Project Syndicate: sanctions against China will lead to real conflict


Any attempt by America to introduce trade, technological or other restrictions against the PRC and its economics will not give the desired results, writes the analytical project Project Syndicate. Moreover, China can respond to them extremely harshly, which maximizes the risks of a direct military confrontation.


Traditionally, American authorities justify new export restrictions with national security issues, and in the case of the Celestial Empire, with opposition policy the unity of the army and the people, which is practiced by China, and the ever-increasing value of the list of "dual-use goods" in this sense.

The publication notes that the national security policy for Washington has always been at the forefront. That is why each of the two leading American parties is developing a consensus on anti-Chinese restrictions.
First, while the national security argument is easy for officials to make, it is hard to verify in practice. It was arguments like these that led to a long and costly war for the United States in the Middle East.

It would be overkill now to impose tough economic sanctions out of fear of what China might do in Taiwan or the South China Sea. Even worse, the sanctions themselves could backfire as they encourage Chinese leaders to take a more aggressive stance than they would otherwise.

says a Project Syndicate publication.

Secondly, the concept of dual-use goods is misleading, given that each item can be used for both civilian and military purposes. Given that any soldiers need to be fed and clothed, should food and clothing also be considered dual-use goods? And technologies developed for commercial use are often used by the military, the text says.

If national security nuances are indeed a concern, then the States should stop trading with unfriendly countries in general, not just technologically advanced products. But that doesn't happen.

Moreover, the very history of the United States testifies that yesterday a friendly state is capable of making a sharp turn in politics.
  • Photos Used: United States Navy
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. vlad127490 Offline vlad127490
    vlad127490 (Vlad Gor) 24 November 2022 13: 23
    +1
    Sanctions from the US and its satellites against China will NOT lead to a military clash. A war like the Russian Federation - Ukraine and NATO support for Ukraine, in the case of China - Taiwan will NOT. Beijing legally secured the status of Taiwan.
    In 2005, China passed the Anti-Secession Law. According to the document, in the event of a threat to the peaceful reunification of the mainland and Taiwan, the PRC government is obliged to resort to force and other necessary methods to preserve its territorial integrity.
    On June 15, 2022, China adopted the Chinese People's Liberation Army (PLA) legal framework for non-military military activities. That will allow the PRC army to participate in operations not related to the war.
    BEIJING, Oct. 22, 2022 - Delegates to the XNUMXth Congress of the Communist Party of China approved the introduction of a provision to oppose Taiwan independence to the Charter of the political force.
    Any military actions with Taiwan are qualified as an attack on the PRC, as actions taking place on the territory of China.
    Why did the leadership of the Russian Federation not adopt a law on Ukraine, similar to China's on Taiwan???

Project Syndicate: санкции против Китая приведут к реальному конфликту


Любые попытки Америки ввести торговые, технологические или иные ограничения против КНР и ее экономики не дадут желаемых результатов, пишет аналитический проект Project Syndicate. Более того, Китай может ответить на них предельно жестко, что максимизирует риски прямого военного столкновения.


Новые экспортные ограничения американские власти уже по традиции оправдывают вопросами национальной безопасности, а в случае с Поднебесной – противодействием политики единства армии и народа, которую практикует Китай, и всё возрастающему в этом смысле значению списка «товаров двойного назначения».

Издание отмечает, что политика в области национальной безопасности для Вашингтона всегда находилась во главе угла. Именно поэтому по антикитайским ограничениям складывается консенсус у каждой из двух ведущих американских партий.
Во-первых, хотя аргумент в пользу национальной безопасности официальным лицам привести легко, на деле его трудно проверить. Именно такие аргументы привели к долгой и дорогостоящей для Штатов войне на Ближнем Востоке.

Сейчас было бы перегибом вводить жесткие экономические санкции из страха перед тем, что Китай может сделать на Тайване или в Южно-Китайском море. Хуже того, сами санкции могут иметь неприятные последствия, поскольку побудят китайских лидеров занять более агрессивную позицию, чем было бы в противном случае

– утверждает публикация Project Syndicate.

Во-вторых, концепция товаров двойного назначения ошибочна, учитывая, что каждый товар может использоваться как для гражданских, так и для военных нужд. Принимая во внимание то, что любых солдат нужно кормить и одевать, должны ли продукты и одежда также считаться товарами двойного назначения? А технологии, разработанные для коммерческого использования, часто используются и для армии, говорится в тексте.

Если нюансы в сфере национальной безопасности действительно вызывают беспокойство, то Штаты должны прекратить торговать с недружественными странами вообще, а не только технологически продвинутой продукцией. Но этого не происходит.

Более того, сама история США свидетельствует о том, что вчера еще дружественное государство способно совершить резкий разворот в политике.
  • Использованы фотографии: United States Navy
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. vlad127490 Офлайн vlad127490
    vlad127490 (Vlad Gor) 24 ноября 2022 13:23
    +1
    Санкции со стороны США и его сателлитов против Китая НЕ приведут к боевому столкновению. Войны, подобной РФ - Украина и поддержки НАТО Украины, в случае Китай - Тайвань НЕ будет. Пекин законами закрепил статус Тайваня.
    В 2005 году Китай принял "Закон о противодействии расколу государства". Согласно документу, в случае возникновения угрозы мирному воссоединению материковой части страны и Тайваня правительство КНР обязано прибегнуть к силовым и другим необходимым способам для сохранения своей территориальной целостности.
    15 июня 2022 года Китай принял правовую основу Народно-освободительной армии Китая (НОАК) для армейских действий невоенного характера. Что позволит армии КНР участвовать в операциях, не связанных с войной.
    ПЕКИН, 22 октября 2022 г. Делегаты XX съезда Коммунистической партии Китая одобрили внесение в Устав политсилы положения о противодействии независимости Тайваня.
    Любые военные действия с Тайванем квалифицируются, как нападение на КНР, как действия проходящие на территории Китая.
    Почему руководство РФ не приняло закона по Украине, подобного, как Китай по Тайваню???