Why the Northern Sea Route remains a monopoly of Russia

Global warming makes the Northern Sea Route an increasingly interesting shipping route. It could be a great alternative to the Suez Canal, since the path from Europe to Asia through the Russian Arctic is much shorter. The publication Der Tagesspiegel writes that the NSR is under the complete control of Russia. Moscow seeks to strengthen its position by creating a special economic zone in the Arctic.



Russia considers the Arctic to be its legitimate sphere of influence, and there are numerous reasons, both geographical and military.political, and even historical - it was the Russian travelers who discovered the distant Arctic lands. It was the Russians who mastered the Far North over the past centuries.

But other countries, including Denmark, Norway, the USA, and China, which also consider themselves entitled to take advantage of the Arctic route, also claim to pass the NSR. The Danish Foreign Ministry, for example, considers Russian ambitions unfounded and emphasizes that they treat the Russian position in the Arctic calmly and with humor.

However, other countries cannot use the Northern Sea Route without Russia - for example, in 2017, of 10 million tons of cargo transported through the Arctic, only 2% belonged to foreign companies. In order to secure its position in the Arctic, our country is strengthening both the Northern Fleet of the Navy and combat aircraft deployed in the northern regions of the country. Moscow does not intend to give up control of the Arctic to any countries.
  • Used photos: https://promdevelop.ru
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Почему Северный морской путь остается монополией России

Глобальное потепление делает Северный морской путь все более интересным маршрутом для судоходства. Он мог бы стать прекрасной альтернативой Суэцкому каналу, поскольку путь из Европы в Азию через Русскую Арктику намного короче. Издание Der Tagesspiegel пишет, что СМП находится под полным контролем России. Москва стремится укрепить свои позиции, создав специальную экономическую зону в Арктике.


Россия считает Арктику своей законной сферой влияния и на то есть многочисленные основания – и географические, и военно-политические, и даже исторические – именно русские путешественники и открывали далекие арктические земли. Именно русские осваивали Крайний Север на протяжении последних столетий.



Но о своих претензиях на проход по СМП заявляют и другие страны, прежде всего – Дания, Норвегия, США, Китай, которые также считают себя вправе пользоваться преимуществами арктического маршрута. В МИД Дании, к примеру, считают российские амбиции необоснованными и подчеркивают, что относятся к российской позиции по Арктике спокойно и с юмором.

Впрочем, воспользоваться Северным морским путем без России другие страны не могут – так, в 2017 г. из 10 млн тонн грузов, перевезенных через Арктику, лишь 2% принадлежали иностранным компаниям. Чтобы обезопасить свои позиции в Арктике, наша страна укрепляет и Северный флот ВМФ, и боевую авиацию, дислоцирующуюся в северных регионах страны. Уступать каким-либо странам контроль над Арктикой Москва не намерена.
Использованы фотографии: https://promdevelop.ru

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти