Volvo unmanned tractors are used

The Swedish auto giant Volvo, which was one of the first to take on the production of unmanned trucks, seems to have found application for its brainchild. As it became known, the concern signed a contract with the mining company Brønnøy Kalk from Norway. The parties have already blunted the test of a new method of cargo delivery.




According to the information received, Volvo unmanned tractors will have to transport the mined limestone from the quarry to the port, where the rock will be discharged into the grinder. The total length of the path will be 4,8 km. At the same time, trucks will overcome 2 tunnels with a length of 3,5 and 0,8 kilometers.

The route for tractors equipped with GPS navigation and LiDAR sensors will be determined in advance. Therefore, it is not necessary to talk about any unforeseen situations or failures. In addition, a company representative will be located in the car cabin, which in the event of a software failure (which is unlikely) will disable the unmanned mode and take control of the tractor.


Despite the fact that the deal can hardly be called a technological breakthrough, it is still extremely important for Volvo. After all, she first came to the fact that she began to provide transportation services through unmanned vehicles. In addition, it is worth noting the high economic benefit: Brønnøy Kalk will pay a truck concern for each tonne of limestone transported.
  • Photos used: https://www.volvogroup.com
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in

Беспилотным тягачам Volvo нашли применение

Шведский автогигант Volvo, который одним из первых взялся за производство беспилотных грузовых автомобилей, судя по всему, нашел применение своему детищу. Как стало известно, концерн подписал контракт с горнодобывающей компанией Brønnøy Kalk из Норвегии. Стороны уже притупили к испытанию нового метода доставки груза.




Согласно полученной информации, беспилотные тягачи Volvo должны будут перевозить добытый известняк от карьера до порта, где порода будет выгружаться в измельчитель. Общая протяженность пути составит 4,8 км. При этом, грузовики преодолеют 2 тоннеля длиной 3,5 и 0,8 километров.

Маршрут для тягачей, оснащенных GPS-навигацией и LiDAR-сенсорами будет определен заранее. Поэтому, говорить о каких-либо непредвиденных ситуациях или сбоях не приходится. К тому же, в кабине автомобиля будет находится представитель компании, который в случае программного сбоя (что маловероятно) отключит беспилотный режим и примет управление тягачом.


Несмотря на то, что заключенную сделку трудно назвать технологическим прорывом, она все же крайне важна для компании Volvo. Ведь она первая пришла к тому, что начала оказывать услуги по перевозке посредством беспилотных автомобилей. К тому же, здесь стоит отметить и высокую экономическую выгоду: Brønnøy Kalk будет платить автоконцерну за каждую перевезенную тонну известняка.
  • Использованы фотографии: https://www.volvogroup.com
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.