New Russian ekranoplan: a breakthrough or an unnecessary toy?


Park of the Soviet period


The appearance of the ekranoplan can be misleading: all because of the external similarities with the usual aircraft. In fact, there are about as much in common between these ships and the usual aviation as the common features of the wagon and Formula 1 car. It is not only the International Maritime Organization that relates ekranoplans to marine vessels. The fact is that they are not able to act outside the so-called screen effect. We are talking about a sharp increase in the lifting force of the wing and other aerodynamic characteristics when flying near a shielding surface, for example, water or earth. In simple terms, there is an air cushion that gives additional lift to the aircraft. The ekranoplan is tightly attached to the surface: in this sense, it is not much different from the "classic" ship.

Can an ekranoplan soar up? In theory, yes. But he will already be an ekranolet. That is, in practice the device will turn out to be an airplane, but with the possibility of switching to the “on-screen” mode. There is, however, one snag. For an ekranoplan, a wide wing of a special profile and a flat wide hull are required, and for an airplane, a narrow wing and a narrow hull (there are many aerodynamic schemes, but so far this is optimal). There are many such contradictions.

All the difficulties associated with ekranoplanes did not frighten engineers of the past years. So, Soviet ekranoplanes could become a real threat to the NATO fleets. The 903 Lun projectile winged aircraft carried on its back as many as six powerful, deadly even for very large ships, Mosquito missiles. Wing speed - 500 km / h. Roughly speaking, it is almost comparable to the cruising speed of some Cold War bombers. The crew of ten people served all this: incomparably less than on any large sea ship. And the ekranoplan has become one of the largest aircraft ever produced. In general, the real achievement of the military-industrial complex of the USSR, which so far no one has "surpassed."


True, only one such ship was built, and it has already been decommissioned. “Lun” repeated the fate of many Soviet military mega-projects that appeared in the late 80s. They had no chance of implementation in the 90s. The Lun also did not become the direct basis for the development of something more modern, but this does not mean that the concept itself has sunk into oblivion.

Industry Leadership

Modern Russia, striving with all its might to maintain the status of a great world power, desperately needs symbols of greatness. New ones. Everything is good here only at first glance: even assuming that in the aircraft industry and shipbuilding they will continue to make large budgetary injections, none of the current large projects provides the country with real superiority over others. The same MS-21 should become just a successful passenger aircraft. Far from claiming the title of technological revolution. In the defense industry, everything is plus or minus. And although in the case of the T-14, Russia has set its sights on the role of world tank leader, the army and mass production are not yet planned.

What do likely "partners" think about the ekranoplan? Americans are well aware of all the advantages and disadvantages of this type of transport, but are not yet ready to invest in this direction “in full”. Previously, Boeing introduced the concept of a large military transport Pelican. However, for a long time nothing has been heard about him. In China, a similar situation: for now, they are not in a hurry to bet on large ekranoplans, although they are working in this direction too. Now there are no such of technologiesthat would not be dealt with in China.


Russian engineers did not leave the concept itself either in the 90s or in the 2000s. Back in 1998, the small Oriole, which, for example, can be used for patrolling, made its first flight. Both light and heavy multipurpose vehicles are created. It is known that the Alekseev Central Design Bureau - the leading Soviet and Russian ekranoplans design enterprise - is engaged in a whole line of “winged ships”, among which there is the heavy ocean A-050 Chaika-2, capable of speeds up to 450 kilometers per hour and overcome distance up to five thousand kilometers. On board it will be possible to accommodate up to 100 people.

But the real "sensation" was the information that appeared on the work in the framework of the new intercontinental Russian ekranoplan. Of course, a very large, expensive and complex vehicle. Recall in October 2018 at the Central Aerohydrodynamic Institute (TsAGI) named after Zhukovsky began to test the model of a heavy transport aircraft integrated circuit (TTS-IS). There are photo models that give a general idea of ​​future development.


During the purge tests of the model of a heavy ekranolet near the screen, the researchers checked the basic aerodynamic characteristics, including stability and controllability of the model under the conditions of the screen effect. It was noted that after the analysis of the obtained data was completed, the engineers will begin to purge the model in a wind tunnel with visualization of the flow around the surfaces of the glider.

According to reports, the successful completion of the tests will allow the creation of an ekranolet, which can deliver 500 tons of cargo at a distance of more than 500 km at a speed of 6000 km / h. For comparison, the famous An-225 "Mriya" is able to take on board a "modest" 250 tons. Much less. It is assumed that basically the flight will take place near the surface, at an altitude of three to twelve meters from the earth or water surface. That is, the plane will be influenced by the screen effect. Thanks to this, the device will spend less fuel: the ekranolet will be able to take off and land from ordinary runways, which will simplify its operation.

New Russian ekranoplan: a breakthrough or an unnecessary toy?

TTS-IS should receive a supporting fuselage and a relatively short wing. The fuselage will accommodate cargo compartments with hinged hatches. It is proposed to use liquefied natural gas as fuel. It is important to note that the new project should not be confused with another mega-device, namely, the Be-2500. This is still a Soviet project, which is managed by the Taganrog TANTK named after G.M.Beriev. It became the largest seaplane ever conceived in history. The creators intend to give him the ability to fly both on-screen, above the water surface, and in high-altitude modes. Now this project is either alive or dead. Obviously, concrete statements are not worth waiting for here.

TTS-IS: what's next?

As for TTS-IS specifically, it is quite obvious today that Russia will not pull up such a costly and technologically complex project, which also has a huge amount of risks. Industrial escapism could still be understood in the 80s or even 90s, when much in the aircraft industry was still developing by inertia. In the inheritance from the USSR. But now, when aircraft industry has to count every penny, investing real money in the next construction of the century will be a fantastic waste.


The use of the results obtained during testing to create a reduced version of the aircraft also looks extremely unlikely. Such indicators as mass or dimensions are taken into account at the early stages of design. And leveling the TTS-IS to the level of a "pleasure boat" will not work in any way. All of the above does not at all mean that the project is bad. Just modern Russia is not the USSR, not the USA and not even China. And if we are talking about the extremely costly default aircraft industry, then it makes sense to focus on something more “earthly”. For example, a multi-purpose high-speed helicopter. They say that such machines will soon find their application: both in the civilian field and in war.
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
    Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 30 October 2018 11: 22
    0
    Every six months, articles pop up, but no one is going to do anything. And in China, by the way, too
    1. businessv Offline businessv
      businessv (Vadim) 31 October 2018 17: 36
      +1
      I think, colleague, that they come up precisely because something happens, giving an informational occasion. Another thing is that the model will not go further without investors. But the Celestial Empire is engaged in everything that is necessary, especially when it comes to developments for the military-industrial complex.
    2. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 1 November 2018 07: 46
      +1
      ..but nobody is going to do anything ..

      From the sofa, it is more visible. lol
      In 2010, the Sky Plus Sea Design Bureau under the technical center headed by the pilot-cosmonaut Yuri Viktorovich Romanenko created the 24-seat Burevestnik-24 ekranolayer with a payload of 3,5 tons. 6 ekranoles were built. A 100-seat vehicle is being developed. JSC "NPP" Radar Mms "together with the Alekseev Central Design Bureau have developed a plan according to which it is possible to produce the first ekranoplanes of a new generation with a large carrying capacity from 50 to 600 tons. It's up to business.
      In 2018, during the "Hydroaviasalon-2018" Minister of Industry and Trade Denis Manturov announced that Russia is developing a promising ekranoplan with missile weapons on board. Military theme. No one will disclose details.
      1. Sergey Latyshev Offline Sergey Latyshev
        Sergey Latyshev (Serge) 22 November 2018 14: 53
        0
        Thank you.
        Single and experimental are built, of course.

        But I read "from the couch" mainly about numerous "projects" without justification of need, finances, etc.
  2. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 1 November 2018 07: 35
    +1
    ... in the case of the T-14, Russia swung itself at the role of the world leader in tank building ...

    Actually, if the author is not up to date, then domestic tank building has been a leader at least since the Second World War.

    .. Russia will not pull such a costly and technologically complex project ....

    Space flights are much more expensive and technologically more difficult. Following the author's logic, should Russia give up space flights?

Новый русский экраноплан: прорыв или ненужная игрушка?


Парк советского периода

Внешний вид экраноплана может ввести в заблуждение: всё из-за внешнего сходства с привычными самолетами. На самом деле, общего между этими судами и привычной авиацией примерно столько, сколько общих черт у повозки и болида Формулы-1. Дело не только в Международной морской организации, относящей экранопланы к морским судам. Дело в том, что они не способны действовать вне так называемого экранного эффекта. Речь идет о резком увеличении подъемной силы крыла и других аэродинамических характеристик при полете вблизи экранирующей поверхности, например, воды или земли. Говоря по-простому, возникает воздушная подушка, дающая дополнительную подъемную силу летательному аппарату. Экраноплан намертво привязан к поверхности: в этом смысле он не многим отличается от «классического» судна.



Может ли экраноплан взмыть ввысь? В теории — да. Но он уже будет экранолетом. То есть, на практике аппарат окажется самолетом, но с возможностью перехода в «экранный» режим. Есть, впрочем, одна загвоздка. Для экраноплана необходимо широкое крыло особого профиля и плоский широкий корпус, а для самолета — узкое крыло и узкий корпус (аэродинамических схем много, но пока что эта — оптимальная). Таких противоречий много.

Все связанные с экранопланами трудности не пугали инженеров минувших лет. Так, советские экранопланы могли стать реальной угрозой для флотов NATO. Ракетный экраноплан проекта 903 «Лунь» нес на спине целых шесть могущественных, смертельно опасных даже для очень крупных кораблей, ракет «Москит». Скорость хода экраноплана — 500 км/ч. Грубо говоря, почти сравнима с крейсерской скоростью некоторых бомбардировщиков времен Холодной войны. Обслуживал все это экипаж из десяти человек: несравнимо меньше, чем на любом крупном морском корабле. А еще экраноплан стал одним из самых крупных летательных аппаратов, когда-либо произведенных. В целом, реальное достижение ВПК СССР, которое пока еще никто не «переплюнул».


Построили правда всего один такой корабль, и он уже списан. «Лунь» повторил судьбу многих советских военных мега-проектов, которые появились в конце 80-х. Никаких шансов на реализацию в 90-е они не имели. Непосредственной базой для развития чего-то более современного «Лунь» также не стал, однако это не говорит о том, что сама концепция канула в лету.

Лидерство в отдельно взятой отрасли

Современной России, стремящейся всеми силами поддерживать статус великой мировой державы, позарез нужны символы величия. Новые. Здесь все хорошо только на первый взгляд: даже если предположить, что в авиастроении и судостроение будут и дальше делать крупные бюджетные вливания, ни один из текущих крупных проектов не обеспечивает стране реального превосходства над другими. Тот же МС-21 должен стать просто удачным пассажирским самолетом. Далеким от того, чтобы претендовать на звание технологической революции. В ОПК все плюс-минус похоже. И хотя в случае с Т-14 Россия замахнулась на роль лидера мирового танкостроения, армия, массового производства пока не планируют.

Что думают про экраноплан вероятные «партнеры»? Американцы прекрасно знают про все преимущества и недостатки этого вида транспорта, но пока не готовы вкладываться в данное направление «по-полной». Раньше Boeing представил концепт крупного военно-транспортного Pelican. Однако давно про него ничего не слышно. В Китае похожая ситуация: делать ставку на крупные экранопланы пока что не спешат, хотя и работают в этом направлении тоже. Сейчас вообще нет таких технологий, которыми не занимались бы в КНР.


Саму концепцию российские инженеры не покидали ни в 90-е, ни в 2000-е. Еще в 1998 совершил первый полет небольшой аппарат «Иволга», который, например, можно использовать для патрулирования. Создаются как легкие, так и тяжелые многоцелевые машины. Известно, что Центральное конструкторское бюро имени Алексеева — ведущее советское и российское предприятие по проектированию экранопланов — занимается целой линейкой «крылатых кораблей», среди которых есть тяжелый океанский А-050 «Чайка-2», способный развивать скорость до 450 километров в час и преодолевать расстояние до пяти тысяч километров. На борту можно будет разместить до 100 человек.

Но настоящей «сенсацией» стала появившаяся информация о работах в рамках нового межконтинентального российского экраноплана. Само собой, очень крупного, дорогого и сложного транспортного средства. Напомним, в октябре 2018 года в Центральном аэрогидродинамическом институте (ЦАГИ) им. Жуковского начали испытывать модель тяжелого транспортного самолета интегральной схемы (ТТС-ИС). Имеются фото модели, дающие общее представление о будущей разработке.


При продувочных испытаниях модели тяжелого экранолета вблизи экрана, исследователи проверили основные аэродинамические характеристики, включая устойчивость и управляемость модели в условиях экранного эффекта. Отмечалось, что после окончания анализа полученных данных инженеры начнут продувку модели в аэродинамической трубе с визуализацией обтекания поверхностей планера экранолета.

По имеющимся данным, успешное завершение испытаний позволит создать экранолет, который сможет на скорости 500 км/ч, доставлять 500 тонн груза на расстояние более 6000 км. Для сравнения, знаменитый Ан-225 «Мрия» способен брать на борт «скромные» 250 тонн. Намного меньше. Предполагается, что в основном полет будет проходить вблизи поверхности, на высоте от трех до двенадцати метров от земной или водной поверхности. То есть, самолет будет находиться под влиянием экранного эффекта. Благодаря этому аппарат будет тратить меньше топлива: взлетать и садиться экранолет сможет с обычных взлетно-посадочных полос, что упростит его эксплуатацию.

Новый русский экраноплан: прорыв или ненужная игрушка?

ТТС-ИС должен получить несущий фюзеляж и относительно короткое крыло. В фюзеляже разместят грузовые отсеки, имеющие откидные люки. В качестве топлива предложено использовать сжиженный природный газ. Важно отметить, что новый проект не стоит путать с другим мега-аппаратом, а именно — Бе-2500. Это еще советский проект, который находится в ведении таганрогского ТАНТК имени Г. М. Бериева. Он стал самым большим в истории из когда-либо задуманных гидросамолетов. Создатели намерены наделить его возможностью выполнять полеты как в экранном, над водной поверхностью, так и в высотном режимах. Сейчас этот проект не то жив, не то мертв. Очевидно, конкретных заявлений здесь ждать не стоит.

ТТС-ИС: что дальше?

Что касается конкретно ТТС-ИС, то на сегодняшний день совершенно очевидно, что Россия не потянет настолько затратный и технологически сложный проект, имеющий к тому же гигантское количество рисков. Промышленный эскапизм еще можно было понять в 80-е или даже 90-е, когда многое в авиастроении еще развивалось по инерции. В наследство от СССР. Но сейчас, когда самолетостроению приходится считать каждую копейку, вкладывание реальных денег в очередную стройку века будет фантастическим расточительством.


Использование полученных в ходе испытаний наработок для создания уменьшенной версии летательного аппарата тоже выглядит крайне маловероятным. Такие показатели как масса или габариты учитываются еще на ранних стадиях проектирования. И нивелировать ТТС-ИС до уровня «прогулочного катера» не выйдет никак. Все сказанное выше вовсе не говорит о том, что проект плохой. Просто современная Россия — это не СССР, не США и даже не Китай. И если мы говорим о крайне затратном по умолчанию авиастроении, то есть смысл сделать акцент на чем-то более «земном». Например, многоцелевом скоростном вертолете. Говорят, такие машины уже скоро найдут свое применение: как на гражданском поприще, так и на войне.
Автор: Илья Легат
Использованы фотографии: https://life.ru

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 30 октября 2018 11:22
    0
    Каждые полгода всплывают статьи, но делать никто ничего не собирается. И в Китае кстати тоже
    1. businessv Офлайн
      businessv (Вадим) 31 октября 2018 17:36
      +1
      Думаю, коллега, что всплывают именно по причине того, что нечто происходит, давая информационный повод. Другое дело, что дальше модели не пойдёт без инвесторов. А Поднебесная занимается всем, чем придется, особенно если касается разработок для ВПК.
    2. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн
      gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 1 ноября 2018 07:46
      +1
      ..но делать никто ничего не собирается..

      С дивана то оно виднее. lol
      2010 году КБ «Небо плюс море» при техническом центре, руководимом летчиком-космонавтом Юрием Викторовичем Романенко, создало 24-местный экранолёт «Буревестник-24» с полезной нагрузкой 3,5 тонн. Построено 6 экранолётов. Ведётся разработка 100-местной машины. ОАО "НПП «Радар ммс» совместно с ЦКБ им. Алексеева разработали план, согласно которому возможен выпуск первых экранопланов нового поколения большой грузоподъемностью от 50 до 600 тонн. Дело за бизнесом. Закажут, то построить не проблема.
      В 2018 году в ходе "Гидроавиасалона-2018" министр промышленности и торговли Денис Мантуров объявил, что Россия ведет разработку перспективного экраноплана с ракетным вооружением на борту. Тема военная. Никто раскрывать подробности не будет.
      1. Сергей Латышев (Серж ) 22 ноября 2018 14:53
        0
        Спасибо.
        Одиночные и экспериментальные строятся, конечно.

        Но читаю "с дивана" в основном о многочисленых "прожектах" без обоснования нужности, финансов и т.п.
  2. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн
    gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 1 ноября 2018 07:35
    +1
    ... в случае с Т-14 Россия замахнулась на роль лидера мирового танкостроения...

    Вообще то, если автор не в курсе, то отечественное танкостроение является лидером как минимум со времён Второй мировой.

    .. Россия не потянет настолько затратный и технологически сложный проект....

    Полёты в космос на порядок дороже и технологически сложнее. Следую логике автора, Россия от полётов в космос должна отказаться?