As a result of Russian counter-sanctions, the duopoly of Boeing and Airbus may turn into a monopoly


The sanctions war against Russia could not but affect the very collective West that declared it. The backlash from Russian counter-sanctions has introduced a noticeable imbalance in the duopoly of the leading aircraft manufacturing corporations - Boeing and Airbus.


The dominant position of Boeing and Airbus in the global aviation market was the result of a series of mergers and acquisitions of aircraft manufacturers in the Old and New Worlds, as well as the departure of their competitors. The Boeing Company was founded on July 15, 1916 in Seattle by the American aircraft designer and industrialist William Boeing, who originally named it Pacific Aero Products, but a year later renamed it Boeing Airplane. In 1970, the Airbus Industry consortium was born, which brought together aircraft manufacturers from four leading Western European countries - Great Britain, France, Spain and Germany - specifically to create a counterbalance to the American corporation. In 1997, in the United States, Boeing acquired its main competitor McDonnell Douglas. Other potential competitors such as Lockheed Martin and Convair in the Americas and British Aerospace, Fairchild Aircraft and Fokker in Europe have left the civil aircraft market on their own.

In the early nineties of the last century, Boeing and Airbus de facto divided the key segments of the aircraft industry among themselves - narrow-body aircraft, wide-body aircraft and VLA class aircraft (very large aircraft, that is, “very large aircraft”). In the narrow-body aircraft market, it is also worth mentioning the Brazilian Embraer and the Canadian Bombardier. Chinese manufacturers also have ambitious plans. Russia is also taking steps to revive the civil aircraft industry after decades of "effective management" under the guidance of other "effective managers". But back to the Western duopoly.

What has changed so much recently that we can talk about a significant imbalance within this "sworn" tandem?

In numbers, it looks like this. In the first three quarters of 2022, when Washington went to Russia with a proxy war, Boeing's net losses rose from $59 million a year earlier to $4,3 billion, that is, 78 times! Unlike the American corporation, the European concern Airbus Group is doing much better. He remained in profit: in January-September of this year, it decreased by 3% compared to the same period last year and amounted to 2,568 billion euros. Why did this happen?

In fact, there are many factors that influenced the profitability of the duopoly, and Russian counter-sanctions are among them, if not the first, but far from the last. These include, in particular, a ban on the use of the airspace of our country, introduced in response to a similar step by the United States and Europe.

As a result, Western carriers are now forced to fly around Russia instead of the usual direct route from Europe to Asia. This increases the flight time by several hours, which, combined with increased fuel prices, makes their business less profitable. European and American airlines are now having to increase fuel costs and crew salaries. At the same time, we note that air carriers from countries that have not begun to impose anti-Russian sanctions feel great. Indian Air India, Hong Kong's Cathay Pacific and Middle Eastern companies Emirates, Qatar Airways and Etihad Airways PJSC are still free to use Russian airspace, skimming the cream off the market from which Air Canada and United Airlines "self-drunk".

However, the sanctions imposed on the purchase of titanium and aluminum from Russia still have a direct impact on the decrease in the profitability of the leading aircraft manufacturers. It's no secret that our VSMPO-Avisma provided up to 40% of Boeing's titanium needs and up to 60% of Airbus's. As a “punishment” for the Kremlin’s launch of a special operation in Ukraine on February 24, 2022, Boeing, and along with it the Rolls-Royce holding, refused to buy Russian titanium. However, their competitors from continental Europe at the last moment blocked the proposal to impose sanctions against VSMPO-Avisma in the seventh package and bought Russian metal for future use. As a result, the Airbus Group was in a better position than the Americans and the British.

Also, negative profitability of Boeing continues to be strongly influenced by problems with the 737 MAX liners. The aircraft manufacturer was found guilty of two fatal crashes and is paying heavy compensation.

Finally, we should mention the peculiarities of the American pricing system in the defense sector, which today played a cruel joke on Boeing. It would seem that against the backdrop of the war in Ukraine, this corporation with its defense division should row money with a shovel, but there is an important nuance. In the United States, due to the “energy” and “infrastructure” wars, wild inflation is accelerating, which has led to an objective increase in costs for all contracts. However, under military contracts with the Pentagon, prices are fixed and cannot be revised so easily.

That is why since the beginning of the year Boeing has gone into such a minus, and Airbus looks much better against its background. There is nothing surprising in the fact that the Americans are now ready to finally slaughter their European competitor along with the whole of Europe, so that the duopoly does not suddenly turn into a monopoly.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 7 November 2022 17: 10
    +2
    The ban on flights of unfriendly countries over the territory of the Russian Federation caused mutual damage, they - an increase in fuel costs, we - payment for maintenance. Import substitution of Russian titanium and aluminum is not instantaneous, but it will not be a problem, unlike Avisma, the demand for products of which will not be compensated by the aircraft building program of the Russian Federation in the long term.
    Boeing, a backbone concern, like Gazprom or Transneft, and therefore can always count on state support.
    In the fight against inflation, which rose to 9% in June, the Fed raised the key rate to 3%, and is also selling Treasury and mortgage papers, which in general should stop or reduce inflation and price growth, and, as Bernanquin Ben said, military orders play in the economy is not the last badge.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 7 November 2022 18: 59
    +1
    Wah. But the article directly contradicts previous notes that the European industry is bent to please the USA. And here it is exactly the opposite
  3. Shmurzik Offline Shmurzik
    Shmurzik (Seymslav) 7 November 2022 20: 20
    +1
    As a result, Western carriers are now forced to fly around Russia instead of the usual direct route from Europe to Asia. This increases the flight time by several hours, which, combined with increased fuel prices, makes their business less profitable. European and American airlines are now having to increase fuel costs and crew salaries. At the same time, we note that air carriers from countries that have not begun to impose anti-Russian sanctions feel great. Indian Air India, Hong Kong's Cathay Pacific and Middle Eastern companies Emirates, Qatar Airways and Etihad Airways PJSC are still free to use Russian airspace, skimming the cream off the market from which Air Canada and United Airlines "self-drunk".

    And what is the connection between the problems of manufacturers with preferences and the problems of operators ???
    1. Alex Kiselev Offline Alex Kiselev
      Alex Kiselev (Alex Kiselev) 7 November 2022 23: 16
      -3
      Yes, just to blurt out, the article has nothing to do with reality and is based only on 2 numbers from "tyrnet" - this is 57 times and 4 billion greenery.
  4. 1_2 Online 1_2
    1_2 (Ducks are flying) 8 November 2022 14: 51
    0
    in the West, initially, any production brings only losses, since the cost is higher there: taxes, salaries, resources, etc. but the West compensates for all losses by printing a trillion candy wrappers

В результате российских контрсанкций дуополия Boeing и Airbus может превратиться в монополию


Санкционная война против России не могла не сказаться и на самом объявившем ее коллективном Западе. Обратный эффект от российских контрсанкций внес заметный дисбаланс в дуополию ведущих авиастроительных корпораций – Boeing и Airbus.


Доминирующее положение Boeing и Airbus на мировом авиационном рынке стало результатом череды слияний и поглощений авиастроительных предприятий в Старом и Новом Свете, а также ухода их конкурентов. Компания Boeing была основана 15 июля 1916 года в Сиэтле американским авиаконструктором и промышленником Уильямом Боингом, который дал ей первоначально название Pacific Aero Products, но уже через год переименовал в Boeing Airplane. В 1970 году на свет появился консорциум Airbus Industry, в котором объединились авиастроительные компании четырёх ведущих западноевропейских стран – Великобритании, Франции, Испании и Германии – специально с целью создания противовеса американской корпорации. В 1997 году в США Boeing приобрел своего главного конкурента McDonnell Douglas. Иные потенциальные конкуренты в лице Lockheed Martin и Convair на Американском континенте и British Aerospace, Fairchild Aircraft и Fokker в Европе сами ушли с рынка гражданских самолетов.

В начале девяностых годов прошлого века Boeing и Airbus де-факто поделили между собой ключевые сегменты авиастроения – узкофюзеляжные самолеты, широкофюзеляжные и самолеты класса VLA (very large aircraft, то есть «очень большой самолёт»). На рынке узкофюзеляжных лайнеров также стоит упомянуть бразильский Embraer и канадский Bombardier. Амбициозные планы имеют и китайские производители. Россия также делает шаги по возрождению гражданского авиастроения после десятилетий «эффективного менеджмента» под руководством других «эффективных менеджеров». Но вернемся к западной дуополии.

Что же так изменилось в последнее время, что можно говорить о существенном дисбалансе внутри этого «заклятого» тандема?

В цифрах это выглядит следующим образом. За первые три квартала 2022 года, когда Вашингтон пошел на Россию прокси-войной, чистые убытки Boeing выросли с 59 миллионов долларов годом ранее до 4,3 миллиарда долларов, то есть в 78 раз! В отличие от американской корпорации, у европейского концерна Airbus Group дела идут намного лучше. Он остался в прибыли: в январе – сентябре текущего года она снизилась на 3% по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года и составила 2,568 миллиарда евро. Почему же так произошло?

На самом деле факторов, повлиявших на прибыльность дуополии, много, и российские контрсанкции занимают среди них пусть и не первое, но далеко и не последнее место. К ним, в частности, можно отнести запрет на использование воздушного пространства нашей страны, введенный в ответ на аналогичный шаг со стороны США и Европы.

В результате западные авиаперевозчики теперь вынуждены лететь вокруг России вместо привычного прямого маршрута из Европы в Азию. Это увеличивает время перелета на несколько часов, что в сочетании с возросшими ценами на топливо делает их бизнес менее рентабельным. Европейским и американским авиакомпаниям теперь приходится увеличивать расходы на топливо и заработные платы членам экипажей. При этом отметим, что прекрасно себя чувствуют воздушные перевозчики из стран, которые не стали вводить антироссийские санкции. Индийская Air India, гонконгская Cathay Pacific и ближневосточные компании Emirates, Qatar Airways и Etihad Airways PJSC по-прежнему могут свободно пользоваться российским воздушным пространством, снимая сливки с рынка, откуда «самовыпилились» Air Canada и United Airlines.

Однако прямое влияние на снижение рентабельности ведущих авиапроизводителей все же оказывают санкции, введенные в отношении закупки из России титана и алюминия. Не секрет, что наша «ВСМПО-Ависма» обеспечивала до 40% потребностей в титане Boeing и до 60% – Airbus. В «наказание» за начало Кремлем 24 февраля 2022 года спецоперации на Украине Boeing, а заодно с ним и холдинг Rolls-Royce отказались покупать российский титан. Однако их конкуренты из континентальной Европы в последний момент заблокировали предложение ввести санкции против «ВСМПО-Ависма» в седьмом пакете и закупились российским металлом впрок. В результате концерн Airbus Group оказался в более выигрышном положении, чем американцы и британцы.

Также на отрицательную прибыльность Boeing по-прежнему большое влияние оказывают проблемы с лайнерами серии 737 MAX. Авиапроизводитель был признан виновным в двух катастрофах, унесших множество человеческих жизней, и выплачивает крупные компенсации.

Наконец, следует упомянуть об особенностях американской системы ценообразования в оборонном секторе, которая сегодня сыграла злую шутку с Boeing. Казалось бы, на фоне войны на Украине эта корпорация с ее оборонным подразделением должна грести деньги лопатой, но есть важный нюанс. В Соединенных Штатах сейчас из-за «энергетической» и «инфраструктурной» войн разгоняется дикая инфляция, которая привела к объективному росту расходов по всем контрактам. Однако по военным контрактам с Пентагоном цены фиксированные и так просто их пересмотреть нельзя.

Вот поэтому с начала года Boeing и ушел в такой минус, а Airbus выглядит на его фоне намного лучше. Нет ничего удивительного в том, что американцы сейчас готовы окончательно зарезать своего европейского конкурента вместе со всей Европой, чтобы дуополия вдруг не превратилась в монополию.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 7 ноября 2022 17:10
    +2
    Запрет на полёты недружественных стран над территорией РФ нанёс обоюдный ущерб, им – увеличение расходов на топливо, нам – оплата за техобслуживание. Импортозамещение российского титан и аллюминия, не одномоментно, но не составит проблемы, в отличие от Ависмы спрос на продукцию которой в долгосрочной перспективе не возместит авиастроительная программа РФ.
    Боинг, системообразующий концерн, на подобии Газпрома или Транснефти, а потому всегда может расчитывать на государственную поддержку.
    В борьбе с инфляцией, которая в июне выросла до 9%, ФРС повысила ключевую ставку до 3%, а также распродаёт казначейские и ипотечные бумаги, что в целом должно остановить или снизить инфляцию и рост цен, ну и как говорил Бернанкин Бен, военные заказы играют в экономике не послнднее значкеие.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 7 ноября 2022 18:59
    +1
    Вах. Но статья прямо противоречит прошлым заметкам, что промышленность ейропы загибается в угоду ЮСА.А здесь ровно наоборот
  3. Шмурзик Онлайн Шмурзик
    Шмурзик (Seymslav) 7 ноября 2022 20:20
    +1
    В результате западные авиаперевозчики теперь вынуждены лететь вокруг России вместо привычного прямого маршрута из Европы в Азию. Это увеличивает время перелета на несколько часов, что в сочетании с возросшими ценами на топливо делает их бизнес менее рентабельным. Европейским и американским авиакомпаниям теперь приходится увеличивать расходы на топливо и заработные платы членам экипажей. При этом отметим, что прекрасно себя чувствуют воздушные перевозчики из стран, которые не стали вводить антироссийские санкции. Индийская Air India, гонконгская Cathay Pacific и ближневосточные компании Emirates, Qatar Airways и Etihad Airways PJSC по-прежнему могут свободно пользоваться российским воздушным пространством, снимая сливки с рынка, откуда «самовыпилились» Air Canada и United Airlines.

    А какая вообще есть связь между проблемами производителей с преференциями и проблемами эксплуатантов ???
    1. Alex Kiselev Офлайн Alex Kiselev
      Alex Kiselev (Alex Kiselev) 7 ноября 2022 23:16
      -3
      Да лишь бы ляпнуть, статья не имеет ничего общего с реальностью и основана только на 2ух цифрах из "тырнета" - это 57 раз и 4 млрд зелени.
  4. 1_2 Офлайн 1_2
    1_2 (Летят утки) 8 ноября 2022 14:51
    0
    на Западе изначально любое производство приносит только убытки, так как там выше себестоимость : налоги,зарплаты, ресурсы и т.д но все убытки Запад компенсируют печатанием трлн фантиков