атак США и НАТО.

Между тем, в долгосрочном плане, развертывание официальной военной операции в Ливии полезно и Кремлю, так как на снижение градуса напряженности и антироссийской активности Запада рассчитывать не приходится, а угроза ещё одной чувствительной точке – неплохой аргумент для оппонентов России, способных понимать только один язык – язык военной силы.

Другой вопрос, выгодна ли эта ситуация России в настоящий момент. Как представляется, в течение ещё нескольких месяцев-полугода Москве было бы желательным сохранить ситуацию в подвешенном состоянии, чтобы развернуть в Бенгази и Тобруке необходимую оборонительную инфраструктуру.
Автор: Николай Кузяев
Использованы фотографии: http://manjuriansich.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти