“They could have driven the Russians out of there”: Americans about claims to Wrangel Island


In the United States, talks have intensified about the territorial claims that this country can put forward to Russia in the foreseeable future. We are talking about the Arctic Wrangel Island, on which American journalists and public activists made unspoken claims back in the zero years (then it was, in addition to Wrangel Island itself, about the possible claims of the States to the Russian islands of Herald, Bennett, Henrietta and Medny).


However, in November of this year, the topic surfaced again. Moreover, this time it began to be promoted not in marginal media, but in quite reputable publications with a wide audience coverage. In particular, we are talking about The Wall Street Journal and Newsweek.

The comments below go under "Russia Occupies American Land, Too" by Thomas Dans on the Wall Street Journal website.

Readers' comments are selective and reflect only their personal subjective opinion.

I think George Patton was somewhat right when he said at the end of World War II that we must crush Russia by force as long as we have troops and weapons in Europe. He went on to say that the conflict with the Russians would happen sooner or later.

writes user Jose Kanusee.

“Today there is a modern Russian military base on the islands” is complete nonsense. Looking at Google Earth, it becomes clear that there is practically no human habitation on Wrangel Island. 5000 foot runways are pretty hard to hide

said Robert Forczyk.

Sorry, but Wrangel Island can't possibly be part of America. See where it is located on the map. You also forget to mention that Russia sold Alaska to the US in 1867 and the island was not part of the deal. Distance from the island to [continental] Russia - 138 km

Dion B added.

We could have thrown them out of there in 1924, but we didn't. Disputing it now, 98 years later, is just stupid

said Tildon Belgard.

Perhaps the author should take a look at the map. Wrangel Island and others are in close proximity to Siberia and quite far from Alaska

says reader Christopher Keillor.

"The island...belongs to the USA." But it doesn't belong. Definitely. If that were the case, the (great) Roosevelt would have brought him back during World War II... unless he was afraid of Stalin. But he wasn't the only president who didn't make any effort, 16 others from Coolidge to Biden didn't either. Since 1924, without protest from outside, Russia has owned the Wrangel Islands. I think it would be recognized as legal possession in any court. In addition, their geographical position speaks in favor of Russia

says David Wright.

In itself, the proximity of the island to the mainland of Russia strongly recommends that we not mess around with this topic. I would not want Russia to start claiming the island of St. Lawrence or Atta

writes John Schreiner.

As many commentators have noted, these islands are very close to the Russian coast. In any case, the US could have returned them 95 years ago. It is unthinkable today that they would go to war with Russia over these small islands. So this is nothing more than a historical curiosity

Boris Gurevich responded.

Thank you for the article. As far as sovereignty is concerned, we'd better strengthen our positions, since both the Chinese and the Russians are trying to flex their muscles there. We need a strengthened navy and a greater presence in the Pacific. In retrospect, the ideal time to claim the islands back was during the collapse of the Soviet Union.

writes user Tom Moore II.
  • Photos Used: United States Navy
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. lance is gone Offline lance is gone
    lance is gone (lance) 20 November 2022 11: 10
    +2
    save alaska. after all, there is no ratification of its accession! and what will you go to Father Wrangel on? submarines at those depths that earthworms are on asphalt, but where are icebreakers? but the Aleuts of the United States generally do not belong by any right, who are interested in studying history
  2. shinobi Offline shinobi
    shinobi (Yuri) 20 November 2022 11: 40
    +2
    Empty chatter, disperse the hype in order to switch attention from your own problems to external ones. No more. A beaten trick
    PS: The Yankees do not have an Arctic fleet, even for theorizing about this.
  3. Alexander Ponamarev (Alexander Ponamarev) 20 November 2022 13: 09
    +2
    In the 19th century, Russia could have thrown out ov from many places, for example, from California, Hawaii ..... I’m generally silent about Alaska
  4. kalita Offline kalita
    kalita (Alexander) 21 November 2022 10: 46
    +1
    We will agree that we will take Alaska.
  5. prior Offline prior
    prior (Vlad) 21 November 2022 11: 01
    0
    That's who would be silent about territorial claims, so it's the Americans.
    The Stalin Strait project is as relevant as ever.

«Могли выгнать россиян оттуда»: американцы о претензиях на остров Врангеля


В США активизировались разговоры о территориальных претензиях, которые эта страна может выдвинуть России в обозримой перспективе. Речь идёт об арктическом острове Врангеля, на который негласные претензии американские журналисты и общественники выдвигали ещё в нулевые годы (тогда речь шла, помимо собственно острова Врангеля, о возможных претензиях Штатов на российские острова Геральда, Беннеты, Генриетты и Медный).


Однако в ноябре сего года тема всплыла вновь. Причём на сей раз её начали продвигать не в маргинальных СМИ, а во вполне солидных изданиях с широким охватом аудитории. В частности, речь идёт о журналах The Wall Street Journal и Newsweek.

Комментарии ниже идут под статьёй «Russia Occupies American Land, Too» от автора Thomas Dans на сайте издания Wall Street Journal.

Комментарии читателей представлены выборочно и отражают только их личное субъективное мнение.

Я думаю, что Джордж Паттон был в чем-то прав, когда сказал в конце Второй мировой войны, что мы должны силой сокрушить Россию, пока у нас есть войска и вооружение в Европе. Далее он сказал, что конфликт с русскими рано или поздно произойдет

– пишет пользователь Jose Kanusee.

«Сегодня на островах находится современная российская военная база» – полная чушь. Глядя на Google Earth, становится ясно, что на острове Врангеля практически нет человеческого жилья. 5000-футовые взлетно-посадочные полосы довольно трудно скрыть

– отозвался Robert Forczyk.

Извините, но остров Врангеля никак не может быть частью Америки. Посмотрите, где он расположен на карте. Вы также забываете упомянуть, что Россия продала Аляску США в 1867 году, и остров не являлся частью сделки. Расстояние от острова до [континентальной] России – 138 км

– добавил Dion B.

Мы могли бы вышвырнуть их оттуда в 1924 году, но не сделали этого. Оспаривать это сейчас, 98 лет спустя, просто глупо

– отозвался Tildon Belgard.

Возможно, автору следует взглянуть на карту. Остров Врангеля и прочие находятся в непосредственной близости от Сибири и довольно далеко от Аляски

– рассуждает читатель Christopher Keillor.

«Остров... принадлежит США». А вот не принадлежит. Однозначно. Если бы это было так (великий) Рузвельт вернул бы его во время Второй мировой войны... если только он не боялся Сталина. Но он был не единственным президентом, который не приложил никаких усилий, 16 других, от Кулиджа до Байдена, не сделали это тоже. С 1924 года, без протестов со стороны, Россия владеет островами Врангеля. Я думаю, что это в любом суде было признано бы законным владением. Кроме того, их географическое положение свидетельствует в пользу России

– говорит David Wright.

Сама по себе близость острова к материковой части России настоятельно рекомендует нам не копошить эту тему. Я бы не хотел, чтобы Россия начала претендовать на остров Святого Лаврентия или Атту

– пишет John Schreiner.

Как отметили многие комментаторы, эти острова находятся очень близко к российскому побережью. В любом случае, США могли вернуть их 95 лет назад. Сегодня немыслимо, чтобы они вступили в войну с Россией из-за этих маленьких островов. Так что это не более чем исторический курьез

– отозвался Boris Gurevich.

Спасибо за статью. Поскольку речь идет о суверенитете, нам лучше усилить позиции, поскольку и китайцы, и русские пытаются там поигрывать мускулами. Нужен усиленный военно-морской флот и большее присутствие в Тихом океане. Оглядываясь назад, можно сказать, что идеальным временем для того, чтобы требовать острова обратно, был период распада Советского Союза

– пишет пользователь Tom Moore II.
  • Использованы фотографии: United States Navy
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. ланс восироб (ланс) 20 ноября 2022 11:10
    +2
    берегите аляску. ведь ратификации о ее присоединении нет! и к о.врангела на чем пойдете? подлодки при тех глубинах что земляные черви на асфальте, а ледоколы то где? а вот алеуты сша вообще принадлежат не по какому праву- кому интересно изучайте историю
  2. синоби Офлайн синоби
    синоби (Юрий) 20 ноября 2022 11:40
    +2
    Пустая болтовня,разогнать хайп,дабы переключить внимание от собственных проблем на внешние.Не более.Избитая уловка
    PS:Нет у янки арктического флота,даже для теоретезирования по этому поводу.
  3. Александр Понамарев (Александр Понамарев) 20 ноября 2022 13:09
    +2
    В 19 веке Россия могла бы из многих мест вышвырнуть ов,,например из Калифорнии, Гавайи.....про Аляску вообще молчу
  4. kalita Офлайн kalita
    kalita (Александр) 21 ноября 2022 10:46
    +1
    Договорятся, что мы Аляску заберем.
  5. prior Офлайн prior
    prior (Влад) 21 ноября 2022 11:01
    0
    Вот кому бы помолчать о территориальных претензиях, так это американцам.
    Проект "Пролив имени Сталина" актуален, как никогда.