Estonia demands compensation from Russia for the "Soviet occupation"

In Estonia, the commission completed its work, which calculated the losses from the so-called “Soviet occupation”. They believe that when this republic was part of the USSR, it suffered significant damage, which Russia supposedly had to compensate.



According to the press service of the Estonian Ministry of Justice, the total amount amounted to 89 billion rubles, which at the current rate is equivalent to 1,2 billion euros.

Shortly before that, Foreign Minister Sven Mixer stated that he considered it unreasonable to demand Russia compensate for damage from the "Soviet occupation."

The Estonian Ministry of Justice has published a commission report that details all of Estonia’s claims to the USSR in monetary terms.

The document includes primarily human casualties: victims of Stalinist repressions, who died in the Great Patriotic War, migrants who left the areas transferred to the RSFSR. The commission also took into account changes in the national composition of the republic. If in 1941 89 percent of ethnic Estonians lived here, then by 1989 their share was 61 percent.

A lot of the report also spoke about damage to agriculture: pollution of farmland, forced collectivization. True, for some reason they did not say anything about creating a powerful industry in Estonia under the Soviet regime.

Minister of Justice Urmas Reinsalu believes that many aspects of damage are very difficult to measure in money. In addition, he advocates a further in-depth study of the “Soviet occupation” and the damage suffered by Estonia.

Russia's position on this issue has been repeatedly expressed by the Russian Foreign Ministry. The Russian Federation does not consider the years of the Baltic republics being part of the USSR as occupation and is not going to pay any compensation.
  • Photos used: https://en.depositphotos.com/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Эстония требует от России компенсацию за «советскую оккупацию»

В Эстонии завершила работу комиссия, подсчитавшая убытки от так называемой «советской оккупации». Там считают, что когда эта республика находилась в составе СССР, она понесла значительный ущерб, который Россия якобы обязана возместить.


По сообщению пресс-службы эстонского Министерства юстиции, общая сумма составила 89 миллиардов рублей, что по современному курсу эквивалентно 1,2 миллиарда евро.



Незадолго до этого министр иностранных дел Свен Миксер заявлял, что считает неразумными требования к России возместить ущерб от «советской оккупации».

Министерство юстиции Эстонии опубликовала отчет комиссии, где подробно указаны все претензии Эстонии к СССР в денежном эквиваленте.

В документ включены в первую очередь людские потери: жертвы сталинских репрессий, погибшие в Великую Отечественную войну, переселенцы, уехавшие из районов, переданных в состав РСФСР. Комиссия учла также изменение национального состава республики. Если в 1941 году здесь проживало 89 процентов этнических эстонцев, то к 1989 году их доля составила 61 процент.

Много в отчете говорилось также об ущербе сельскому хозяйству: загрязнении сельхозугодий, принудительной коллективизации. Правда, о создании мощной промышленности в Эстонии при Советской власти почему-то ничего не сказали.

Министр юстиции Урмас Рейнсалу полагает, что многие моменты, касающиеся ущерба, очень трудно измерить в деньгах. Кроме того, он выступает за дальнейшее углубленное изучение «советской оккупации» и понесенного Эстонией ущерба.

Позиция России по этому вопросу уже неоднократно высказывалась МИДом РФ. Российская Федерация не считает годы пребывания республик Прибалтики в составе СССР оккупацией и не собирается платить никаких компенсаций.
Использованы фотографии: https://ru.depositphotos.com/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти