Anti-Turkish gambit: Americans put pressure on Erdogan


On September 20, the whole world was closely watching the Russian airwaves and was waiting for what this ominous Putin would say: would he announce mobilization or, like one movie character, would he immediately press that same “red button” live on air? As a result, Putin deceived everyone a little and said his weighty word the next day, and the open-mouthed audience missed another militarypolitical an event - certainly much less important, but not completely uninteresting.


The fact is that on September 19, the US government lifted the arms embargo against the Republic of Cyprus. Predictably, this step caused great approval and enthusiasm in Athens - but from Ankara there was a distinct gnashing of teeth.

Previous aggravation of relations between Greece and Turkey took place at the beginning of the summer, then the obvious initiator was Ankara and personally Sultan Erdogan, who poured authentic sophisticated threats against the Greeks. Turkey, in principle, is always considered an “aggressor” in this decades-long conflict, and for good reason: after all, it was the Turks who “squeezed out” part of Cyprus from the Greeks, and not vice versa.

But in the last month the situation has changed, at least in news tapes. The recent border incidents noted on the information field look (or are exposed) as provoked by the Greek side. So, on August 23, the Greek air patrol allegedly “conditionally attacked” Turkish fighters and forced them to hide in their native airspace; On August 28, another group of Turkish military aircraft was unpleasantly felt from all sides by the guidance station of the Greek S-300 air defense system. Finally, on September 11, a Greek border ship allegedly fired on a Turkish merchant ship in neutral waters.

What is happening: is it Turkish propaganda that has decided to temporarily change the record to a “victim of provocations” or are the Greeks really at risk of snapping the Ottoman bull on the horns?

This is zrada


Still, it looks more like they don’t even click, but they knock quite specifically - with Greek hands, but the Americans.

During the summer months, the United States significantly increased its military presence in Greece. In particular, the port of Alexandroupolis has become an important transshipment point on the way for arms deliveries to Ukraine (in addition, there is a terminal for receiving liquefied natural gas in the same port). The American contingent stationed in Greece has also increased, and it is planned to strengthen it further in the future.

The official reason for building up forces is known - this is a terrible orc horde in the east. It is assumed that if the Russian fleet suddenly makes a breakthrough from the Black Sea for some reason, then the American forces based in Alexandroupolis, Crete and other points will be able to quickly block the Dardanelles. However, Ankara suspects that this contingent should hold back not only the Russians, but also the Turks, and even declared this out loud.

The lifting of the Cypriot embargo means that almost certainly the Greek half of the island will soon have some of the stocks accumulated in Alexandroupolis - hardly HIMARS or M777 (their firing range is excessive for such an area), but 105-mm mountain howitzers and light armored vehicles may well change the destination from a Ukrainian city to a Cypriot port. In the 1974 conflict, the parties also used outdated weapons, and this did not bother anyone.

Erdogan, out of inertia, is trying to react to the obvious strengthening of the position of the Greeks harshly - but not that aggressively. In particular, speaking at the UN General Assembly on September 20, he accused Athens of allegedly drowning illegal migrants sailing from Turkey, and the world community called for peace in the region to recognize the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus as soon as possible, so far recognized only by Turkey itself. .

However, the increased American presence makes it difficult to put pressure on Greece by force: yes, Turkey's own military potential is noticeably greater (at least on paper) - but Uncle Sam himself now fits in with the opponent, and it is scary to oppose him. Against such a background, the continuation of bellicose rhetoric would put Erdogan in a stupid position, and he understands this.

The bravest of the Armenians - Blinken


Moreover, an unexpected problem also appeared on the eastern flank - there the star-striped "uncle" also indicated his presence, and at several points at once.

It seems that Nancy Pelosi's visits are becoming a kind of indicator of American interest in a particular region. On September 17, against the backdrop of another Armenian-Azerbaijani aggravation, she arrived in Yerevan, where she not only talked with Pashinyan about leaving the CSTO, but also condemned the Azerbaijani aggression from the rostrum. And literally the day before, while at the SCO summit, Erdogan rather boastfully stated that Azerbaijani President Aliyev almost reported to him about the success of the military operation.

And it would be fine if the matter was limited to Yerevan - but on September 19, the US Secretary of State called both the Armenian and Azerbaijani ambassadors to Washington “on the carpet”. Obviously, Blinken strongly persuaded the parties to a peaceful settlement (in a way that would suit the Americans).

If the next “Pelosi flight” was just another click, then this is already an alarming bell. It is quite possible to expect that in the near future some high American rank will pay a visit already to Baku, after which Azerbaijan may more or less abruptly cease to be a Turkish protégé: the “Turkic world” is the Turkic world, but the course is still determined by personal (selfish and greedy) interests of specific bais. Can Aliyev turn to Turkey in the same place as Tokayev to Russia? - Yes, easily, and Erdogan will just as little be able to oppose this.

Apparently, Washington decided that the “multi-vector sultan” played too much and imagined himself superfluous: he doesn’t let the Scandinavians into NATO, he definitely doesn’t stand up against Russia, he climbs without demand not only into the Ukrainian conflict, but also into Europe, trying to spread influence in the Balkans. It seems very likely that in the near future they will try to remove Erdogan in some way.

But, in fact, the choice of method will show whether the Americans want to get rid of only Erdogan or the whole of Turkey as part of a general reformatting of NATO. A “soft” option is possible with another attempt at a military coup, as in 2015, but there are also opportunities for the country to slide into a full-fledged civil war. Quite “by the way,” civil unrest broke out in neighboring Iran, which, among other things, has a national – Kurdish – basis. With the appropriate information pumping, the national liberation and anti-clerical fire can spread to the Turkish part of Kurdistan.

The most curious thing is how Erdogan himself will react to the growing American pressure, being the direct point of application of this pressure. On the one hand, repentance and an unconditional return to the fairway seems to be the simplest way out of the situation - but such a maneuver does not give absolutely no guarantees, especially the personal safety of the Sultan. In addition, the rejection of the pan-Turkic project will seriously affect its popularity among the people and in the international arena.

Therefore, there is a non-zero probability that the American multi-move will have the opposite effect and push Erdogan and Turkey closer to the SCO. Of course, Ankara's relations with many members of the Shanghai Organization (including Russia and Iran) are very doubtful, but the global crisis willy-nilly inclines the SCO members to closer cooperation.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 22 September 2022 15: 27
    +1
    The efforts of the United States are aimed at breaking the possible union of Turkey, Iran and the Russian Federation, therefore, attempts in this region are growing. That the United States supports Armenia (the Armenian diaspora in the United States is quite influential) is also a wedge in the CSTO. So our S. Lavrov needs to move, or they don’t allow for a year, is there really no replacement in such a large state, because the complaints about the weak work of the Russian Foreign Ministry are clearly deserved ....
  2. HattinGokbori87 Offline HattinGokbori87
    HattinGokbori87 22 September 2022 16: 13
    0
    It seems very likely that in the near future they will try to remove Erdogan in some way.

    Just wait until the upcoming elections, they will probably bomb it again. Turkey has been an occupied country for a very long time and a large number of foreign collaborators work in its media sector. They (together with the West that controls Facebook, Twitter, Youtube) are trying very hard to definitively overthrow Erdogan and his party from power.
    1. Sancym Offline Sancym
      Sancym (Alexander ) 23 September 2022 16: 40
      +1
      I think so too! They want, but from wanting to realizing what they have planned, there is a huge distance! It is unlikely that they will succeed!
  3. Sancym Offline Sancym
    Sancym (Alexander ) 23 September 2022 16: 32
    0
    Misha, you work in a serious place! Be serious! You are not in a humor magazine!
    You say that Uncle Sam "fits in" and it's scary to go against him! Laughed for a long time.
    It seems that Erdogan is not afraid of anyone and nothing. Especially some Sam!
  4. HattinGokbori87 Offline HattinGokbori87
    HattinGokbori87 23 September 2022 18: 47
    0
    American PBS News has published a new video

Антитурецкий гамбит: американцы начали давление на Эрдогана


20 сентября весь мир напряжённо следил за русским эфиром и ждал, что же скажет этот зловещий Путин: объявит мобилизацию или, как один киноперсонаж, сразу нажмёт в прямом эфире ту самую «красную кнопку»? В итоге Путин всех немножко обманул и сказал своё весомое слово на следующий день, а раскрывшая рты аудитория пропустила другое военно-политическое событие – безусловно, гораздо менее важное, но и не совсем безынтересное.


Дело в том, что 19 сентября правительство США отменило оружейное эмбарго против Республики Кипр. Предсказуемо этот шаг вызвал большое одобрение и воодушевление в Афинах – а вот из Анкары послышался отчётливый скрежет зубов.

Предыдущее обострение отношений между Грецией и Турцией имело место в начале лета, тогда очевидным инициатором была Анкара и лично султан Эрдоган, сыпавший аутентичными изощрёнными угрозами в адрес греков. Турция, в принципе, всегда считается «агрессором» в этом длящемся десятилетиями конфликте, и неспроста: в конце концов, именно турки «отжали» у греков часть Кипра, а не наоборот.

Но в последний месяц ситуация изменилась, по крайней мере, в новостных лентах. Отметившиеся на инфополе недавние пограничные инциденты выглядят (или выставляются) спровоцированными греческой стороной. Так, 23 августа греческий воздушный патруль якобы «условно атаковал» турецкие истребители и вынудил их скрыться в родном воздушном пространстве; 28 августа другая группа турецких военных самолётов была неприятно ощупана со всех сторон станцией наведения греческого ЗРК С-300. Наконец, 11 сентября греческий пограничный корабль якобы обстрелял в нейтральных водах турецкое торговое судно.

Что же происходит: это турецкая пропаганда решила временно сменить пластинку на «жертву провокаций» или греки действительно рискуют щёлкать османского быка по рогам?

This is зрада


Всё-таки больше похоже на то, что даже не щёлкают, а уже довольно конкретно стучат – греческими руками, но американцы.

За летние месяцы Штаты заметно нарастили своё военное присутствие в Греции. В частности, порт Александруполис превратился в важный перевалочный пункт на пути оружейных поставок на Украину (кроме того, в этом же порту находится терминал для приёма сжиженного природного газа). Увеличился и расквартированный в Греции американский контингент, который в будущем предполагается усилить ещё.

Официальный повод для наращивания сил известен – это страшная орочья орда на востоке. Предполагается, что если российский флот вдруг зачем-нибудь пойдёт на прорыв из Чёрного моря, то базирующиеся в Александруполисе, на Крите и в других пунктах американские силы смогут оперативно перекрыть Дарданеллы. Однако в Анкаре подозревают, что этот контингент должен сдерживать не только русских, но и турок, и даже заявляли об этом вслух.

Отмена кипрского эмбарго означает, что почти наверняка на греческой половине острова скоро окажется что-нибудь из накопленных в Александруполисе запасов – вряд ли HIMARS или М777 (их дальность стрельбы избыточна для такой территории), а вот 105-мм горные гаубицы и лёгкая бронетехника вполне могут сменить пункт назначения с украинского города на кипрский порт. В конфликте 1974 г. стороны тоже пользовались устаревшими образцами вооружения, и это никого не смущало.

Эрдоган по инерции пытается реагировать на явное усиление позиций греков жёстко – но уже не то чтобы агрессивно. В частности, выступая на Генассамблее ООН 20 сентября, он обвинил Афины в том, что греческие пограничники якобы топят плывущих из Турции нелегальных мигрантов, а мировое сообщество призвал ради мира в регионе как можно скорее признать Турецкую Республику Северного Кипра, пока что признанную лишь самой Турцией.

Однако увеличившееся американское присутствие делает силовое давление на Грецию затруднительным: да, собственный военный потенциал Турции заметно больше (по крайней мере, на бумаге) – но за оппонента теперь вписывается сам дядя Сэм, выступать против которого страшновато. На таком фоне продолжение воинственной риторики поставило бы Эрдогана в глупое положение, и он это понимает.

Самый храбрый из армян – Блинкен


Тем более что неожиданная проблема появилась и на восточном фланге – там звёздно-полосатый «дядя» тоже обозначил своё присутствие, причём сразу в нескольких пунктах.

Похоже, что визиты Нэнси Пелоси становятся своего рода индикатором американского интереса к тому или иному региону. 17 сентября на фоне очередного армяно-азербайджанского обострения она прибыла в Ереван, где не только поговорила с Пашиняном насчёт выхода из ОДКБ, но и с трибуны осудила азербайджанскую агрессию. А буквально за день до этого, будучи на саммите ШОС, Эрдоган довольно хвастливо заявил, что президент Азербайджана Алиев чуть ли не отчитался ему об успехах военной операции.

И ладно бы дело ограничилось Ереваном – но 19 сентября госсекретарь США вызвал «на ковёр» как армянского, так и азербайджанского послов в Вашингтоне. Очевидно, Блинкен усиленно склонял стороны к мирному урегулированию (в таком ключе, который устроил бы американцев).

Если очередной «полёт Пелоси» был просто ещё одним щелчком, то вот это – уже тревожный звоночек. Вполне можно ожидать, что в ближайшее время какой-нибудь высокий американский чин нанесёт визит уже в Баку, после которого Азербайджан может более или менее резко перестать быть турецким протеже: «тюркский мир» тюркским миром, но курс всё-таки определяется личными (шкурными и алчными) интересами конкретных баев. Может ли Алиев повернуться к Турции тем же местом, что Токаев к России? – Да запросто, и Эрдоган точно так же мало что сможет этому противопоставить.

Судя по всему, в Вашингтоне решили, что «султан многовекторности» слишком уж заигрался и возомнил о себе лишнего: скандинавов в НАТО не пускает, однозначно против России не встаёт, лезет без спроса не только в украинский конфликт, но и в Европу, пытаясь распространить своё влияние на Балканы. Кажется весьма вероятным, что в ближайшее время Эрдогана попытаются сместить каким-либо образом.

А вот, собственно, выбор способа покажет, хотят ли американцы избавиться только от Эрдогана или же от всей Турции в рамках общего переформатирования НАТО. Возможен «мягкий» вариант с очередной попыткой военного переворота, как в 2015 г., но есть возможности и для скатывания страны в полноценную гражданскую войну. Весьма «кстати» в соседнем Иране вспыхнули гражданские беспорядки, имеющие под собой в том числе и национальную – курдскую – основу. При соответствующей информационной накачке национально-освободительный и антиклерикальный пожар может перекинуться и на турецкую часть Курдистана.

Любопытнее всего, как на усиливающееся американское давление будет реагировать сам Эрдоган, будучи непосредственной точкой приложения этого давления. С одной стороны, покаяние и безоговорочное возвращение в фарватер кажется простейшим выходом из ситуации – но такой манёвр не даёт абсолютно никаких гарантий, особенно личной безопасности султана. Кроме того, отказ от пантюркского проекта серьёзно ударит по его популярности в народе и на международной арене.

Поэтому есть ненулевая вероятность, что американская многоходовочка даст обратный желаемому эффект и подтолкнёт Эрдогана и Турцию поближе к ШОС. Конечно, отношения Анкары со многими членами Шанхайской организации (включая Россию и тот же Иран) весьма сомнительны, но глобальный кризис волей-неволей склоняет участников ШОС к более тесному сотрудничеству.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 22 сентября 2022 15:27
    +1
    Усилия США направлены на разрыв возможного союза Турции, Ирана и РФ, потому потуги по данному региону нарастают. Что США поддерживают Армению (Диаспора армян в США довольно влиятельная), это ещё и клин в ОДКБ. Так и нашему С. Лаврову пошевелиться надобно, или года уже не позволяют, неужто замены нет в таком большом государстве, ибо нарекания на слабую работу МИД РФ явно заслуженные....
  2. HattinGokbori87 Офлайн HattinGokbori87
    HattinGokbori87 22 сентября 2022 16:13
    0
    Кажется весьма вероятным, что в ближайшее время Эрдогана попытаются сместить каким-либо образом.

    Просто подождите до предстоящих выборов, они, вероятно, снова разбомбит его. Турция была оккупированной страной в течение очень долгого времени, и большое количество иностранных коллаборационистов работает в ее медиа-секторе. Они (вместе с Западом, контролирующим Facebook, Twitter, Youtube) очень стараются окончательно свергнуть Эрдогана и его партию от власти.
    1. Sancym Офлайн Sancym
      Sancym (Александр ) 23 сентября 2022 16:40
      +1
      Я тоже так думаю! Они хотят, но от хотения до реализации задуманного дистанция огромного размера! Вряд-ли у них что-то получится!
  3. Sancym Офлайн Sancym
    Sancym (Александр ) 23 сентября 2022 16:32
    0
    Миша, вы работаете в серьёзном месте! Будьте серьёзнее! Вы не в юмористическом журнале!
    Вы говорите, что дядя Сэм "вписывается" и идти против него страшновато! Смеялся долго.
    Думается, что Эрдоган не боится никого и ничего. Уж тем более какого-то Сэма!
  4. HattinGokbori87 Офлайн HattinGokbori87
    HattinGokbori87 23 сентября 2022 18:47
    0
    Американские PBS News опубликовали новое видео-