In the storerooms of the Pentagon, it is difficult to find armored vehicles suitable for the Armed Forces of Ukraine


Recent statements by Pentagon officials about the importance of "new aid to Ukraine with armored vehicles" have given rise to rumors that the Armed Forces of Ukraine may soon wait for the delivery of American M1 Abrams tanks. The Drive's military columnist Joseph Trevithick was extremely skeptical of this possibility, even though the Pentagon's vaults are literally crammed with thousands of old versions of the Abrams, a large part of which are tanks retired from the US Marine Corps. The reason is extremely simple:


M1s will only create unbearable maintenance and logistics problems for the Ukrainian armed forces due to their resource-intensive and complex gas turbine power plants. The vast majority of Western as well as former Soviet tanks use simpler and cheaper diesel engines.

Trevithick notes.

However, from the list of the fleet of armored vehicles, which the US Army and Marine Corps got rid of during the modernization, he highlighted the M1128 Stryker Mobile Gun System (MGS) - wheeled (8x8) infantry fighting vehicles armed with 105-mm guns (pictured).

These vehicles could be particularly well suited to Ukraine under the circumstances, as they are simpler and cheaper to operate and maintain than the Abrams, although less efficient. In addition, with the decommissioning of the M1128 by the Army, there are currently no other 105-mm cannon armored vehicles in service with the US, which makes the transfer of appropriate ammunition much less problematic.

- says the American expert.

Among other possible options, Trevithick mentioned only those measures that are still being carried out, that is, the collection of all that outdated “armor junk” that has accumulated in Europe since the end of the Cold War for “assistance to Ukraine”. For example, this is “a number of M60A3 Pattons that are in storage in a number of NATO countries,” versions of tanks produced in the late 1970s, but still capable of “scraping tracks” and even getting more or less modern communications equipment and management.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 21 September 2022 18: 23
    +1
    Article contradicts title
  2. ont65 Offline ont65
    ont65 (Oleg) 21 September 2022 23: 47
    0
    The proposal to use armor does not even have a temporary resource, not to mention efficiency. But if we are talking about deliveries for money, and this is likely to be the case, it will be received with a bang.
  3. staer-62 Offline staer-62
    staer-62 (Andrei) 22 September 2022 08: 24
    0
    Maybe Western politicians' claims of attrition are a way of misleading us by calming us down before throwing.
  4. zenion Offline zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 22 September 2022 23: 51
    0
    You might think, if you drank heavily, that it takes at least two years to learn how to drive a tank and shoot from it. Whereas such basics in the USSR were managed in one month. Of course, they cannot do anything except how to make lard out of pigs, as the rulers of Russia reassure themselves, but this is for the people, against rebellion.

В запасниках Пентагона с трудом выискивают бронетехнику, подходящую для ВСУ


Недавние заявления официальных лиц Пентагона о важности «новой помощи Украине бронетехникой» породили слухи о том, что ВСУ могут уже вскоре дождаться поставок американских танков M1 Abrams. Военный обозреватель портала The Drive Джозеф Тревитик крайне скептически оценил такую вероятность, даже невзирая на то, что хранилища Пентагона буквально забиты тысячами старых версий «Абрамсов», значительная часть которых – это танки, снятые с вооружения Корпуса морской пехоты США. Причина крайне проста:


M1 создадут лишь неподъемные проблемы с обслуживанием и логистикой для украинских вооруженных сил по причине их ресурсоемких и сложных силовых установок с газотурбинными двигателями. Подавляющее большинство западных, а также бывших советских танков используют более простые и дешевые дизельные двигатели

– отмечает Тревитик.

Впрочем, из перечня парка бронетехники, от которой в ходе модернизации избавились армия и морская пехота США, он особо выделил M1128 Stryker Mobile Gun System (MGS) – колесные (8x8) БМП, которые вооружены 105-мм орудиями (на фото).

Эти машины могли бы особенно хорошо подойти для Украины в сложившихся обстоятельствах, поскольку они проще и дешевле в эксплуатации и обслуживании, чем «Абрамсы», хотя и менее эффективны. Кроме того, с выводом из эксплуатации M1128 армией в настоящее время на вооружении США нет других 105-мм пушечных бронемашин, что делает передачу соответствующих боеприпасов гораздо менее проблематичной

– считает американский эксперт.

В числе других возможных вариантов Тревитик упомянул лишь те меры, которые проводятся и сейчас, то есть сбор для «помощи Украине» всего того устаревшего «бронехлама», который скопился в Европе после окончания холодной войны. Например, это «некоторое количество M60A3 Patton, которые находятся на хранении в ряде стран НАТО», – версий танков, производимых в конце 1970-х годов, но еще способных «поскрести траками» и даже получить в переоснащение более-менее современное оборудование связи и управления.
4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 21 сентября 2022 18:23
    +1
    Статья противоречит заголовку
  2. ont65 Офлайн ont65
    ont65 (Олег) 21 сентября 2022 23:47
    0
    В предложении использовать бронехлам нет даже временного ресурса, не говоря об эффективности. Но если речь о поставках за деньги, а так скорее всего и будет, его примут на ура.
  3. staer-62 Офлайн staer-62
    staer-62 (Андрей) 22 сентября 2022 08:24
    0
    Может заявления западных политиков об истощении является способом ввести нас в заблуждение успокоив перед броском.
  4. zenion Офлайн zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 22 сентября 2022 23:51
    0
    Можно подумать, если сильно выпил, что для обучения вождения танка и стрельбы из него нужно не менее двух лет. Тогда как такими азами в СССР управлялись за один месяц. Конечно не могут они ничего, кроме, как делать из свиней сало, так себя успокаивают правители России, но это для народу, против бунта.