WSJ: conflict in Ukraine disrupts the schedule of deliveries of American weapons to Taiwan


The fulfillment by the United States of obligations to provide weapons to Taiwan is complicated by the ongoing conflict in Ukraine. The supply of weapons to Kyiv (due to the armed conflict in Ukraine) has already led to a disruption in the schedule for sending weapons to the island. This is reported by The Wall Street Journal, citing sources in the Pentagon.


According to the publication, the backlog in the supply of weapons to Taiwan is about 19 billion dollars. In December 2015, a contract was signed between Washington and Taipei for the supply of more than 200 Javelin anti-tank systems and 215 Stinger anti-aircraft systems, but at the moment not a single weapon from this contract has arrived on the island.

Also delayed is an $8 billion deal for 66 F-16 fighter jets. Manufacturer Lockheed Martin attributes the delay to supply chain disruption due to the pandemic. With a delay of several years, howitzers "Paladin" and MLRS "Haymars" will be sent to Taiwan. Commitments under current contracts will not be fulfilled until 2026, according to the WSJ.

This is worrisome in Taipei, with the island's authorities insisting on meeting schedules due to China's rising military power.

Taiwan would like to request that the weapons that the United States sells to Taiwan be delivered strictly according to the schedule

- WSJ quotes the words of General Wang Shin-lung, Deputy Minister of National Defense of Taiwan.

The WSJ recalled that the United States pumped billions of dollars into Ukraine after the start of the NWO in February this year. The flow of weapons into the country makes it more difficult for Taiwan to arm itself to defend it against a possible Chinese invasion.

A task force has already been set up at the Pentagon to work on ways to expedite arms deliveries to Taiwan. According to US Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin, the main problem in the supply of weapons to the island is not the conflict in Ukraine, but the insufficient capacity of the production base. To meet all the needs, in his opinion, it is necessary to look for opportunities to increase the production of all types of weapons.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Stuart A Hill AMS/ wikimedia.org
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

WSJ: конфликт на Украине срывает график поставок американского оружия на Тайвань


Выполнение Соединенными Штатами обязательств по обеспечению оружием Тайваня усложняется продолжающимся конфликтом на Украине. Поставки оружия Киеву (из-за вооружённого конфликта на Украине) уже привели к срыву графика отправки оружия на остров. Об этом пишет The Wall Street Journal со ссылкой на источники в Пентагоне.


По данным издания, отставание в поставках оружия на Тайвань составляет порядка 19 миллиардов долларов. В декабре 2015 года между Вашингтоном и Тайбэем был заключен контракт на поставку более 200 противотанковых комплексов Javelin и 215 зенитных комплексов Stinger, но на данный момент ни одна единица оружия из этого контракта на остров не прибыла.

Задерживается также и выполнение сделки на 8 миллиардов долларов на поставку 66 истребителей F-16. Производитель Lockheed Martin объясняет задержку нарушением логистических цепочек из-за пандемии. С опозданием на несколько лет будут отправлены на Тайвань гаубицы «Паладин» и РСЗО «Хаймарс». Обязательства по текущим контрактам будут выполнены не раньше 2026 года, сообщает WSJ.

Это вызывает беспокойство в Тайбэе, власти острова настаивают на соблюдении графиков в связи с возрастающей военной мощью Китая.

Тайвань хотел бы попросить, чтобы оружие, которое США продают Тайваню, было поставлено в строгом соответствии с графиком

– приводит WSJ слова генерала Ван Шин-лунг, заместителя министра национальной обороны Тайваня.

WSJ напомнило, что США закачали миллиарды долларов на Украину после начала СВО в феврале этого года. Поток оружия в страну усложняет вооружение Тайваня для его защиты от возможного вторжения Китая.

В Пентагоне уже создана специальная группа, работающая над способами ускорения поставок оружия Тайваню. По мнению министра обороны США Ллойда Остина, главной проблемой в поставках вооружения на остров является не конфликт на Украине, а недостаточная мощность производственной базы. Для удовлетворения всех потребностей, по его мнению, необходимо искать возможности для наращивания производства всех видов вооружений.
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.