London demands sanctions against GRU leadership

Fairly "rotten" Skripals poisoning case continues to bring to London political dividends in the introduction of new sanctions against Russia. Now, the heads of the General Directorate of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation, which was formerly called the Main Intelligence Directorate (GRU), fall under the sight of the British authorities.



According to the British newspaper The Times, referring to sources in diplomatic circles, London will seek from the European Union the introduction of restrictive measures against the leadership of the Russian intelligence under the pretext of "combating the use of chemical weapons."

It is possible that a list of citizens subject to new sanctions will be officially published next month. According to the newspaper, this is six people, among which, most likely, the names of Anatoly Chepigi and Alexander Mishkin (they are the "legendary" Alexander Petrov and Ruslan Boshirov, who are suspected of poisoning the spy Sergei Skripal and his daughter Julia) will be featured. But not only them.

Members of the GRU top management are included in the draft list of persons who will be sanctioned under the new EU regime aimed at countering the use of chemical weapons

- it is written in the edition.

It should be recalled that the Council of the European Union on Foreign Affairs last month approved a sanctions regime aimed, as they say, to combat the use of chemical weapons. The restrictions include a ban on travel to EU countries, freezing of bank accounts, a ban on the provision of funds at the disposal of people under sanction.

The Skripals affair, which began on March 4 this year, led to a significant cooling of relations between Russia and the West. At the same time, Russia insists on its non-involvement in the poisoning of the ex-GRU employee, and Britain was never able to present clear evidence of the guilt of Moscow.


  • Photos used: i.ytimg.com
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Лондон требует ввести санкции против руководства ГРУ

Изрядно «протухшее» дело об отравлении Скрипалей продолжает приносить Лондону политические дивиденды в деле введения все новых и новых санкций в отношении России. Теперь под прицел британских властей попадают руководители Главного управления Генштаба Вооруженных сил РФ, которое ранее называлось Главным разведывательным управлением (ГРУ).


Как сообщила британская газета The Times, ссылаясь на источники в дипломатических кругах, Лондон будет добиваться от Евросоюза введения против руководства российской разведки ограничительных мер под предлогом «борьбы с использованием химического оружия».



Не исключено, что список граждан, попадающих под новые санкции, будет официально опубликован в следующем месяце. По данным газеты, это — шесть человек, среди которых, скорее всего, будут фигурировать имена Анатолия Чепиги и Александра Мишкина (они же — «легендарные» Александр Петров и Руслан Боширов, которые подозреваются в отравлении шпиона Сергея Скрипаля и его дочери Юлии). Но не только они.

Члены высшего руководства ГРУ включены в черновой список лиц, которые попадут под санкции в рамках нового режима ЕС, направленного на противодействие использованию химического оружия

— написано в издании.

Следует напомнить, что совет Европейского союза по иностранным делам в предыдущем месяце утвердил режим санкций, направленных, как говорится, на борьбу против применения химоружия. В число ограничений входят запрет на поездки в страны Евросоюза, замораживание банковских счетов, запрет на предоставление средств в распоряжение попавших под санкции людей.

«Дело Скрипалей», которое началось 4 марта текущего года, привело к существенному охлаждению отношений между Россией и Западом. При этом Россия настаивает на своей непричастности к отравлению экс-сотрудника ГРУ, а Британия так и не смогла предъявить внятных доказательств виновности Москвы.


Использованы фотографии: i.ytimg.com

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти