The United States was impressed by the photographs of China's amphibious assault exercises


The People's Liberation Army of China (PLA) has given a massive demonstration of how its navy can use large modern civilian ferries for a massive amphibious invasion. Since this major exercise was taking place on the Chinese mainland near the Taiwan Strait, its potential target (landing Chinese troops on Taiwan) led the United States to monitor the situation from satellites with unconcealed apprehension.


The results of the analysis of satellite images of the PLA maneuvers have just been published by the website of the US Naval Institute USNI News. From these data, it follows that the Chinese Navy has deployed several large civilian ferries and warships in the open sea off the coast. The landing craft of the PLA quickly engaged in the transfer of military equipment on ferries and on board an amphibious transport ship at sea, using ramps for loading / unloading.

Military analyst Tom Shugart, who is tracking Chinese military exercises, noted that 7 dual-purpose civilian ferries were involved in the maneuvers. Among them, the latest type of ro-ro ferries (the so-called "RoRo", vehicles for transporting vehicles) built by the PRC, the Bo Hai Heng Tong, a multi-purpose cargo ship with a displacement of 15 tons, was identified.

The internal parking lane of this ferry has a width of 3 meters and a total length of about 2,5 km, distributed over three decks. That means the Chinese vehicle has nearly three times the payload capacity of a standard US Navy San Antonio-class (LPD) amphibious assault ship, Shugart said.

American LPDs, like LHAs (Lamphibious Helicopter Carriers), spend many cubic feet providing life and comfort for Marines, who can therefore work at sea for weeks or months. But these volumes can be considered wasted if the whole task is to make a quick raid across the strait

Shugart told USNI News.

The Bo Hai Heng Tong ro-ro ferry was released in 2020 and is not unique. At the same time and with the same characteristics in the PRC, its "brother" was built - the ship Bo Hai Heng Da. These ships are noticeably larger than most other ships in the same class. In addition, ships of the Bo Hai Heng type are actually multi-purpose, they were originally designed to carry various types of vehicles and containers, and the design of the vessel provides for equipping it with a large helipad.

True to their names, these ships usually operate in Bohai Bay, in the northwestern part of the Yellow Sea. To participate in the Bo Hai Heng Tong exercise, he sailed about 2000 km to the south, in order to quite quickly find himself opposite Taiwan.

The concept of resupplying amphibious assault ships with civilian ships and ships taken from trade has been practiced by the PLA Navy for many years. Most of these ships are used as transports, and some even carry artillery pieces on their decks to bombard the shore.

writes USNI News.

According to Shugart, the 26-ton ZTD-05 armored fighting vehicle presented in the maneuvers is a new development, first used by the PLA for a amphibious assault operation. Several warships from the PLA Navy also participated in the exercise: the Type 071 Wuzhishan (987) landing ship and older tank landing ships. All of them also practiced operations using armored vehicles.

USNI News recalled that these large-scale exercises of the PLA served as a response to a visit to Taiwan by Speaker of the US House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi. This visit was regarded as "provocative" not only in China, but also in many media around the world. Beijing then expectedly stepped up its military activity at sea and in the air around the island of Taiwan.
  • Photos used: Maxar Technologies
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

В США впечатлились фотоснимками учений Китая по морскому десантированию


Народно-освободительная армия Китая (НОАК) масштабно продемонстрировала, как ее военно-морской флот может использовать большие современные гражданские паромы для массированного десантного вторжения. Поскольку эти крупные учения проводились на материковом побережье Китая недалеко от Тайваньского пролива, их потенциальная цель (высадка войск КНР на Тайвань) заставила США с нескрываемой опаской следить за ситуацией со спутников.


Итоги анализа спутниковых снимков маневров НОАК только что опубликовал сайт Института ВМС США USNI News. Из этих данных следует, что ВМФ Китая развернул в открытом море у побережья несколько крупных гражданских паромов и военных кораблей. Десантные катера НОАК оперативно занялись переброской военной техники на паромы и на борт транспортно-десантного корабля в море, применяя аппарели для погрузки/выгрузки.

Военный аналитик Том Шугарт, занимающийся отслеживанием китайских военных учений, отметил: в проведенных маневрах было задействовано 7 гражданских паромов двойного назначения. В их числе был идентифицирован новейший тип ролкерных паромов (так называемых «RoRo», судов для перевозки автотехники), построенный КНР, - Bo Hai Heng Tong, многоцелевое грузовое судно водоизмещением 15 000 тонн.

Внутренняя парковочная полоса этого парома имеет ширину 3 метра и общую протяженность порядка 2,5 км, распределенную по трем палубам. По словам Шугарта, это означает, что грузоподъемность китайского транспортного средства почти в три раза больше, чем у стандартного десантного корабля ВМС США класса «Сан-Антонио» (LPD).

Aмериканские LPD, как и LHA (десантные вертолетоносцы) тратят много кубических футов на обеспечение жизни и удобств морских пехотинцев, способных за счет этого работать в море неделями или месяцами. Но эти объемы можно считать потраченными впустую, если вся поставленная задача — это совершить быстрый рейд через пролив

— отметил Шугарт для USNI News.

Ролкерный паром Bo Hai Heng Tong был выпущен в 2020 году, и он не уникален. В то же время и с теми же характеристиками в КНР построили его «собрата» — корабль Bo Hai Heng Da. Эти суда заметно крупнее, чем большинство других кораблей в том же классе. К тому же корабли типа Bo Hai Heng — фактически многоцелевые, они были изначально спроектированы для перевозки различных типов транспортных средств и контейнеров, а в конструкции судна предусмотрено его оснащение большой вертолётной площадкой.

Оправдывая свои названия, эти транспорты обычно работают в заливе Бохайвань, в северо-западной части Жёлтого моря. Для участия в учениях «Бо Хай Хэн Тонг» проплыл около 2000 км к югу, чтобы довольно быстро оказаться напротив Тайваня.

Концепция пополнения боевых десантных кораблей гражданскими судами и кораблями, взятыми из торговли, практикуется флотом НОАК уже много лет. Большинство из этих судов используются в качестве транспортов, а некоторые даже несут на своих палубах артиллерийские орудия для обстрела берега

— пишет USNI News.

По словам Шугарта, представленная в маневрах 26-тонная бронированная боевая машина ZTD-05 — это новая разработка, впервые примененная НОАК для морской десантной операции. В учениях также участвовало несколько боевых кораблей из состава ВМС НОАК: десантный корабль Type 071 Wuzhishan (987) и более старые танкодесантные корабли. Все они также практиковались в операции с использованием бронетехники.

В USNI News напомнили, что эти масштабные учения НОАК послужили ответом на посещение Тайваня спикером Палаты представителей Конгресса США Нэнси Пелоси. Этот визит расценили как «провокационный» не только в КНР, но и во многих СМИ по всему миру. Пекин после этого ожидаемо активизировал свою военную активность на море и в воздухе вокруг острова Тайвань.
  • Использованы фотографии: Maxar Technologies
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.