“Fedor” in orbit: why Russia needs a robot-astronaut


Rise of the Machines


Over the past few years, the creators of robots have made several technological leaps at once, which without exaggeration can be called a revolution. If you do not believe me, you can watch the recording of the DARPA Robotics Challenge-2015 contest organized by the Pentagon. The robots represented there (and there were many of them) looked frankly ridiculous and often could not perform the simplest actions, for example, to open the door. Oddly enough, recent progress has not been directly related to military affairs: the same American marines, having tested, did not see the pluses in the use of four-legged robots such as LS3. We recall that they wanted to use them for carrying goods.


This failure did not stop the creator of the robot in the person of the American company Boston Dynamics, which in 2017 showed a video with the Atlas humanoid robot doing a somersault. And in 2018, the Boston demonstrated a running Atlas, the movements of which were almost indistinguishable from human ones. These are, of course, colossal achievements. Will Russian developers be able to adequately respond to their American counterparts?

Terminator in Russian

In general, the concept of a robot is very extensible: a UAV can also be called a robot. Moreover, a new Uran-9 complex should be added to this category, which, one might say, brought Russia into the lead in terms of creating ground-based combat robotic systems. Simply put, this is a remotely controlled fire support combat vehicle. But we are now specifically interested in anthropomorphic robots. That is, at least partially similar to people. Such as the aforementioned Atlas.

Back in 2015, employees of the TsNIItochmash enterprise showed Russian President Vladimir Putin a robot avatar that is capable (in any case, such a conclusion can be drawn from the photographs presented) to ride a quad bike and use firearms. For firing, a manipulator arm is used. The creators themselves then announced the presence of certain prospects, but, in fact, it was just a demonstration. And judging by it about the real potential is difficult.


Anthropomorphic robots have not yet been seen as soldiers: they are complex, expensive and not reliable enough. The idea of ​​creating a robot-astronaut is much more actively promoted. Earlier, NASA had already sent a humanoid Robonaut to the ISS: over time, he received not only arms, but also legs. It was believed that the robot will help astronauts in their daily work both inside and outside the station. But the first pancake was lumpy. It turned out to be very difficult to bring the Robonaut to a healthy state. It was all the more difficult to do this in orbit.

Such difficulties did not frighten Russian engineers. Previously, the SAR-400 robot cosmonaut was created, and then the improved version - SAR-401. It was on the basis of these developments that a new “Fedor” was created, which was seen as a multifunctional robot - useful, in particular, for rescue operations. Work on FEDOR (Final Experimental Demonstration Object Research) is conducted by the Android NGO technique". The robot received a modern voice control system. Fifteen thousand parts were used to create the prototype, of which about half are Russian. Fedor uses an operating system developed in Russia based on Linux. The robot's power is twenty horsepower (13,5 kW). Height is 180 cm, depending on the configuration, its weight can reach 160 kg. "Fedor" is able to perform functions autonomously for about an hour, and in addition can act as an avatar. Moreover, it can be controlled at a great distance using satellite communications. The robot can be recharged through an outlet.


Quite spectacular photo and video tests, of course, fueled interest in the development. As of December 2016, the robot was able to:

- Sit on the longitudinal and transverse twine;
- Make head turns;
- Move around on all fours;
- Crawl in a plastubsky;
- Get up after a fall without the help of a person;
- Move up the stairs;
- Get in the car;
- Drive a vehicle (copying and autonomous modes);
- Work with power tools.

This is not all that the robot is already capable of. However, a specific goal is needed. In 2016, it became known that on the basis of FEDOR they intend to build a new robot for the ISS. The developers of the improved version are the already mentioned Android technology, as well as the Energia rocket and space corporation. Now the former general director of RSC Energia Vladimir Solntsev then stated that involvement in the project to create a space robot would allow Energia engineers to get a completely new experience.


It can be assumed that the financial and technical problems of the space department of the Russian Federation, which made themselves felt with new force, put an end to the new development. However, it is not. In the summer of 2018, RIA News reported that a team of two Fedorov could be sent to the ISS in the Soyuz unmanned spacecraft in August 2019. And in September 2018 it became known that a demonstration sample of "Fedor" will be transferred to "Roscosmos". Then it was reported that it was decided to send him into space on the promising spacecraft "Federation". The robot will be seated in the co-pilot's seat, he will not control the ship. In the future, they want to use Fyodor to support astronauts during work in outer space. To do this, they intend to install special batteries on the outer surface of the ISS, with which the robot can be recharged. In the distant future, they want to use the new Russian development to fly around the Moon, although as we know, Russia's lunar ambitions went "under the knife" due to financial, technological and political problems and contradictions. Nobody completely abandoned them, but the timing of such missions has noticeably shifted.


No need?

The American "Robonaut" clearly showed that in the cramped conditions of the ISS, a large humanoid robot is not the best solution. In any case, at this stage of technology development. Much more useful for working in orbit is a robotic arm, such as the Kanadarm. This, recall, is a large “hand” that can be used for a variety of purposes. We are no longer talking about the fact that after the abandonment of the ISS station (presumably the mid-20s), Russia will no longer be able to take astronaut robots. The domestic manned space program itself will hang in the balance. After all, Roscosmos is systematically being squeezed out of the project to create a new lunar orbital station. At the same time, there is simply no real alternative for manned flights now. And in such conditions there will simply be nowhere to fly the “Unions” and the “Federations”, at least with the Fedor on board, even without him.


In general, the use of a large anthropomorphic robot to solve any practical problems looks pretty "populism." Now even the world-famous Boston Dynamics cannot attach her brainchildren, although it makes them admire. In this regard, FEDOR looks like a kind of investment in the future: that is, the basis for possible new areas of Russian robotics.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: https://novayagazeta.ru
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. igor_0261 Offline igor_0261
    igor_0261 (Igor) 1 November 2018 22: 50
    +1
    Everything is very correct, good and there is no need to panic.
    The exploration of the moon is actually an ambitious, very expensive but absolutely unpromising project.
    The moon will never be able to become a new home anyway.

    It is necessary to develop precisely orbital stations, and ideally to populate them with robots, and bring astronauts only in case of emergency.
    These robots can repair existing satellites, collect and recycle space debris.
    It’s time to move from the concept of disposable autonomous satellites to the concept of platforms and serviced devices.

    For example, a repair platform located slightly above the geostationary orbit, so that it drifts along satellite positions.
    At the right time, she sends a robot and makes repairs, or simply takes the satellite on board.
    If the satellite cannot be repaired with the help of robots then from time to time people will come to the platform and repair the accumulated faulty equipment.

    Over time, enough materials will accumulate on the platform in order to build a full-fledged space house from them with artificial gravity and good protection from radiation, where you can live fully.

    Then, such stations will slowly fly to asteroids to get materials there for delivery to Earth and / or the construction of new stations.
    After all, a robot, unlike humans, can be in space for decades.

    So robots for space - this is the most promising direction.
    And since it is assumed that people will manage them, it is easier if they are anthropomorphic ... but not necessary.

«Федор» на орбите: зачем России робот-астронавт


Восстание машин

За последние несколько лет создатели роботов совершили сразу несколько технологических скачков, которые без преувеличения можно назвать революцией. Если не верите, можете посмотреть запись организованного Пентагоном конкурса DARPA Robotics Challenge-2015. Представленные там роботы (а их было немало) смотрелись откровенно нелепо и зачастую не могли выполнить простейшие действия, например, открыть дверь. Как ни странно, прогресс последнего времени не связан напрямую с военным делом: те же американские морпехи, проведя испытания, не увидели плюсов в применении четвероногих роботов типа LS3. Их, напомним, хотели использовать для переноски грузов.




Эта неудача не остановила создателя робота в лице американской компании Boston Dynamics, которая в 2017 году показала видео с человекоподобным роботом Atlas, делающим сальто. А в 2018 году бостонцы продемонстрировали бегущего «Атласа», движения которого было почти не отличить от человеческих. Это все, конечно, колоссальные достижения. Смогут ли российские разработчики достойно ответить американским коллегам?

Терминатор по-русски

Вообще, понятие робот весьма растяжимо: роботом можно назвать и БПЛА. Тем более, в эту категорию следует добавить новый комплекс «Уран-9», который, можно сказать, вывел Россию в лидеры по части создания наземных боевых робототехнических комплексов. Проще говоря, это дистанционно управляемая боевая машина огневой поддержки. Но нас сейчас интересуют конкретно антропоморфные роботы. То есть, хотя бы частично похожие на людей. Такие, как вышеназванный Atlas.

Еще в 2015 году работники предприятия «ЦНИИточмаш» показали президенту России Владимиру Путину робота-аватара, который способен (во всяком случае, такой вывод можно сделать исходя из представленных фото) ездить на квадроцикле и применять огнестрельное оружие. Для ведения огня используется рука-манипулятор. Сами создатели тогда заявили о наличие неких перспектив, но, по сути, это была просто показательная акция. И судить по ней о реальном потенциале сложно.


Антропоморфных роботов пока что вообще не видят в качестве солдат: они сложные, дорогие и не достаточно надежные. Куда активней продвигают идею создания робота-астронавта. Ранее NASA уже отправило к МКС человекоподобного Robonaut: со временем он получил не только руки, но и ноги. Считалось, что робот поможет астронавтам в их повседневной работе как внутри, так и снаружи станции. Но первый блин оказался комом. Довести «Робонавта» до работоспособного состояния оказалось очень тяжело. Тем более сложно было сделать это на орбите.

Российских инженеров такие трудности не испугали. Ранее был создан робот-космонавт SAR-400, а потом и улучшенная версия — SAR-401. Именно на базе этих разработок создали нового «Федора», которого видели многофункциональным роботом — полезным, в частности, для спасательных операций. Работы над FEDOR (Final Experimental Demonstration Object Research) ведет НПО «Андроидная техника». Робот получил современную систему голосового управления. Для создания прототипа использовали пятнадцать тысяч деталей, из которых примерно половина — российские. Федор использует операционную систему, разработанную в России на базе Linux. Мощность робота составляет двадцать лошадиных сил (13,5 кВт). Рост равен 180 см, в зависимости от конфигурации его масса может достигать 160 кг. «Федор» способен выполнять функции автономно около часа, а кроме того может выступать в качестве аватара. Причем управлять им можно на большом расстоянии, используя спутниковую связь. Подзаряжать робота можно через розетку.


Довольно эффектные фото и видео испытаний, безусловно, подогрели интересе к разработке. По состоянию на декабрь 2016 года робот умел:

– Садиться на продольный и поперечный шпагат;
– Совершать повороты головы;
– Передвигаться на четвереньках;
– Ползти по-пластунски;
– Вставать после падения без помощи человека;
– Перемещаться по лестницам;
– Садиться в автомобиль;
– Управлять транспортным средством (копирующий и автономный режимы);
– Работать с электроинструментами.

Это далеко не все, на что робот уже способен. Однако нужна конкретная цель. В 2016 году стало известно, что на базе FEDOR-а намерены построить нового робота для МКС. Разработчиками улучшенной версии стали уже упомянутая «Андроидная техника», а также ракетно-космическая корпорация «Энергия». Теперь уже бывший гендиректор РКК «Энергия» Владимир Солнцев тогда заявлял, что вовлеченность в проект по созданию космического робота позволит получить инженерам «Энергии» принципиально новый опыт.


Можно предположить, что давшие о себе знать с новой силой финансовые и технические проблемы космического ведомства РФ поставили крест на новой разработке. Однако это не так. Летом 2018 года РИА Новости сообщило, что команду из двух «Федоров» могут отправить на МКС в беспилотном корабле «Союз» в августе 2019-го. А в сентябре 2018 года стало известно, что демонстрационный образец «Федора» передадут «Роскосмосу». Тогда же сообщили, что его решили отправить в космос на перспективном космическом корабле «Федерация». Робота посадят в кресло второго пилота, управлять кораблем он не будет. В будущем «Федора» хотят использовать для поддержки космонавтов во время работ в открытом космосе. Для этого на внешней поверхности МКС намерены установить специальные аккумуляторные батареи, с помощью которых робота можно будет подзарядить. В отдаленной же перспективе новую российскую разработку хотят применить для облета Луны, хотя как мы знаем, лунные амбиции России пошли «под нож» из-за финансовых, технологических и политических проблем и противоречий. От них полностью никто не отказался, но сроки таких миссий заметно сдвинули.


Необходимости нет?

Американский «Робонавт» наглядно показал, что в стесненных условиях МКС крупный человекоподобный робот — не самое лучшее решение. Во всяком случае, на данном этапе развития технологий. Куда полезнее для работы на орбите роботизированный манипулятор, такой как «Канадарм». Это, напомним, крупная «рука», которую можно применять для самых разных целей. Мы уже не говорим о том, что после отказа от станции МКС (предположительно — середина 20-х) России уже будет не до роботов-космонавтов. Сама отечественная пилотируемая космонавтика повиснет на волоске. Ведь «Роскосмос» планомерно вытесняют из проекта по созданию новой лунной орбитальной станции. В то же время реальной альтернативы для пилотируемых полетов сейчас просто нет. И летать «Союзам» и «Федерациям» в таких условиях будет просто некуда, хоть с «Федором» на борту, хоть без него.


Вообще, применение крупного антропоморфного робота для решения каких-либо практических задач выглядит изрядным «популизмом». Сейчас даже знаменитая на весь мир Boston Dynamics не может пристроить свои детища, хотя и заставляет ими восхищаться. В этой связи FEDOR выглядит разве что своего рода инвестицией в будущее: то есть, основой для возможных новых направлений российской робототехники.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: https://novayagazeta.ru

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. igor_0261 Офлайн
    igor_0261 (Igor) 1 ноября 2018 22:50
    +1
    Всё очень правильно, хорошо и не надо паниковать.
    Освоение Луны на самом деле амбициозный, очень дорогой но при этом абсолютно бесперспективный проект.
    Луна всё равно ни когда не сможет стать новым домом.

    Необходимо развивать именно орбитальные станции, а в идеале населить их роботами, а космонавтов привозить только в случае крайней необходимости.
    Эти роботы могут заниматься ремонтом уже существующих спутников, сбором и утилизацией космического мусора.
    Уже давно пора переходить от концепции одноразовых автономных спутников к концепции платформ и обслуживаемых аппаратов.

    К примеру ремонтная платформа расположенная немного выше геостационарной орбиты, так что она дрейфует вдоль позиций спутников.
    В нужный момент она высылает робота и производит ремонтные работы, или просто забирает спутник на борт.
    Если спутник невозможно отремонтировать с помощью роботов то время от времени на платформу прибывают люди и ремонтируют скопившееся неисправное оборудование.

    Со временем на платформе скопится достаточное количество материалов для того чтобы из них построить полноценный космический дом с искусственной гравитацией и хорошей защитой от радиации, там где можно будет полноценно жить.

    Потом подобные станции не спеша полетят к астероидам чтобы там добывать материалы для доставки на Землю и / или строительства новых станций.
    Ведь робот в отличии от человека может находиться в космосе десятки лет.

    Так что роботы для космоса -- это самое перспективное направление.
    А поскольку предполагается что управлять ими будут люди то проще если они будут антропоморфными... но не обязательно.