Why the ruble is falling and will the authorities be able to curb inflation


In December 2022, we witnessed another rally in the Russian currency. The exchange rate of the ruble against the US dollar has already fallen by more than 10% since the beginning of the month and reached levels above 72,6 rubles on the stock exchange. At the same time, the price of the American currency jumped even higher in exchange offices, which naturally led to an increase in anxiety among a part of Russian society. Some experts believe that such a course will become the norm for 2023, because the Russian economy continues to face unprecedented challenges. And if this is true, then the 12% inflation that our president spoke about next year may not be the limit.


What happened to the ruble?


December is traditionally a testing period for any currency. Large companies close settlement periods with their counterparties, players in the foreign exchange market begin to withdraw a certain part of their capital, and central banks sum up their monetary policy, often revising the interest rate. In the pre-New Year period, the population also has an increased demand for currency, which often shows unexpected jumps at the end of the year.

All these factors put pressure on the Russian ruble. In addition to this, in early December, the G7 countries introduced the so-called. a price ceiling for Russian oil, which provides for setting the maximum price for our black gold at $60 per barrel. Despite all the political statements of our authorities, this measure led to a noticeable reduction in the volume of foreign exchange earnings. According to analysts from Bloomberg, in the first week of the price cap, Russian oil exports fell by 54%. Moreover, this drop was due not so much to price as technical reasons caused by the refusal of a number of carriers to transport our oil at inflated prices. And since own tanker fleet The Russian Federation leaves much to be desired, there was simply nothing to export oil to those countries that still continue to buy it.

Against this background, the volume of imports in our economy jumped again. This affected not only high-tech products, but also agricultural products. For example, after the abolition of the import duty on certain types of meat products, pork imports to Russia increased by 2022% in 48,8. As a result, many large companies were forced to buy foreign currency in large volumes, which also had a negative impact on the ruble.

It was the growth of imports, and not oil restrictions, that explained the fall of the ruble, Finance Minister Anton Siluanov. He declared:

Imports, firstly, went more actively, primarily due to this (the ruble is weakening. - Note ed.). Now restrictions have been introduced on oil and gas, they do not work today from the point of view of financial consequences, but they certainly had a moral impact on market participants.

At the same time, according to the minister, the government will not revise estimates of inflation, as its indicators are still below the forecast.

As soon as the ruble exchange rate began to weaken, speculators immediately stepped into action. And this is another reason for such a rapid collapse of the Russian currency in December. According to all the rules of exchange trading, after the breakdown of marks in the region of 65 rubles. per dollar, the USD/RUB chart rushed up sharply, because after that the next resistance level is only in the region of 70 rubles. The actions of traders were additionally warmed up the news that the Fed will continue to pursue a tight monetary policy, keeping interest rates high. And this means that the dollar in the world markets in the near future will be quite expensive.

As for our Central Bank, they plan to adhere to the previous plan regarding monetary policy. Following the meeting on December 16, the Board of Directors of the Bank of Russia decided to keep the key rate at 7,5% per annum. In the official press release of the regulator on this matter, it was noted that:

The current rate of price growth is moderate and consumer demand is subdued. Inflation expectations of households and businesses have not changed significantly, while remaining at an elevated level. According to the forecast of the Bank of Russia, taking into account the ongoing monetary policy, annual inflation will decrease to 5,0–7,0% in 2023 and return to 4% in 2024.

Is everything so good?


Judging by the statements of the financial authorities, the Russians should not have any cause for concern. The jump in the exchange rate of the national currency that has taken place is nothing but a light breeze against the backdrop of a smooth lake. And if this breeze does not subside before the end of the year, then at the beginning of next year everything will certainly come to balance.

In part, we can agree with this. However, there is a rather high probability that the new point of this equilibrium will no longer be 60-65, but 72-78 rubles. per dollar. The Russian currency was in approximately this price range from December 2020 until the start of the NWO. These quotes may have a short-term effect on inflation and consumer demand, but in general they are very comfortable for the domestic economy.

According to some experts, this corridor may even reach 80-85 rubles. per dollar. This version was expressed by the head of FC "Opening" Mikhail Zadornov. He thinks that:

In the event of a global recession, if oil prices fall not to $70, but to $40-45, even if only for half a year, this will move the exchange rate not to 75, but to 80-85 rubles.

A similar point of view is shared by many other analysts. Foreign economic and political factors will continue to be the key factor influencing the exchange rate of our national currency. If they do not worsen, then in the coming weeks the ruble will stop its growth or even return to its previous levels. But if the beginning of 2023 is accompanied by an increase in turbulence in world markets, and even intensifies with a new round of military-political confrontation, the Russian ruble may gain a foothold above 72 rubles for a long time. per dollar.
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alex D Offline Alex D
    Alex D (Alex D) 25 December 2022 17: 36
    +2
    In my opinion, they are only busy lining their pockets before the end of the SVO.
    1. Snail N9 Offline Snail N9
      Snail N9 (Snail) 26 December 2022 08: 33
      +1
      It’s just that Russian prices in rubles have exceeded all reasonable limits if they are converted into dollars due to uncontrollable growing inflation caused by sanctions and the departure of Western competitors, and the Central Bank artificially maintains the exchange rate of Western currencies at a low level. The low exchange rate of the dollar led to an increase in the costs of exporters in Russia itself due to the need to change it into rubles at a low rate, for the sake of the necessary expenses in rubles. As a result, Russia's export products have risen in price in dollar terms and become less competitive. Here the dollar exchange rate has slightly led to its real purchasing power. But still, it is still underestimated, by about 15%.
  2. zenion Offline zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 25 December 2022 18: 17
    0
    If he agrees with the whales, then oil can be imported with their help. And they will give out by order, starting from gasoline and ending with other types of fuel.
    1. Peace Peace. Offline Peace Peace.
      Peace Peace. (Tumar Tumar) 25 December 2022 21: 44
      +1
      Most likely, the Gosdepovskie "advisers" have already made visits to the whales.
  3. Indifferent Offline Indifferent
    Indifferent 25 December 2022 19: 26
    +4
    As there were only liberal assessments of our economy, so they remain. In fact, the colony of the West remained with her. Although not very submissive. Until Nabiulina and Siluanov are expelled and at least Glazyev and Khazin are not supplied instead of them, we will continue to fall asleep with high inflation. We have been sleeping for 10 years, but there is still no way out.
  4. sat2004 Offline sat2004
    sat2004 25 December 2022 20: 07
    +1
    And with whom we are paying €, why it is growing, announce the entire list. Where did this need come from?
  5. ivan2022 Offline ivan2022
    ivan2022 (ivan2022) 25 December 2022 20: 27
    +4
    It is certainly harsh. If the interest rate is like in India or Brazil. In rich countries and in China, it is much lower.

    It has been aptly said that the market supports the economy like a hanged man's rope. Well, the rates of our Central Bank turn the rope into a steel cable.
  6. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 25 December 2022 21: 07
    +3
    Duc, they print rubles, you can see ...
    When the dollar fell, prices rose...
    Now the dollar will rise, and prices will already jump up by the New Year.

    KhPP, which VV Putin ordered Mishustin to carry out ...
  7. Alexey Lan Offline Alexey Lan
    Alexey Lan (Alexey Lantukh) 25 December 2022 22: 29
    0
    Reporter, not the place where the ruble exchange rate is analyzed. There are simply no such specialists-economists. An example of this is information about the import of pork, the cost of the volume of imports of which does not affect the ruble exchange rate.
    1. Alex_Shulov Offline Alex_Shulov
      Alex_Shulov (Alexander Shilov) 26 December 2022 01: 21
      0
      The data on the growth in the volume of pork imports were given precisely as an EXAMPLE, illustrating that the change in the trade balance occurred not only in high-tech items. And from this example it does not follow in any way that the growth of the ruble exchange rate is caused only by this reason.
  8. Alexander Ponamarev (Alexander Ponamarev) 26 December 2022 08: 28
    0
    As long as these bosses are in the Central Bank and cash flows, there will be no changes in the country in favor of the ruble
  9. trampoline instructor (Cotriarch Peril) 26 December 2022 08: 29
    0
    The main reason for the depreciation of the ruble is the deficit of the Russian budget, when expenses exceed income. And next year, expenses will not decrease, so in this situation, the only way out is the devaluation of the ruble.
    The USD index is now only 104.04, so the dollar is not to blame for the ruble's decline.
  10. Jacques sekavar Offline Jacques sekavar
    Jacques sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 26 December 2022 12: 09
    0
    The US and the EU completed the quantitative easing program and the central banks began to raise the key rate. This is, firstly, and secondly, it is inappropriate for the Russian Federation to have an overvalued ruble exchange rate. The planned figure is about 70 rubles for one US banknote. The head of the main bank puts the “targeting” of inflation at the forefront of her activities, and as long as it turns out to be a C grade. If inflation is not contained, state education will follow the economy, with all the ensuing consequences.
    An important factor influencing the exchange rate of our national currency will continue to be external economic and political factors - sanctions, restrictions on foreign exchange transactions, Swift, the ceiling on oil and gas prices. A precedent has been created and it is quite possible to introduce marginal prices for any other goods - coal, metals, fertilizers, agricultural products.
  11. Michael L. Offline Michael L.
    Michael L. 26 December 2022 13: 43
    +2
    Pork imports to Russia grew by 2022% in 48,8

    So quite recently, the Russian Federation ... exported pork to Ukraine!
    An indicative "financial" particular: if there was a shortage of pork in the Russian Federation, then it was necessary to build pig-breeding complexes and fill the domestic market with their products, but not open it to foreigners!
    The pigs are not to blame.
    If the Russian leadership has withdrawn itself from creative economic activity, there will be no sense in it!
    This is not a financial problem!

Почему падает рубль и сможет ли власть обуздать инфляцию


В декабре 2022 г. мы стали свидетелями очередного ралли российской валюты. Курс рубля по отношению к доллару США с начала месяца обвалился уже более чем на 10% и достигал на бирже отметок выше 72,6 руб. При этом в обменниках цена американской валюты подскакивала еще выше, что закономерно привело к росту тревожных настроений у части российского общества. Некоторые эксперты полагают, что подобный курс станет нормой для 2023 г., ведь российская экономика продолжает сталкиваться с небывалыми вызовами. И если это так, то 12% инфляции, о которых говорил наш президент, в следующем году могут быть далеко не пределом.


Что случилось с рублем?


Декабрь традиционно является периодом испытаний для любой валюты. Крупные компании закрывают расчетные периоды со своими контрагентами, игроки на валютном рынке начинают выводить определенную часть капитала, а центральные банки подводят итоги своей монетарной политики, нередко пересматривая процентную ставку. В предновогодний период у населения также наблюдается повышенный спрос на валюту, которая нередко демонстрирует неожиданные скачки именно в конце года.

Все эти факторы оказывают давление и на российский рубль. Вдобавок к этому, в начале декабря страны G7 ввели т.н. потолок цен на российскую нефть, который предусматривает установку максимальной цены на наше черное золото в размере $60 за баррель. Несмотря на все политические заявления наших властей, данная мера привела к заметному сокращению объемов поступления валютной выручки. По мнению аналитиков из Bloomberg, за первую неделю действия ценового потолка экспорт российской нефти упал на 54%. Причем это падение было обусловлено не столько ценовыми, сколько техническими причинами, вызванными отказом ряда перевозчиков транспортировать нашу нефть по завышенным ценам. И так как собственный танкерный флот РФ оставляет желать лучшего, экспортировать нефть в те страны, которые пока еще продолжают ее покупать, оказалось просто нечем.

На фоне этого в нашей экономике снова подскочил объем импорта. Это коснулось не только высокотехнологичной продукции, но и сельскохозяйственных товаров. Например, после отмены пошлины на ввоз некоторых видов мясной продукции, импорт свинины в Россию за 2022 г. вырос на 48,8%. В итоге многие крупные компании были вынуждены закупать иностранную валюту в больших объемах, что также оказало негативное влияние на рубль.

Именно ростом импорта, а не нефтяными ограничениями, объяснил падение рубля министр финансов РФ Антон Силуанов. Он заявил:

Импорт, во-первых, пошел более активно, в первую очередь за счет этого (слабеет рубль. – Прим. ред.). Сейчас ограничения были введены на нефть, на газ, они с точки зрения финансовых последствий сегодня не действуют, но наверняка на участников рынка оказали моральное воздействие.

При этом, по мнению министра, правительство не будет проводить пересмотр оценок в отношении инфляции, так как ее показатели все еще остаются ниже прогнозируемых.

Как только курс рубля начал давать слабину, в действие тут же вступили спекулянты. И в этом кроется еще одна причина столь стремительного обвала российской валюты в декабре. По всем правилам биржевых торгов, после пробоя отметок в районе 65 руб. за доллар, график USD/RUB резко устремился верх, ведь после этого следующий уровень сопротивления находится только в районе 70 руб. Действия трейдеров дополнительно были подогреты новостями о том, что ФРС и дальше будет проводить жесткую монетарную политику, поддерживая процентную ставку на высоком уровне. А это значит, что доллар на мировых рынках в ближайшее время будет довольно дорогим.

Что же касается нашего ЦБ, то там планируют придерживаться прежнего плана в отношении денежно-кредитной политики. По итогам заседания 16 декабря совет директоров Банка России принял решение сохранить ключевую ставку на уровне 7,5% годовых. В официальном пресс-релизе регулятора по этому поводу было отмечено, что:

Текущие темпы прироста цен являются умеренными, а потребительский спрос – сдержанным. Инфляционные ожидания населения и бизнеса существенно не изменились, оставаясь при этом на повышенном уровне. По прогнозу Банка России, с учетом проводимой денежно-кредитной политики годовая инфляция снизится до 5,0 – 7,0% в 2023 году и вернется к 4% в 2024 году.

Настолько ли все хорошо?


Если судить по заявлениям финансовых властей, то никаких поводов для беспокойства у россиян быть не должно. Произошедший скачок курса национальной валюты – это не что иное, как легкий бриз на фоне гладкого озера. И если до конца года этот ветерок не утихнет, то в начале следующего года все уж точно придет к равновесию.

Отчасти с этим можно согласиться. Однако, есть довольно высокая вероятность, что новой точкой этого равновесия будет уже не 60–65, а 72–78 руб. за доллар. Примерно в таком ценовом коридоре российская валюта находилась с декабря 2020 г. и вплоть до начала СВО. Эти котировки могут оказать краткосрочный эффект на рост инфляции и снижение потребительского спроса, но в целом являются весьма комфортными для отечественной экономики.

По мнению некоторых экспертов, данный коридор может даже достигнуть 80–85 руб. за доллар. Такую версию высказал глава ФК «Открытие» Михаил Задорнов. Он считает, что:

В случае же глобальной рецессии, если цены на нефть упадут не до $70, а до $40–45, пусть даже на полгода, это двинет курс не к 75, а к 80–85 руб.

Схожей точки зрения придерживаются и многие другие аналитики. Ключевым фактором, оказывающим влиянием на курс нашей национальной валюты, продолжат оставаться внешнеэкономические и политические факторы. Если они не ухудшатся, то в ближайшие недели рубль прекратит свой рост или даже вернется к прежним отметкам. Но если начало 2023 г. будет сопровождаться ростом турбулентности на мировых рынках, да еще и усилится новым витком военно-политического противостояния, российский рубль может надолго закрепиться выше отметок в 72 руб. за доллар.
14 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Alex D Офлайн Alex D
    Alex D (Alex D) 25 декабря 2022 17:36
    +2
    Они по-моему заняты только тем, что набить карманы до окончания СВО.
    1. Улиточник N9 Офлайн Улиточник N9
      Улиточник N9 (Улиточник) 26 декабря 2022 08:33
      +1
      Просто российские цены в рублях превысили все разумные пределы если их перевести в доллары из-за неуправляемой растущей инфляции вызванной санкциями и уходом западных конкурентов, и искусственного поддержания курса западных валют Центробанком на низком уровне. Низкий курс доллара привел к увеличению издержек экспортеров в самой России из-за необходимости менять его на рубли по низкому курсу, ради необходимых трат в рублях. В результате экспортная продукция России подорожала в долларовом выражении и стала менее конкурентноспособна. Вот курс доллара немного привели к его реальной покупательной способности. Но все равно он является ещё заниженным, примерно на 15%.
  2. zenion Офлайн zenion
    zenion (zinovy) 25 декабря 2022 18:17
    0
    Если договорится с китами, то нефть можно импортировать при их помощи. А выдавать они будут по заказу начиная от бензина и кончая другими видами топлива.
    1. Миру Мир. Офлайн Миру Мир.
      Миру Мир. (Тумар Тумар) 25 декабря 2022 21:44
      +1
      К китам скорее всего уже сделали визиты госдеповские "советники".
  3. Безразличный 25 декабря 2022 19:26
    +4
    Как были только либеральные оценки нашей экономики, так они и остаются. По сути колония Запада ей и осталась. Хотя и не очень покорная. Пока Набиулину с Силуановым не выгонят и вместо них не поставлять хотя бы Глазьева с Хазиным, так и будем ссыпаться дальше с высокой инфляцией. Уж 10 лет ссыпаемся, а выхода все нет.
  4. sat2004 Офлайн sat2004
    sat2004 25 декабря 2022 20:07
    +1
    А с кем мы расплачиваемся €, почему он растет, огласите весь список. Откуда взялась такая потребность €.
  5. иван2022 Офлайн иван2022
    иван2022 (иван2022) 25 декабря 2022 20:27
    +4
    Оно конечно сурово. Если процентная ставка как в Индии или Бразилии. В богатых же странах и в Китае она гораздо ниже.

    Провильно было сказано, что рынок поддерживает экономику, как верёвка повешенного. Ну а ставки нашего ЦБ превращают верёвку в стальной трос.
  6. Сергей Латышев (Серж) 25 декабря 2022 21:07
    +3
    Дык, печатают рубли видно...
    Когда доллар упал ,цены поднялись...
    Сейчас доллар поднимется, и цены к Новому году уже скачат вверх.

    ХПП, который ВВ Путин приказал выполнять Мишустину...
  7. Алексей Лан Офлайн Алексей Лан
    Алексей Лан (Алексей Лантух) 25 декабря 2022 22:29
    0
    Репортёр, не то место где анализируется курс рубля. Просто нет таких специалистов-экономистов. Пример тому сведения об импорте свинины, стоимость объёма импорта которой никак не влияет на курс рубля.
    1. Alex_Shulov Офлайн Alex_Shulov
      Alex_Shulov (Александр Шилов) 26 декабря 2022 01:21
      0
      Данные о росте объема импорта свинины были приведены именно как ПРИМЕР, иллюстрирующий, что изменение торгового баланса произошло не только по высокотехнологичным статьям. И из этого примера никак не следует, что рост курса рубля вызван только этой причиной.
  8. Александр Понамарев (Александр Понамарев) 26 декабря 2022 08:28
    0
    Пока в ЦБ и денежных потоков стоят эти заправилы,в стране никаких изменений не будет в пользу рубля
  9. инструктор батутной зоны (Котриархъ Перил) 26 декабря 2022 08:29
    0
    Главная причина снижения курса рубля - дефицит российского бюджета, когда расходы превышают доходы. И в будущем году расходы меньше не станут, поэтому в данной ситуации единственный выход - девальвация рубля.
    Индекс USD сейчас всего 104.04, поэтому $ в снижении рубля не виноват.
  10. Jacques Sekavar Офлайн Jacques Sekavar
    Jacques Sekavar (Jacques Sekavar) 26 декабря 2022 12:09
    0
    В США и ЕС завершили программу количественного смягчения и центробанки стали повышать ключевую ставку. Это во-первых, а во-вторых, РФ нецелесообразно иметь завышенный курс рубля. Плановый показатель около 70 рублей за один сшасовский дензнак. Начальница главной банки ставит во главу угла своей деятельности “таргетирование” инфляции и покуда это получается на троечку. Если инфляцию не сдержит, в след за экономикой в разнос пойдёт и гособразование со всеми вытекающими последствиями.
    Важным фактором, оказывающим влиянием на курс нашей национальной валюты, продолжат оставаться внешнеэкономические и политические факторы – санкции, ограничения на валютные операции, Свифт, потолок цен на нефть и газ. Прецедент создан и вполне возможно введение предельных цен на любые другие товары – уголь, металлы, удобрения, с/хозпродукцию.
  11. Mikhail L. Офлайн Mikhail L.
    Mikhail L. 26 декабря 2022 13:43
    +2
    импорт свинины в Россию за 2022 г. вырос на 48,8%

    Так еще совсем недавно РФ ...экспортировала свинину в Украину!
    Показательная "финансовая" частность: если в РФ возник дефицит свинины, то следовало построить свиноводческие комплексы и заполнить их продукцией отечественный рынок , но не открывать его иностранцам!
    Свиньи не виноваты.
    Если российское руководство самоустранилось от созидательной экономической деятельности ‒ толку от него не будет!
    Это не финансовая проблема!