Why is Russia building a state-of-the-art research complex in Antarctica?


Last week, an event occurred that was completely undeservedly ignored by the media. The research ship Akademik Fedorov left St. Petersburg for Antarctica, thus marking the 68th expedition to the South Pole.


In addition to conducting research, the tasks of the mission include the continuation of the construction of the newest wintering complex at the Vostok station. Elements of the modular station are delivered in parts. Completion of the construction of the ultra-modern complex is scheduled for 2025.

Due to the fact that the main attention is now focused on the Arctic with its richest natural resources, many of our compatriots have a question: why did Russia need to build a modern complex in the seemingly “useless” Antarctica?

First, for the sake of science. Under the thickness of the Antarctic ice, there are many secrets that can shed light on such important issues as the origin of life on Earth, etc.

Secondly, Antarctica, like the Arctic, is a real "storeroom" of natural resources. Yes, today their production there is extremely difficult. However, things may change in the future.

Finally, thirdly, despite the fact that Antarctica is a neutral territory, Great Britain, France, Norway, Australia, New Zealand, Chile and Argentina make their official claims to part of the continent.

Tellingly, before the signing of the treaty on the neutrality of Antarctica in 1959, as well as after it, Russia and the United States never made any claims to these territories.

However, both countries reserved the right to do so in the future. At the same time, judging by the heated geopolitical situation, it is very likely that this "future" may come soon, which means that the strengthening of our presence on the continent is very timely.

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Oleg V. Offline Oleg V.
    Oleg V. (Oleg Vladimirovich) 27 November 2022 20: 04
    +1
    And our semi-educated media always ignores everything positive. In this sense, it is not far from Shnur with his song "Our Economy".
  2. Petr Koldunov Offline Petr Koldunov
    Petr Koldunov (Peter) 28 November 2022 11: 44
    0
    What does it mean - for what??? And the fact that polar explorers live there every year, going deeper and deeper under the snow, that the station is completely dugout, that the buildings there are still in the 60s, that inside the station, on the main "street" of Solyanik, where all the warehouses are located in the open - temperature - 55C... is this how it should be?
  3. Quiet wind Offline Quiet wind
    Quiet wind (Yuri Baranov) 29 November 2022 00: 19
    +1
    Australia was discovered by the British and now it is part of Great Britain, Russia has opened Antarctica, so we can steer, especially when we accumulate strength, the Anglo-Saxons have clearly given up lately.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  4. Mikhalych Offline Mikhalych
    Mikhalych 27 December 2022 13: 51
    0
    First, for the sake of science. Under the thickness of the Antarctic ice, there are many secrets that can shed light on such important issues as the origin of life on Earth, etc.

    In order to shed light on the origin of life on Earth, it is not necessary to trudge to Antarctica. Pick up the Book and read: In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth (Gen. 1 et seq.). As for others, please be more specific.
    hi

Для чего Россия строит сверхсовременный исследовательский комплекс в Антарктиде


На прошлой неделе произошло событие, которое абсолютно незаслуженно было проигнорировано СМИ. Из Санкт-Петербурга в Антарктиду отправилось научно-исследовательское судно «Академик Федоров», тем самым ознаменовав уже 68-ю экспедицию на Южный полюс.


Помимо проведения исследований в задачи миссии входит продолжение строительства новейшего зимовочного комплекса на станции «Восток». Элементы модульной станции завозятся частями. Завершение возведения суперсовременного комплекса запланировано на 2025 год.

В связи с тем, что основное внимание сейчас приковано к Арктике с ее богатейшими природными ресурсами, у многих наших соотечественников возникает вопрос: для чего России понадобилось возводить современный комплекс в кажущейся на первый взгляд «бесполезной» Антарктиде?

Во-первых, ради науки. Под толщей антарктического льда хранится множество тайн, которые способны пролить свет на такие важные вопросы, как происхождение жизни на Земле и др.

Во-вторых, Антарктида, как и Арктика, является самой настоящей «кладовой» природных ресурсов. Да, сегодня их добыча там крайне затруднена. Однако в будущем все может измениться.

Наконец, в-третьих, несмотря на то, что Антарктида является нейтральной территорией, свои официальные претензии на часть континента предъявляют Великобритания, Франция, Норвегия, Австралия, Новая Зеландия, Чили и Аргентина.

Что характерно, до подписания договора о нейтральности Антарктиды в 1959 году, как и после него, Россия и США ни разу не предъявляли своих претензий на данные территории.

Однако обе страны оставили за собой право сделать это в будущем. При этом, судя по накалившейся геополитической обстановке, весьма вероятно, что это «будущее» может наступить уже скоро, а значит усиление нашего присутствия на континенте весьма своевременно.

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Олег Владимирович (Олег Владимирович) 27 ноября 2022 20:04
    +1
    А наше полуобразованное СМИ всегда все позитивное игнорирует. В этом смысле оно недалеко ушло от Шнура с его песенкой "Наша экономика".
  2. Петр Колдунов (Петр) 28 ноября 2022 11:44
    0
    Что значит - для чего??? А то, что полярники там живут ежегодно уходя все глубже под снег, что станция полностью земляночного типа, что постройки там еще 60-х годов, что внутри станции, на главной "улице" Соляника, где находятся все склады в открытом виде - температура -55С... это так и надо?
  3. Тихий ветер Офлайн Тихий ветер
    Тихий ветер (Юрий Баранов) 29 ноября 2022 00:19
    +1
    Австралию открыли англичане и теперь это часть Великобритании, Антарктиду открыла Россия так что нам и рулить ,особенно когда сил накопим ,англосаксы явно сдают последнее время .
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  4. Михалыч Офлайн Михалыч
    Михалыч 27 декабря 2022 13:51
    0
    Во-первых, ради науки. Под толщей антарктического льда хранится множество тайн, которые способны пролить свет на такие важные вопросы, как происхождение жизни на Земле и др.

    Для того, чтобы пролить свет на происхождение жизни на Земле не обязательно тащиться в Антарктиду. Возьми в руки Книгу и прочитай: В начале сотворил Бог небо и землю (Быт.1 и далее). Насчёт др. прошу конкретнее.
    hi