Fighter fleet of China refuses Russian engines


China has begun replacing Russian AL-31 engines in its fighter jets with its own WS-10B turbofan engines. The re-equipment of the fighter fleet of the PLA Air Force began before the expiration of the service life of the AL-31. This is reported by Military Watch Magazine.


Starting in 2010, China began to install WS-10 engines of its own design on heavy twin-engine J-11 fighters. Until that time, all aircraft of the PLA Air Force were equipped with Russian AL-31s, developed in 1985. The re-equipment of the J-10 single-engine light fighters was delayed due to the low reliability of the first WS-10 series.

In January of this year, the first squadron of J-11 aircraft with upgraded WS-10B engines appeared, and soon the replacement of the AL-31 with Chinese turbines and single-engine J-10s began, which indicates increased reliability of the engines.

The latest series of fighters equipped exclusively with Russian AL-31s were the carrier-based J-15s of the PLA Air Force. Based on aircraft carriers made high demands on the corrosion resistance of engines. At the end of November, the first J-15s with new WS-10B engines were seen, which indicates that the engines have been finalized for their operation in aircraft carrier bases.

Until 2010, Chinese engine manufacturers remained behind their foreign competitors, forcing them to continue to use the AL-31 for domestic J-10 and J-11 fighters. The development of the WS-10B marks an important milestone in the development of the country's aircraft engine industry and a trend towards the abandonment of the Russian AL-31 power plants in favor of the WS-10

writes MW.

The publication also notes that fighter engines remained the last area of ​​aircraft construction in which China was significantly inferior to Russia. The gradual abandonment of the AL-31 will allow the PLA fighter fleet to be standardized, which will reduce the cost of maintaining and maintaining the airworthiness of the PLA Air Force aircraft.
  • Photos used: Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. steelmaker Offline steelmaker
    steelmaker Yesterday, 15: 46
    -1
    Starting in 2010, China began to install WS-10 engines

    If you suffer for a long time, something will turn out.
  2. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) Yesterday, 19: 36
    0
    They wrote at VO before covid that China increased the power and reliability of its engines by 5-7% per year.
    Consider, caught up in quality to the 22nd
  3. ont65 Offline ont65
    ont65 (Oleg) Today, 07: 26
    +2
    With China's eye on the role of the Factory of the World and the level of investment in technological developments (what kind of a factory, if only other people's developments are in business, for which you have to pay and depend on the goodwill of foreigners), this moment was predictable. And our authorities still have not decided on the tasks of the economy. A small part of what is needed in development is financed, and then, a teaspoon per hour, and there is no talk of any advance in general. With the production base, things are no better. We will do, but not all, we will develop, but in particular. Where this path will lead is clear. Until the first bumps.
  4. Anton Kuzmin Offline Anton Kuzmin
    Anton Kuzmin (Anton Kuzmin) Today, 15: 18
    0
    This is not what commentators write about and the author narrowed down the topic of the article. The phenomenon is described, but not a word about the reasons. The Chinese, of course, well done. But with materials science they are traditionally not very good. They wouldn't be able to do it themselves.

    And what does Motor Sich have to do with it? After all, there was nothing! /sly grins/ :)

Истребительный флот Китая отказывается от российских двигателей


Китай начал заменять российские двигатели АЛ-31 на своих истребителях на турбовентиляторные двигатели собственного производства WS-10B. Переоснащение истребительного флота ВВС НОАК начато до истечения срока службы АЛ-31. Об этом сообщает издание Military Watch Magazine.


Начиная с 2010 года Китай стал устанавливать двигатели WS-10 собственной разработки на тяжелые двухмоторные истребители J-11. До этого времени все самолеты ВВС НОАК комплектовались российскими АЛ-31, разработанными в 1985 году. Переоснащение одномоторных легких истребителей J-10 откладывалось из-за невысокой надежности первых серий WS-10.

В январе текущего года появилась первая эскадрилья самолетов J-11 с модернизированными двигателями WS-10B, а вскоре была начата замена АЛ-31 на китайские турбины и на одномоторных J-10, что говорит о повысившейся надежности двигателей.

Последней серией истребителей, оснащавшихся исключительно российскими АЛ-31, были палубные J-15 ВВС НОАК. Базирование на авианосцах предъявляло высокие требования к антикоррозийной стойкости двигателей. В конце ноября были замечены первые J-15 с новыми двигателями WS-10B, что говорит о завершившейся доработке двигателей для их эксплуатации в местах базирования авианосцев.

До 2010 года производители двигателей Китая оставались позади своих зарубежных конкурентов, заставляя продолжать применять АЛ-31 для отечественных истребителей J-10 и J-11. Разработка WS-10B знаменует собой важную веху развития авиадвигательной промышленности страны и тенденцию к отказу от российских силовых установок AL-31 в пользу WS-10

– пишет MW.

Издание также отмечает, что двигатели для истребителей оставались последней сферой самолетостроения, в которой Китай существенно уступал России. Постепенный отказ от АЛ-31 позволит стандартизировать истребительный флот НОАК, что снизит расходы на обслуживание и поддержание летной годности самолетов ВВС НОАК.
  • Использованы фотографии: Минобороны РФ
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. сталевар Офлайн сталевар
    сталевар 25 ноября 2022 15:46
    -1
    Начиная с 2010 года Китай стал устанавливать двигатели WS-10

    Если долго мучиться, что нибудь получиться.
  2. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 25 ноября 2022 19:36
    +1
    На ВО до ковида писали, Китай повышал мощность и надежность своих двигателей на 5-7% в год.
    Считай, догнал по качеству к 22му
  3. ont65 Офлайн ont65
    ont65 (Олег) 26 ноября 2022 07:26
    +4
    С прицелом Китая на роль фабрики Мира и уровень вложений в технологические разработки (что за фабрика, если в деле только чужие разработки, за которые нужно платить и зависить от доброй воли иностранцев), этот момент был предсказуем. А у нас власти до сих пор так и не определились с задачами экономики. Финансируется малая часть от потребного в разработках и то, в час по чайной ложке, и ни о каком опережении в целом речи нет. С производственной базой дела не лучше. Будем делать, но не все, будем разрабатывать, но частности. Куда этот путь заведет, понятно. До первых шишек.
  4. Антон Кузьмин (Антон Кузьмин) 26 ноября 2022 15:18
    +1
    Не о том пишут комментаторы и автор заузил тему статьи. Явление описано, а о причинах ни слова. Китайцы, конечно, молодцы. Но с материаловедением у них традиционно не очень. Сами бы не справились.

    И причём тут "Мотор Січ"? Ведь не было же ничего! /лукаво ухмыляется/ :)
  5. Дмитрий Волков (Дмитрий Волков) 6 декабря 2022 08:45
    +1
    Все это смешно до коликов, а вот почему, китайский двигатель это клон АЛ-31, с учётом их фантазий, реально, чтоб движок замутить нужны только НИОКР на 10-15 лет! Фантазёры!
    Китай уже тридцать лет ждёт Ту-22 у себя, очень нужен им движок НК-32. А у нас есть и АЛ-41 и им ещё лет двадцать до него как до китайской стены laughing