The US is eyeing the Russian Northeast


It is traditionally believed that the main threat from the United States to the Russian Federation comes without fail from the western direction, where the main part of the NATO bloc is located, the Arctic and even the Middle East are less often mentioned.


The Pacific direction is rarely remembered, although it is there that we directly border the States. Between the American and Russian islands in the Diomede archipelago is only 3,5 km.

What is especially interesting is that such a view exists not only in the domestic, but also in the foreign press. Like, China belongs to the Pacific direction, and Russia is only Europe and the Atlantic, forgetting to simply look at the map. The reality, however, is much more complicated.

As has been said many times, the Pacific Ocean is not only of fundamental importance for the United States of America, not only for geopolitical and economic reasons. It is also part of the national myth, a continuation of the concepts of "Clear Destiny" and the American frontier. A continuation of that very Conquest of the West, if you like, where the West instead of the prairies became the ocean expanses, and the Indians - the peoples of the Pacific Ocean.

For the sake of access to the Pacific expanse in the 54th century, the States were ready to fight with the then superpower Britain (“40-XNUMX or war”), later they went into a collision with Mexico, and then with Spain. And already in the twentieth century, they had to meet in large-scale battles with imperial Japan. During the victories in each of the wars, the borders and possessions of the United States expanded to the West. It is believed that the XNUMXst century will bring the Americans a fight with China.

Of course, in the case of the Celestial Empire, we are talking about curbing the economic and strategic challenge, and not about direct expansion.

"Bad Russians" in good territory


But the object of expansion, apparently, is Russia as a continuation of the frontier. Recent op-eds in the Wall Street Journal and Newsweek claiming as yet unofficial claims to Enemy Island are just the beginning. Some time ago, officials from the state of Alaska tried to convince the federal authorities to put forward claims by the Russian Federation to the Wrangel, Medny Herald, Bennett, and Henrietta islands. The real appetites of the Americans are undoubtedly much wider. And it includes many islands in the Pacific Ocean and the Arctic. And perhaps not only the islands.

The reasons are also on the surface. The US population has jumped from 250 million in 1990 to 335 million today. Not counting illegal migration, which in just two years of the Joe Biden administration is estimated to range from 2 to 4 million illegally crossing the border.

The distribution of free federal lands to private individuals ended in the eighties of the last century and just in Alaska.

There is another sign of preparation for conflict. It is also important that in the days of Gorbachev, Yeltsin, as well as the early, quite favorable to the West, Putin, Hollywood did not stop dehumanizing Russians. Even when in the XNUMXs, in the wake of the oil boom, the Russian film market reached significant levels comparable to the level of a large Western European country, the disgusting “Russian” villains did not disappear anywhere. Rather the opposite. So dehumanize only before or during wars. What people look like are only those on-screen “Russians” who serve the American protagonist with humiliating fidelity.

If someone now rushes to declare that Hollywood producers are independent of policy, let me remind you that in the nineties, large and small screens were filled with films where, in addition to Russians, the villains were the inhabitants of Serbia and Iraq. How it ended for the aforementioned countries at the turn of the century, presumably, everyone remembers.

Returning to American expansionism, it is worth noting one more thing. The last major US acquisition on the continent is Alaska, which belongs to both the Pacific Ocean and the Arctic. Also, Alaska is the only part of the conditionally continental United States that has experienced the presence of the invader's boot in recent history: a short-term Japanese invasion of the Aleutians during the Second World War.

Americans treat such symbolic things very reverently. That is why Alaska has long received state status, but the same, for example, Puerto Rico - no.

Regarding the interests of the United States in the North, it is appropriate to recall the recent claims during the presidency of Donald Trump about the purchase of Danish Greenland.

Resources and spaces


The conclusion is simple: the idea of ​​a new frontier is still relevant to the American elite and public consciousness. The question is only in the specific direction of the throw.

All of the above does not mean that the Americans are eager to conquer cold lands precisely in order to settle there. This is not entirely true. But it is obvious that it is in the North that the United States sees the potential for expansion already in the XNUMXst century. The Pacific North and the Arctic are resources for centuries: from oil and gas to salmon, a significant part of which ends up on the tables of all Americans from that region.

The north is also important for military purposes: a permanent missile defense system base (one of them, equipped with Ground-Based Interceptors, has been operating in Alaska for almost twenty years), hypersonic missiles or an airfield in the Arctic will radically change the entire balance of forces. Of course, there is no question of any international law, everything will be decided exclusively by brute force.

This is a good answer to our pro-Western liberals of all stripes, who have been howling picturesquely for decades: “Why would anyone attack us? What can we take? The rickety village houses? Obviously, they found something to take from Russia, and this is not hidden. In 1999, Yugoslavia was demonstratively destroyed not even for profit, but only for the sake of intimidating the rest of the world.

As for the Russian Federation in particular, it will critically depend a lot on the results of the SVO in Ukraine.

If these results are, to put it mildly, unconvincing in the end, whether because of military weakness or because Gorbachev’s spirit of bargaining and capitulation again prevails in high offices, then we will inevitably get problems in the Northeast. And since there will be a constant threat in the Southwest, thirsting for revenge, there will simply not be enough resources for other directions.

And instead of "cunning plans" and "geopolitical chess" we get a "childish checkmate" with a noose around his neck. "Cunning plan" will be too cunning.

If the result of the SVO can be interpreted as a victory, that is, the conditions are better than those that existed before the conflict - and this is the conditional "Finlandization" of Ukraine and the recognition of new borders - then we will get a short respite. At least a few years for the transition from the raw material model to the industrial one.

However, this is only a chance, not a guarantee of reasonable action. In the XNUMXs, a whole decade of high prices, combined with a calm geopolitical environment (rarely in the history of Russia had such a fortunate coincidence) was spent by the Kremlin with extremely low productivity. Although even then it was clear what the West and the United States were leading to: Iraq, the missile defense system in Europe, the total anti-Russian propaganda that did not slow down even for a moment after the Cold War.

How the new pause will be used and whether we will get it at all is still an open question. We will get an answer to it very soon.

In the meantime, it is necessary to make notes in the margins regarding the future plans of the enemy. Which he, in general, no longer hides.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Afinogen Offline Afinogen
    Afinogen (Afinogen) 29 November 2022 20: 56
    +2
    Do not open your mouth on someone else's piece.
  2. Alex D Online Alex D
    Alex D (Alex D) 30 November 2022 00: 14
    +1
    Quote: Athenogen
    Do not open your mouth on someone else's piece.

    And what will Russia do? Nobody has ever paid Russia. The country is a colony of the West, as it was, and remains.
  3. 1_2 Offline 1_2
    1_2 (Ducks are flying) 30 November 2022 00: 32
    +1
    Shevardnadze's gift has not yet been returned, but all you need to do is put several frigates and submarines on duty, and say a couple of affectionate words to the State Department
  4. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 30 November 2022 09: 09
    +1
    And what did you want?
    Imperialism in the yard.
    The comments here are full of statements: what to expect then, let's hit ....
    So there.

    And what? matter of life
    Under Yeltsin, they straightened the border, under Putin, too. In Norway, China and Japan like. Those. officially gave away part of the territory ...
  5. AICO Offline AICO
    AICO (Vyacheslav) 30 November 2022 19: 07
    +1
    - Maybe they need it - to bring "sharpness" with a fork so that they do not look closely !?

В США засматриваются на русский Северо-Восток


Традиционно считается, что основная угроза от Соединённых Штатов для РФ исходит непременно с западного направления, где находится основная часть блока НАТО, реже упоминают Арктику и даже Ближний Восток.


Про тихоокеанское направление вспоминают совсем редко, хотя именно там мы со Штатами граничим напрямую. Между американским и российским островами в архипелаге Диомида всего 3,5 км.

Что особенно интересно, подобный взгляд бытует не только в отечественной, но и в зарубежной прессе. Мол, Китай относится к тихоокеанскому направлению, а Россия это только Европа и Атлантика, забывая элементарно посмотреть на карту. При этом реальность куда сложнее.

Как уже много раз говорилось, Тихий океан не только имеет для Соединённых Штатов Америки принципиальное значение отнюдь не только по геополитическим и экономическим причинам. Он ещё и часть национального мифа, продолжение концепций «Ясного предначертания» и американского фронтира. Продолжение того самого Покорения Запада, если угодно, где Западом вместо прерий стали океанские просторы, а индейцами – народы Тихого океана.

Ради выхода к тихоокеанскому простору в XIX столетии Штаты были готовы воевать с тогдашней сверхдержавой Британией («54-40 или война»), позднее пошли на столкновение с Мексикой, а затем – и Испанией. А уже в двадцатом веке пришлось сойтись в масштабных сражениях с императорской Японией. В ходе побед в каждой из войн границы и владения США расширялись на Запад. Считается, что XXI век принесёт американцам схватку с Китаем.

Конечно же, в случае с Поднебесной речь о пресечении экономического и стратегического вызова, а не о прямой экспансии.

«Плохие русские» на хорошей территории


А вот объектом экспансии, судя по всему, назначена Россия как продолжение фронтира. Недавние заметки в журналах Wall Street Journal и Newsweek, в которых заявлены пока ещё неофициальные претензии на остров Врагнеля – лишь начало. Ещё некоторое время назад чиновники штата Аляска попытались убедить федеральные власти выдвинуть претензии РФ на острова Врангеля, Медный Геральда, Беннеты, Генриетты. Реальные аппетиты у американцев, несомненно, гораздо шире. И туда входят многие острова Тихого океана и Арктики. А возможно, и не только острова.

Причины также на поверхности. Население США с 250 млн. в 1990 году подпрыгнуло к 335 млн. к настоящему времени. Не считая нелегальной миграции, которую только за два года администрации Джо Байдена оценивают в диапазоне от 2 до 4 млн. незаконно пересекших границу.

Раздача же свободных федеральных земель частным лицам закончилась в восьмидесятых годах прошлого века и как раз на Аляске.

Есть и ещё один признак подготовки к конфликту. Важно и то, что во времена Горбачёва, Ельцина, а также раннего, вполне благосклонного к Западу, Путина, Голливуд не переставал расчеловечивать русских. Даже когда в нулевые годы, на волне нефтяного бума, российский кинорынок достиг заметных значений, сравнимых с уровнем большой западноевропейской страны, отвратительные «русские» злодеи никуда не исчезли. Скорее наоборот. Так расчеловечивают только перед или во время войн. Как люди выглядят только те экранные «русские», которые с унизительной верностью служат американскому протагонисту.

Если кто-то ныне бросится заявлять, о том, что голливудские продюсеры независимы от политики, то напомню, что в девяностые годы большие и малые экраны заполонили фильмы, где злодеями, помимо русских, выступали жители Сербии и Ирака. Чем это закончилось для вышеупомянутых стран на рубеже веков, надо полагать, помнят все.

Возвращаясь к американскому экспансионизму, стоит заметить вот ещё что. Последнее крупное приобретение США на континенте это как раз Аляска, которая принадлежит одновременно Тихому океану и Арктике. Также Аляска это единственная часть условно континентальных Соединённых Штатов, которая испытала на себе в новейшей истории пребывание сапога оккупанта: кратковременное японское вторжение на Алеуты во время второй мировой войны.

Американцы подобным символическим вещам относятся очень трепетно. Именно поэтому Аляска давно получила статус штата, а тот же, к примеру, Пуэрто-Рико – нет.

Относительно интересов США на Севере уместно вспомнить в и недавние претензии в период президентства Дональда Трампа насчёт покупки датской Гренландии.

Ресурсы и пространства


Вывод прост: идея нового фронтира всё ещё актуальна для американской элиты и общественного сознания. Вопрос лишь в конкретном направлении броска.

Всё вышесказанное не значит, что американцы рвутся отвоёвывать холодные земли именно для того, чтобы именно селиться там. Это не совсем так. Но очевидно, именно на Севере Соединённые Штаты видят потенциал для экспансии уже в XXI веке. Север Тихого океана и Арктика – это ресурсы на столетия: от нефти и газа до лосося, значительная часть которого попадает на столы всех американцев как раз из того региона.

Север важен и для военных целей: постоянная база системы ПРО (одна из них, оснащённая перехватчиками Ground-Based Interceptor, уже без малого двадцать лет действует на Аляске), гиперзвуковых ракет или аэродром в Арктике радикально поменяют всё соотношение сил. Разумеется, ни о каком международном праве речи не идёт, всё будет решать исключительно грубая сила.

Это хороший ответ нашим прозападным либералам всех мастей, которые десятилетиями картинно завывали: «Зачем на нас кому-то нападать? Что у нас брать? Покосившиеся деревенские дома?» Очевидно, что у России нашли, что взять и это не скрывается. В 1999 году Югославию показательно уничтожили даже не ради выгоды, а лишь ради устрашения остального мира.

А что касается именно РФ, то критически много будет зависеть от результатов СВО на Украине.

Если результаты эти будут в итоге, мягко говоря, неубедительны, не важно, из-за военной ли слабости или из-за того, что в высоких кабинетах вновь возобладает горбачёвский дух торгашества и капитулянтства, то мы неизбежно получим проблемы на Северо-востоке. А поскольку на Юго-западе будет существовать постоянная угроза, жаждущая мести, то ресурсов на другие направления просто не хватит.

И вместо «хитрых планов» и «геополитических шахмат» получим «детский мат» с удавкой на шее. «Хитрый план» окажется слишком хитрым.

Если результат СВО будет можно трактовать как победу, то есть условия лучшие, тех, что существовали до конфликта – а это условная «финляндизация» Украины и признание новых границ – то мы получим короткую передышку. Как минимум, несколько лет на переход от сырьевой модели к промышленной.

Однако это лишь шанс, а не гарантия разумных действий. В нулевые целое десятилетие высоких цен в сочетании со спокойной геополитической обстановкой (редко в истории Россия имела такое удачное совпадение) было потрачено Кремлём с крайне низкой продуктивностью. Хотя уже тогда было понятно, к чему ведёт Запад и США: Ирак, система ПРО в Европе, тотальная антироссийская пропаганда, не сбавлявшая обороты ни на миг после холодной войны.

Как будет использована новая пауза и получим ли мы её вообще – вопрос до сих пор открытый. Ответ на него мы получим совсем скоро.

Пока же надо делать пометки на полях, относительно грядущих планов противника. Которых тот, в общем-то, уже и не скрывает.
5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Афиноген Офлайн Афиноген
    Афиноген (Афиноген) 29 ноября 2022 20:56
    +2
    На чужой кусок не разевай роток.
  2. Alex D Офлайн Alex D
    Alex D (Alex D) 30 ноября 2022 00:14
    +1
    Цитата: Афиноген
    На чужой кусок не разевай роток.

    А что Россия сделает? России никто никогда не платил. Страна - колония Запада как была , так и осталась.
  3. 1_2 Офлайн 1_2
    1_2 (Летят утки) 30 ноября 2022 00:32
    +1
    подарок Шеварнадзе до сих пор так и не возвращен, а всего-то надо поставить на дежурство несколько фрегатов и подлодок, и сказать пару ласковых Госдепу
  4. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 30 ноября 2022 09:09
    +1
    А что хотели то?
    Империализм на дворе.
    Коментарии и здесь полны высказываний: а что ждать то, давай вдарим....
    Так и там.

    А что? дело житейское
    При Ельцин спрямляли границу, при Путине - тоже. У норвегии, Китае и Японии вроде. Т.е. официально отдали часть территории...
  5. AICO Офлайн AICO
    AICO (Вячеслав) 30 ноября 2022 19:07
    +1
    - Может им того - вилкой "резкость" навести, чтобы не приглядывались!?