Japanese Prime Minister: we need peace with Russia today, not tomorrow

Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in an interview with the Russian news agency TASS expressed a desire to conclude a peace treaty with Moscow as soon as possible. He said that he did not want to leave the solution to this problem for future generations.




Abe said a lot of words about great prospects in relations between the two countries. They say that Russian-Japanese cooperation has considerable potential, however, in order to free it, you only need to conclude a peace treaty.

The head of the Japanese government added that there was mutual trust between him and Russian President Vladimir Putin, and the two leaders seemed ready to "put an end to the territorial dispute."

All these oily remarks of the Prime Minister of Japan about mutual cooperation and almost friendship can be reduced to one thing: Tokyo wants to get the Kuril Islands as soon as possible. First of all, we are talking about two of them - Shikotan and Habomai. Well, and to become the very politician who will return these islands - what is not an attractive prospect for Abe?

A new round of talk about Kuril affiliation began after Vladimir Putin met with Shinzo Abe at the ASEAN Summit. In the course of their conversation, they talked about negotiations about concluding a peace treaty based on the Soviet-Japanese declaration of 1956.

Japan took it almost as an immediate readiness to transfer the islands of Shikotan and Habomai to it. However, even then Putin made a reservation that the 1956 declaration had a lot of obscurity.

The Russian Foreign Ministry also wants to know how the current Japanese government perceives that declaration and what it thinks about the Kuril Islands.

It is important to understand how Tokyo interprets the 1956 declaration today in terms of fully recognizing the outcome of World War II, including the legality of the South Kuril Islands of the Russian Federation according to its results.

- said the official representative of the Russian Foreign Ministry, Maria Zakharova.

There is one more important point. In Russia, it is not without reason that they fear that if at least part of the islands becomes part of Japan, US military bases will be located there. Zakharova drew attention to this aspect, emphasizing that it is not yet clear exactly how the conclusion of a peace treaty between Moscow and Tokyo will affect military cooperation between Japan and the United States.

True, there is a solemn promise made to Abe. He vowed that there would be no American bases on these islands. However, the Soviet Union had heard enough of these "solemn promises" from other states before its collapse. And even if we assume that Abe will fulfill his promise, then the question arises: what will the new generation of Japanese politicians?
  • Used photos: kremlin.ru
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. Bulanov Offline Bulanov
    Bulanov (Vladimir) 22 November 2018 15: 18
    +3
    There was a solemn promise not to expand NATO! If the pale-faced person deceived the Indian once, then the pale-faced person is to blame, if the second time, then the Indian is to blame!

Японский премьер: нам нужен мир с Россией сегодня, а не завтра

Премьер-министр Японии Синдзо Абэ в интервью российскому информационному агентству ТАСС выразил желание заключить с Москвой мирный договор как можно скорее. Он поведал, что ему не хочется оставить решение этой проблемы будущим поколениям.





Абэ говорил много слов о больших перспективах в отношениях между двумя странами. Мол, у российско-японского сотрудничества есть немалый потенциал, однако, чтобы высвободить его, нужно только заключить мирный договор.

Глава японского правительства добавил, что между ним и российским президентом Владимиром Путиным есть взаимное доверие и два лидера будто бы готовы «поставить точку в территориальном споре».

Все эти елейные высказывания премьер-министра Японии о взаимном сотрудничестве и чуть ли не дружбе можно свести к одному: Токио хочет как можно скорее получить Курильские острова. В первую очередь, речь идет о двух из них — Шикотане и Хабомаи. Ну, а стать тем самым политическим деятелем, который вернет эти острова — чем не заманчивая перспектива для Абэ?

Новый виток разговоров о принадлежности Курил начался после того, как Владимир Путин встретился с Синдзо Абэ на саммите АСЕАН. В ходе их разговора речь шла о переговорах насчет того, чтобы заключить мирный договор, опираясь на советско-японскую декларацию 1956 года.

Япония восприняла это чуть ли как немедленную готовность передать ей острова Шикотан и Хабомаи. Однако Путин еще тогда оговорился, что в декларации 1956 года много неясного.

В российском внешнеполитическом ведомстве также хотят знать, как нынешнее японское правительство воспринимает ту декларацию и что думает по поводу принадлежности Курильских островов.

Важно понять, как Токио трактует сегодня декларацию 1956 года с точки зрения признания в полном объеме итогов Второй мировой войны, включая законности принадлежности Южных Курил РФ по ее результатам

— заявила официальный представитель МИД России Мария Захарова.

Есть еще один немаловажный момент. В России не без оснований опасаются, что в случае, если хотя бы часть островов окажется в составе Японии, там будут располагаться военные базы США. Захарова обратила внимание и на этот аспект, подчеркнув, что пока неясно, как именно заключение мирного договора между Москвой и Токио повлияет на военное сотрудничество Японии и США.

Правда, есть торжественное обещание, данное Абэ. Он поклялся, что американских баз на этих островах не будет. Однако этих «торжественных обещаний» от других государств наслушался еще Советский Союз до своего развала. И даже если предположить, что Абэ выполнит свое обещание, то возникает вопрос: что по этому поводу будет думать новое поколение японских политиков?
Использованы фотографии: kremlin.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

1 комментарий
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. Буланов Офлайн
    Буланов (Владимир) 22 ноября 2018 15:18
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Было торжественное обещание не расширять НАТО! Если бледнолицый обманул индейца один раз, то виноват бледнолицый, если второй раз - то виноват индеец!