Bloomberg columnist: “West is better off losing than bringing it to a nuclear catastrophe”


From the very beginning of Russia's special operation in Ukraine, the main question of the conflict for the West has not changed: is it possible to defeat Russia and its President Vladimir Putin at an acceptable price? Despite seven months of fighting, the answer is still unclear. Therefore, when planning to end this conflict, it is necessary to weigh any, even disappointing and shameful, possibilities in order to avoid those that will become catastrophic. Well-known American journalist Clive Crook writes about this in an article for Bloomberg.


Along the way, the observer wonders if Putin's threat to use nuclear weapons is a bluff. The American expert honestly admitted that he was not sure of the answer, so he was frankly afraid that the answer would be positive. Crook suggests weighing the desirable and the possible, and as carefully as possible.

In his opinion, there was some turning point on the battlefield. Therefore, Ukraine's "remarkable military successes" offer an opportunity to end the hot phase of the conflict without exposing the West to the extraordinary risks of nuclear war. What is needed now is a diplomatic settlement that will allow Moscow to claim a victory that all other "free peoples" will ostensibly perceive as political defeat. This may arise from negotiations in various forms.

But imagine for starters a ceasefire, a border established along current front lines, with a longer-term outcome, with part of the territory ceded to Russia, and most of Ukraine's land accepted into NATO.

Crook suggests.

He emphasizes that until recently Putin would have considered this unacceptable. But now it might not look so bad.
Of course, Ukraine and its most ardent supporters also disagree. But it was a grave mistake on the part of the United States and its friends to rely all the time, as much as possible, on the opinion of Ukraine about what is at stake and how big the risk is. The interests and calculations of the justified victims of Ukraine coincide with the interests of the West, but are not identical to them, the observer is sure.

Summing up, the journalist writes that the West needs to act more practical and more cautious, perhaps even lose in some way, give in, but not bring matters to a catastrophe in the US and Europe.

Accepting this highly unsatisfactory outcome would lessen the risk of a wider catastrophic conflict. It's a price worth paying

Crook concluded.
  • Photos used: pxfuel.com
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. prior Offline prior
    prior (Vlad) 23 September 2022 17: 02
    +1
    Everyone thought that the demilitarization concerned Ukraine, but it turns out that Putin set a plan for the demilitarization of NATO.
    1. Mobius Offline Mobius
      Mobius 24 September 2022 07: 45
      +5
      Bloomberg columnist: “West is better off losing than bringing it to a nuclear catastrophe”

      Western variant"Comrade Katz" offering to surrender...
  2. kalita Offline kalita
    kalita (Alexander) 23 September 2022 17: 18
    +1
    Is Europe ready to die because of crests? I do not believe! Europe never resisted even in 1941 and everyone surrendered to Hitler, but here giving their lives because of those who care about them is complete nonsense.
  3. Irek Offline Irek
    Irek (Paparazzi Kazan) 23 September 2022 17: 31
    +1
    Let them be afraid and shit in shalwars.
    1. passing by Offline passing by
      passing by (passing by) 23 September 2022 21: 35
      0
      europe is not only bulgarians and ukrainians... no one else there uses harem pants as clothing and even more so as a place to relieve themselves. laughing
  4. Grei grin Offline Grei grin
    Grei grin (Gray Grin) 23 September 2022 17: 45
    -2
    Europe will surrender Ukroherenka and not blink an eye, and the Russian authorities will be satisfied with little! And why? There are only hucksters around, but there was no smell of patriotism and high ideals here! Whoever doubts, let him remember what has been going on in Russia for 30 years and to whom the centers are!
  5. nikanikolich Offline nikanikolich
    nikanikolich (nikola) 23 September 2022 19: 32
    0
    It seems that the entire goblin world (40 countries) decided to commit suicide, but at the same time grab the entire planet. The question is, who is the terrorist in this world?
  6. passing by Offline passing by
    passing by (passing by) 23 September 2022 21: 31
    0
    and not tired of the West since the time of turmoil to bet on the Ukrainians and lose? laughing
  7. Peace Peace. Offline Peace Peace.
    Peace Peace. (Tumar Tumar) 23 September 2022 22: 40
    +1
    The Anglo-Saxon elite have all the money in the world that they painstakingly robbed and appropriated from the entire people of the land over the centuries. Moreover, they boast that they built the entire current civilization. Their family history goes back centuries. And suddenly lose all this for the sake of a lousy stinking Slavic Ukraine? Yes Never.
    Pontorez they are still those, in words they are not afraid of a nuclear war. And in fact, they will fall asleep. Their most important propaganda weapon of our time is the appearance on the verge of self-hypnosis, their fear of the 3rd World War. The use of low-yield tactical nuclear weapons by Russia in Ukraine is especially closer to Poland with the intimidation of further use in Europe, there will be absolutely no military reaction. The collapse of the dollar will begin, and the arrival of ambassadors with gifts in Moscow.
  8. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 23 September 2022 22: 45
    0
    Wah.
    Commentators giggle happily, "not noticing" what the expert proposes as a "Loss of the West" .... accept Ukraine into NATO ...
  9. GR Offline GR
    GR (GR) 24 September 2022 06: 06
    +1
    In a possible war with NATO, much comes down to NATO's ability to quickly and effectively destroy the Black Sea Fleet, the Baltic Fleet and the Russian Navy, carriers of cruise and hypersonic missiles, including those with nuclear weapons.

    It is enough for Russia to have time to destroy NATO airfields in Europe (tactical poison. Zircons or Daggers).

    The problem is that the carriers, our ships are vulnerable. But there is hope that not everything is so simple and that Russia has ground carriers of such missiles, for example, railway. Perhaps Russia does not give out this secret so that there are no claims under the contracts and in order to be able to answer.

    It's basically all about the war with NATO. Russia, having the depth and size of its territories, can disperse the VKS. NATO cannot do this. NATO is nothing without military air bases in Europe.

Обозреватель Bloomberg: «Западу лучше проиграть, чем довести дело до ядерной катастрофы»


С самого начала спецоперации России на Украине главный вопрос конфликта для Запада не изменился: можно ли победить Россию и ее президента Владимира Путина приемлемой ценой? Несмотря на семь месяцев боевых действий, ответ все еще неясен. Поэтому при планировании прекращения этого конфликта необходимо взвешивать любые, даже разочаровывающие и позорные возможности, чтобы избежать тех, которые станут катастрофическими. Об этом пишет известный американский журналист Клайв Крук в статье для агентства Bloomberg.


Попутно обозреватель задается вопросом, а не является ли блефом угроза Путина использовать ядерное оружие. Американский эксперт честно признался, что не уверен в ответе, поэтому откровенно боится, что ответ окажется позитивным. Крук предлагает соизмерять желаемое и возможное, причем как можно тщательнее.

По его мнению, наступил некоторый перелом на поле боя. Поэтому «замечательные боевые успехи» Украины открывают возможность завершить горячую фазу конфликта, не подвергая Запад экстраординарным рискам ядерной войны. Что сейчас необходимо, так это дипломатическое урегулирование, которое позволит Москве заявить о победе, которую все остальные «свободные народы» якобы воспримут как политическое поражение. Это может возникнуть в результате переговоров в различных формах.

Но представьте себе для начала прекращение огня, установление границы в соответствии с текущими линиями фронта, с более долгосрочным исходом, когда часть территории уступается России, а большая часть земель Украины принимается в НАТО

– предлагает Крук.

Он подчеркивает, что еще недавно Путин счел бы это неприемлемым. Но теперь это может выглядеть не так уж и плохо.
Конечно, Украина и ее самые ярые сторонники также не согласны на это. Но со стороны США и их друзей было серьезной ошибкой все время полагаться, насколько это возможно, на мнение Украины о том, что поставлено на карту и насколько велик риск. Интересы и расчеты оправданных жертв Украины совпадают с интересами Запада, но не идентичны им, уверен обозреватель.

Резюмируя, журналист пишет, что Западу надо действовать практичнее и осторожнее, быть может, даже в некотором роде проиграть, уступить, но не довести дело до катастрофы в США и Европе.

Принятие этого крайне неудовлетворительного результата уменьшило бы риск более широкого катастрофического конфликта. Это цена, которую стоит заплатить

– заключил Крук.
  • Использованы фотографии: pxfuel.com
11 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. prior Офлайн prior
    prior (Влад) 23 сентября 2022 17:02
    +1
    Все думали, что демилитаризация касалась Украины, а оказывается Путин поставил план демилитаризации НАТО.
    1. Мёбиус Офлайн Мёбиус
      Мёбиус 24 сентября 2022 07:45
      +5
      Обозреватель Bloomberg: «Западу лучше проиграть, чем довести дело до ядерной катастрофы»

      Западный вариант "Товарища Каца" , предлагающего сдаться...
  2. kalita Офлайн kalita
    kalita (Александр) 23 сентября 2022 17:18
    +1
    Неужели из-за хохлов Европа готова на гибель? Не верю! Европа не когда не сопротивлялась даже в 1941-ом и все сдались Гитлеру, а тут жизни отдавать из-за тех, кто им по барабану, полная чушь.
  3. Ирек Офлайн Ирек
    Ирек (Paparazzi Kazan) 23 сентября 2022 17:31
    +1
    Пусть боятся и срутся в шальвары.
    1. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 23 сентября 2022 21:35
      0
      европа это не только болгары и украинцы... больше там никто не использует шаровары в качестве одежды и тем более места для справления нужды. laughing
  4. Grei Grin Офлайн Grei Grin
    Grei Grin (Grei Grin) 23 сентября 2022 17:45
    -2
    Европа сдаст Укрохереньку и глазом не моргнет, а российская власть удовлетворится и малым! А почему? Кругом одни барыги, а патриотизмом и высокими идеалами тут и не пахло! Кто сомневается пусть вспомнит что творилось в России 30 лет и кому центры стоят!
  5. nikanikolich Офлайн nikanikolich
    nikanikolich (nikola) 23 сентября 2022 19:32
    0
    Такое ощущение что весь гоблинский мир (40 стран)решил с собой покончить, но при этом прихватить всю планету. Вопрос- кто в этом мире террорист?
  6. проходящиймимо (проходящиймимо) 23 сентября 2022 21:31
    0
    и не надоело западу со времен смуты ставить на украинцев и проигрывать? laughing
  7. Миру Мир. Офлайн Миру Мир.
    Миру Мир. (Тумар Тумар) 23 сентября 2022 22:40
    +1
    У англосакской элиты все деньги мира которые они кропотливо обворовывали и присваивали у всего народа земли на протяжении веков. Тем более они кичатся что всю нынешнюю цивизацию построили они. У них история каждой семьи насчитывает века. И в одночасье лишиться всего этого ради паршивой вонючей славянской украины? Да Никогда.
    Понторезы они ещё те, на словах не боятся ядерной войны. А на деле зассут. Их самое главное пропагандистское оружие современности это - видимость на грани самовнушения небоязнь ими 3й мировой войны. Примени ща Россия ТЯО малой мощности на украине особенно ближе к польше с запугиванием дальнейшего использования в европе, реакции военной будет никакой, абсолютно. Начнётся обвал доллара, и приезд в Москву послов с дарами.
  8. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 23 сентября 2022 22:45
    0
    Вах.
    Коментаторы радостно хихикают, "не замечая", что експерт предлагает как "Проигрыш Запада".... принять Украину в Нато...
  9. G R Офлайн G R
    G R (G R) 24 сентября 2022 06:06
    +1
    В возможной войне с НАТО многое сводится к способности НАТО быстро и эффективно уничтожить ЧФ, БФ и КФ РФ, носители крылатых и гиперзвуковых ракет, в том числе с ЯБ.

    Для России достаточно успеть уничтожить аэродромы НАТО в Европе (тактическими яд. Цирконами или Кинжалами).

    Проблема, что носители, наши корабли уязвимы. Но есть надежда, что не все так просто и Россия имеет наземные носители таких ракет, например жд. Возможно Россия не выдаёт эту тайну, чтобы не было претензий по договорам и что бы иметь возможность ответить.

    Это в принципе все о войне с НАТО. Россия имееи глубину и размер территорий, может рассретодоточить ВКС. НАТО этого не может. Без военно воздушных баз в Европе НАТО ничто.