Obsolete F-15 fighter jets at US base in Japan to replace attack drones


At the end of October this year, the Pentagon announced the withdrawal of obsolete F-15 fighters from the Kadena military base in Japanese Okinawa. These aircraft will be replaced by attack drones.


The main combat unit on Kadena will be the new experimental XQ-58A Valkyrie UAVs. The drone is equipped with a small turbojet rocket engine, providing a range of more than 2000 km. The range of weapons includes guided air-to-air and air-to-ground missiles. According to the test results at the Pentagon, it is assumed that the Valkyrie is capable of engaging in combat with manned fighters.

The increasing combat effectiveness of the Chinese air force has threatened the security of the main US base in the region. An operational replacement of the F-15 with fifth-generation fighters is not yet possible, since the United States does not have a sufficient number of new aircraft. At the same time, according to the Pentagon leadership, it is necessary to continue to provide military assistance to Taiwan and South Korea and maintain a balance of power in the region.

The location of the Kadena base on Okinawa is strategically beneficial for the United States, as it allows maneuvers to be carried out in close proximity to Taiwan. But at the same time, it is within the reach of Chinese cruise and ballistic missiles. This forces the leadership of the Pentagon to speed up work on re-equipping the base. But apart from drones, the Pentagon has nothing to place on Okinawa yet.
  • Photos Used: US Air Force
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 30 November 2022 19: 09
    0
    UAV XQ-58A "Valkyrie" becomes the sixth generation fighter. Over time, they will fully bring it to the desired qualities and replace 5th generation fighters .. Perhaps the Russian Federation won by delaying the construction of the S-57, so it is necessary to immediately switch to the sixth generation.
  2. Cetron Offline Cetron
    Cetron (Peteris) 1 December 2022 02: 48
    0
    Will the f-15 be sent to the outskirts? ...

Устаревшие истребители F-15 на базе США в Японии заменят ударные беспилотники


В конце октября текущего года Пентагон объявил о выводе устаревших истребителей F-15 с военной базы Кадена на японской Окинаве. Заменой этим самолетам станут ударные беспилотники.


Основной боевой единицей на Кадене станут новые экспериментальные БПЛА XQ-58A «Валькирия». Дрон оснащен малым турбореактивным ракетным двигателем, обеспечивающим радиус действия более 2000 км. В номенклатуру вооружений входят управляемые ракеты класса «воздух-воздух» и «воздух-земля». По результатам испытаний в Пентагоне предполагают, что «Валькирия» способны вступать в бой с пилотируемыми истребителями.

Возрастающая боеспособность китайских ВВС поставила под угрозу безопасность главную базу США в регионе. Оперативная замена F-15 на истребители пятого поколения пока невозможна, поскольку США не располагают достаточным количеством новых самолетов. При этом, как заявляют в руководстве Пентагона, необходимо продолжать оказывать военную помощь Тайваню и Южной Корее и сохранять баланс сил в регионе.

Расположение базы Кадена на Окинаве стратегически выгодно для США, поскольку позволяет проводить маневры в непосредственной близости от Тайваня. Но при этом она досягаема для китайских крылатых и баллистических ракет. Это вынуждает руководство Пентагона форсировать работы по перевооружению базы. Но кроме беспилотников Пентагону на Окинаве пока разместить нечего.
  • Использованы фотографии: U.S. Air Force
2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 30 ноября 2022 19:09
    0
    БПЛА XQ-58A «Валькирия» становится истребителем шестого поколения. Со временем доведут полностью до нужных качеств и заменит истребители 5 поколения.. Возможно РФ и выиграла, затянув постройку С-57, так сразу надо на шестое поколение переходить.
  2. Cetron Офлайн Cetron
    Cetron (Peteris) 1 декабря 2022 02:48
    0
    А ф-15 отправят окраине?...