A giant hangar in the Chinese desert points to the development of a military airship


US military analysts were extremely interested in satellite images of a huge hangar located in a remote Xinjiang Autonomous Region in the northwest of China, near the secret PLA air force Malan airbase, which specializes in testing unmanned platforms, and other anti-missile and anti-satellite development sites.


The hangar is 350 m long and about 140 m wide. It is also extremely tall, as can be seen on satellite images where ground vehicles or shadows are present. Inside you can easily place a Nimitz-class supercarrier

- indicate the military observers of The Drive, where a large review of photographs received from space was published.

In their opinion, this hangar is clearly associated with the development in China of large unmanned airships capable of operating in the stratosphere at altitudes of 7 to 20 km. Additionally, this version is evidenced by the huge hangar gates, a large transportation structure with cables near them, and a paved area similar to a runway, stretching almost 1 km to the west. It is very likely that the nearby tower serves as a mooring mast.

Earlier satellite imagery shows that the hangar and all associated structures were completed by 2015. In the same period, scientific publications appeared in the PRC, where the issues of optimizing designs for a stratospheric airship were considered and tests of prototypes were mentioned - BNST-KT-02 100 m long and 75-meter, but more high-altitude and lifting (5-7 tons) Yuan Meng. However, the Alashan region in Inner Mongolia, much east of Xinjiang, was named as testing sites for these airships. But satellite photos of recent years show that these "airship bases" are now mothballed.

A giant hangar in the Chinese desert points to the development of a military airship

Apparently, work in this direction continues, but now they are going in another place - in Xinjiang. Most likely, according to US military experts, the Chinese stratospheric airship is being developed as a missile defense system. Such a vehicle is capable of providing continuous high-altitude radar coverage of a huge radius, as well as serving as a platform for anti-missile and even anti-satellite weapons, including interceptor missiles or directed energy weapons such as lasers or powerful microwave generators.

The use of such an airship for other purposes, including as an electronic intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance platform or a pseudo-satellite communications relay node, is not excluded. This could be very useful in any future high-level conflict where satellites are the main targets and getting new ones into orbit quickly is difficult.

- notes The Drive.
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 30 September 2022 11: 46
    0
    "One swallow does not make spring," as well as a trial experiment in the PRC, in a series of world age-old airship building. The United States has spent many billions of dollars in this field, but it has not achieved clear satisfactory results.

Гигантский ангар в китайской пустыне указывает на разработку военного дирижабля


Военных аналитиков США крайне заинтересовали спутниковые снимки огромного ангара, расположенного в отдаленном Синьцзянском автономном районе на северо-западе КНР, вблизи от секретной авиабазы Малан ВВС НОАК, специализирующейся на испытаниях беспилотных платформ, и других полигонов противоракетных и противоспутниковых разработок.


Ангар имеет длину 350 м и ширину около 140 м. Он также чрезвычайно высок, что видно на спутниковых снимках, где присутствуют наземные транспортные средства или тени. Внутри можно легко разместить суперавианосец класса «Нимиц»

— указывают военные обозреватели The Drive, где был опубликован большой обзор фотоснимков, полученных из космоса.

По их мнению, этот ангар явно связан с разработкой в КНР больших беспилотных дирижаблей, способных действовать в стратосфере, на высотах от 7 до 20 км. Дополнительно о такой версии свидетельствуют огромные ворота ангара, большая транспортировочная конструкция с тросами возле них и похожая на взлетно-посадочную полосу вымощенная площадка, протянувшаяся почти на 1 км к западу. Весьма вероятно, что близлежащая башня выполняет роль швартовной мачты.

Более ранние спутниковые снимки показывают, что ангар и все сопутствующие конструкции были возведены к 2015 году. В тот же период в КНР появились научные публикации, где рассматривались вопросы оптимизации конструкций для стратосферного дирижабля и были упомянуты испытания прототипов — BNST-KT-02 длиной в 100 м и 75-метрового, но более высотного и грузоподъемного (5-7 тонн) Yuan Meng. Впрочем, в качестве мест тестирования этих дирижаблей назывался район Алашань во Внутренней Монголии, намного восточнее Синьцзяна. Но спутниковые фото последних лет показывают, что эти «базы дирижаблей» ныне законсервированы.

Гигантский ангар в китайской пустыне указывает на разработку военного дирижабля

По всей видимости, работы в этом направлении продолжаются, но теперь идут в другом месте — в Синьцзяне. Скорее всего, считают военные эксперты США, китайский стратосферный дирижабль разрабатывается как средство ПРО. Такой аппарат способен обеспечить постоянное высотное радиолокационное покрытие огромного радиуса, а также служить платформой для противоракетного и даже противоспутникового оружия, включая ракеты-перехватчики или оружие направленной энергии, такое как лазеры или мощные микроволновые генераторы.

Не исключается использование такого дирижабля для других целей, в том числе как платформы электронной разведки, наблюдения и рекогносцировки или узла ретрансляции псевдоспутниковой связи. Это может стать очень полезным в любом будущем конфликте высокого уровня, где спутники будут главными целями, а быстро вывести новые на орбиту будет затруднительно

— отмечает The Drive.
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 30 сентября 2022 11:46
    0
    "Одна ласточка весны не делает", так и пробный эксперимент в КНР, в ряду мирового векового дирижаблестроении . США много миллиардов долл. потратила на этом поприще, да вот внятных удовлетворительных результатов не достигла.