An-178: the last hope of the Ukrainian aircraft industry

Ukraine is actively trying to promote the latest short-haul transport aircraft An-178 in the world. It turns out no better than with previous models.




The dashing 90s never ended

After the collapse of the USSR, independent Ukraine received a fairly powerful aircraft manufacturing complex, which is now known as the “Antonov State Enterprise”. Founded in 1946, the organization has experienced many changes in names, leaders, and eras. However, the difficulties of modern Ukraine can be finished off completely.

Strictly speaking, Antonov did not experience any ups and downs either in the 90s or in the 2000s. Rather, this entire period can be called the time of prolonged stagnation. In the 1990s, the media wrote about the An-70 military transport aircraft, which had no analogues, which customers from all over the Earth were supposedly ready to tear off. The first flight was made back in 1994, but over the past years only 2 (two) prototypes were able to build Ukraine. Of course, for the successful implementation of the project, the active participation of Russia and orders on its part were of great importance. The gradual rupture of the Russian and Ukrainian aircraft industry seems to have put an end to the project. However, the An-70 (or rather, its projected four-engine turbojet version of the An-70T-400 / An-77), was transformed into a very ambitious project of a large four-engine military transport aircraft An-188 with a maximum take-off weight of 140 tons. Such is industrial escapism.
Large family

The fate of the new Ukrainian short-haul narrow-body passenger aircraft An-148, which first took off in 2004, could have been much better. The initial plan was, in principle, clear. A fairly wide market for this class of machines could provide a wide range of orders from different countries of the so-called third world, which could be of interest to a relatively small price. But as the example of the Russian Sukhoi Superjet 100 showed, plans are one thing, and reality is another. Actually, Antonov was unable to get even close to Sukhoi. They built a plane in Ukraine and Russia. And in total, 46 units were produced until the assembly lines were mothballed. Moreover, only a few serial copies were built directly in Ukraine. In fact, the project failed completely.

There were reasons for this or not, but Antonov decided that the aircraft base itself was potentially successful. So there was his elongated version in the person of An-158, who received the VIP-salon An-168, and, finally, our hero in the person of An-178. He will be discussed further.

Winged Bandera

The first flight of the new short-haul transport aircraft An-178 was successfully carried out in 2015. The car took off from the aerodrome in Gostomel, which is located near Kiev. It should carry up to 18 tons of cargo and operate at the same airfields as the Soviet An-12, not excluding unpaved runways. The speed of the An-178 reaches 825 km / h, and the practical range is 5500 km.

During the first flight, the An-178 was in the sky for about an hour. For Ukraine, which at that time was in the most difficult conditions, this, of course, was an important event, to which the attention of many media was riveted. Such popularity gave rise to even one unusual episode. In 2015, Antonov organized a vote on the name of the new car. Among the options were Cyborg, Hope, Conan, Chumak, Sapsan, Maidan, Phoenix and others. And the Bandera variant was the leader by a wide margin. However, the ambiguous glory of the Ukrainian nationalist prompted Antonov to leave the old name. They did not come back to this question.

Representatives of the company announced "great commercial potential." It is worth saying here that Ukrainian aviation experts rated the An-178 sales market at 800 aircraft for about ten years. But this is most likely a very optimistic assessment. For example, in August 2016, the total portfolio of firm orders for the An-178 amounted to eleven vehicles. Currently, only two aircraft have been built, of which one is designed for static testing.

In general, there is no reason to believe in the success of the project. Now it is impossible to call absolutely a single factor that could testify in favor of the An-178. With all desire, Ukraine will not be able to order a lot of cars. “Cramming” into the global market for transport aircraft does not work due to: a) competition with Europeans, Americans and Brazilians, b) limited demand for such aircraft. If you look more broadly, the An-178 faced the same difficulties that Russian aircraft manufacturers had previously encountered. With the widespread use of imported components, making a new aircraft “cheap” is, in principle, difficult. Now the cost of the An-178 is estimated at $ 40 million (but this is very approximate). With a high degree of probability, the price of the car will only increase.

A partial way out of the situation could be large-scale production with its characteristic reduction in costs characteristic of small-scale production. However, without large investments by the state this is impossible, and there is still no great interest on the part of foreign partners.


Another problem (this time, clean technical) became the notorious dependence on Russian components. Earlier it became known that about a third of the An-178 components were made in the Russian Federation, including landing gear, auxiliary power unit, part of avionics, hydraulics, control and much more.

In July 2018, this story received a new turn. “An-178 transport turbojet aircraft - development of Antonov engineers. And, most importantly, 78 percent of the components for the aircraft are manufactured in Ukraine, and the Russian Federation is excluded from the list of countries producing the remaining parts for our An-178, Petro Poroshenko said on his Facebook page. An alternative, according to Antonov, was Boeing. But this can hardly be called an unambiguous victory for the project. However, with a high degree of probability it can be said that the market price of the aircraft from such metamorphoses has grown even stronger.
  • Author:
  • Photos used: Vasiliy Koba / wikimedia.org
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. siberalt Offline siberalt
    siberalt (Oleg) 8 December 2018 18: 08
    +3
    Yeah. Let Ukraine combine its aircraft construction with the Gdansk shipyard. Let's see what happens. Azerbaijan has already invested in this AN, so far neither ANs nor money.lol
  2. File Offline File
    File 8 December 2018 18: 24
    +2
    As they say - the ways of the Lord ... he, or maybe the Ukrainians themselves chose the path to be a smelly scarecrow against Russia in the hands of the ... s, the essence is not important, this is their way. Let the great Ukrainians walk.

    1. tihonmarine Offline tihonmarine
      tihonmarine (Vlad) 15 December 2018 05: 36
      0
      But already gave a darling!
  3. tihonmarine Offline tihonmarine
    tihonmarine (Vlad) 15 December 2018 05: 34
    0
    An alternative, according to Antonov, was Boeing.

    Everything went to that.
  4. tihonmarine Offline tihonmarine
    tihonmarine (Vlad) 15 December 2018 05: 35
    0
    An alternative, according to Antonov, was Boeing.

    And who would doubt it.
    1. Hayer31 Offline Hayer31
      Hayer31 (Kashchei) 17 December 2018 17: 44
      0
      Esli Boeing takoy plaxoy, pochemu Suchoy Super Jet toje s Boeing om sotrudnichiet? Ili skajem tak Suchoy mojet a Antonov net?

Ан-178: последняя надежда украинского авиастроения

Новейший ближнемагистральный транспортный самолет Ан-178 Украина активно пытается продвигать в мире. Получается не лучше, чем с предыдущими моделями.





Лихие 90-е не заканчивались никогда

После распада СССР независимая Украина получила достаточно мощный авиастроительный комплекс, который сейчас известен как «Государственное предприятие Антонов». Основанная в 1946 организация пережила много смен названий, руководителей и эпох. Однако трудности современной Украины ее могут добить окончательно.

Строго говоря, никаких взлетов и падений «Антонов» не переживал ни в 90-е, ни в 2000-е. Вернее, весь этот период можно назвать временем затяжной стагнации. В 1990-е СМИ писали о «не имеющем аналогов» военно-транспортном самолете Ан-70, который якобы готовы «оторвать с руками» заказчики со всей Земли. Первый полет произвели в далеком 1994 году, но построить Украина смогла за прошедшие годы только 2 (два) опытных экземпляра. Конечно, для успешной реализации проекта большое значение имело активное участие России и заказы с ее стороны. Постепенный разрыв российского и украинского авиастроения, похоже, поставил на проекте окончательный крест. Однако, Ан-70 (вернее, его проектировавшийся четырехмоторный турбореактивный вариант Ан-70Т-400/Ан-77), трансформировался в очень амбициозный проект крупного четырехмоторного военно-транспортного самолета Ан-188 с максимальной взлетной массой в 140 тонн. Такой вот промышленный эскапизм.


Большое семейство

Куда лучше могла сложиться судьба нового украинского ближнемагистрального узкофюзеляжного пассажирского самолета Ан-148, который впервые взлетел в 2004 году. Первоначальный план был, в принципе, понятен. Довольно широкий рынок этого класса машин мог обеспечить широкий круг заказов из разных стран так называемого третьего мира, которых могла заинтересовать относительно небольшая цена. Но как показал пример российского Sukhoi Superjet 100, планы это одно, а реальность — совсем другое. Собственно, «Антонову» не удалось приблизиться даже к показателям «Сухого». Строили самолет в Украине и России. И всего до момента консервации сборочных линий произвели 46 единиц. Причем непосредственно в Украине построили только несколько серийных экземпляров. Фактически проект полностью провалился.

Были на то основания или нет, но в «Антонове» решили, что сама база самолета потенциально удачна. Так появилась его удлиненная версия в лице Ан-158, получивший VIP-салон Ан-168, и, наконец, наш герой в лице Ан-178. О нем далее и пойдет речь.

Крылатый «Бандера»

Первый полет нового ближнемагистрального транспортного самолета Ан-178 успешно осуществили в 2015 году. Машина взлетела с аэродрома в Гостомеле, который расположен рядом с Киевом. Она должна перевозить до 18 тонн грузов и действовать на тех же аэродромах, что и советский Ан-12, не исключая грунтовые взлетно-посадочные полосы. Скорость Ан-178 достигает 825 км/ч, а практическая дальность полета составляет 5500 км.


Во время первого полета Ан-178 находился в небе примерно час. Для Украины, которая в тот момент была в наиболее сложных условиях, это, конечно, стало важным событием, к которому были приковано внимание многих СМИ. Такая популярность породила даже один необычный эпизод. В 2015 году «Антонов» организовал голосование на название новой машины. Среди вариантов были «Киборг», «Надежда», «Конан», «Чумак», «Сапсан», «Майдан», «Феникс» и другие. А лидировал с большим отрывом вариант «Бандера». Однако неоднозначная слава украинского националиста побудила «Антонов» оставить старое название. К этому вопросу больше не возвращались.

Представители компании заявили о «большом коммерческом потенциале». Здесь стоит сказать, что украинские авиационные специалисты оценили рынок сбыта Ан-178 в 800 машин в течение примерно десяти лет. Но это, скорее всего, очень оптимистичная оценка. Например, в августе 2016 года общий портфель твердых заказов на Ан-178 составил одиннадцать машин. В настоящий момент построили только два самолета, из которых один предназначен для статических испытаний.


Вообще, никаких оснований верить в успех проекта, нет. Сейчас нельзя назвать ровным счетом ни одного фактора, который бы мог свидетельствовать в пользу Ан-178. Украина при всем желании не сможет заказать много машин. «Втиснуться» в мировой рынок транспортных самолетов не получится в силу: а) конкуренции с европейцами, американцами и бразильцами, б) ограниченного спроса на такие самолеты. Если смотреть шире, то Ан-178 столкнулся с теми же трудностями, с которыми ранее столкнулись российские авиастроители. При широком применении импортных комплектующих сделать новый самолет «дешевым», в принципе, тяжело. Сейчас стоимость Ан-178 оценивают в 40 миллионов долларов (но это очень приблизительно). С большой долей вероятности, цена машины будет только расти.

Частичным выходом из ситуации могло бы стать крупносерийное производство со свойственным ему снижением издержек, характерных для мелкосерийного выпуска. Однако, без больших капиталовложений со стороны государства это невозможно, да и большого интереса со стороны иностранных партнеров тоже пока не наблюдается.


Еще одной проблемой (на этот раз, чисто технической) стала пресловутая зависимость от российских компонентов. Ранее стало известно, что примерно треть из комплектующих Ан-178 сделаны в РФ, включая стойки шасси, вспомогательную силовую установку, часть авионики, гидравлику, управление и многое другое.

В июле 2018 года эта история получила новый оборот. «Транспортный турбореактивный самолет Ан-178 — разработка инженеров «Антонова». И, что самое главное, 78 процентов комплектующих для самолета производятся в Украине, а РФ исключена из списка стран, производящих остальные детали для нашего Ан-178, заявил Петр Порошенко на своей странице в Facebook. Альтернативой, если верить «Антонову», стал Boeing. Но это сложно назвать однозначной победой для проекта. Однако с большой долей вероятности можно сказать, что рыночная цена самолета от таких метаморфоз выросла еще сильнее.
Использованы фотографии: https://g.io.ua/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. сибиралт Офлайн
    сибиралт (Олег) 8 декабря 2018 18:08
    +3
    • 3
    • 0
    Ага. Пусть Украина своё самолетостроение объединит с гданьской судоверфью. Посмотрим что получится. Азербайджан уже вложился в этот АН, до сих пор ни АНов ни денег.lol
  2. Fayl Офлайн
    Fayl 8 декабря 2018 18:24
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    Как говорится - пути господни ... он, а может сами украинцы выбрали путь быть вонючим пугалом против России в руках п...ов, не суть важна, это их путь. Пусть шагают, великие украинцы.

    1. tihonmarine Офлайн
      tihonmarine ( Влад) 15 декабря 2018 05:36
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Но уже дала душёк !
  3. tihonmarine Офлайн
    tihonmarine ( Влад) 15 декабря 2018 05:34
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Альтернативой, если верить «Антонову», стал Boeing.

    Всё к тому и шло.
  4. tihonmarine Офлайн
    tihonmarine ( Влад) 15 декабря 2018 05:35
    0
    • 0
    • 0
    Альтернативой, если верить «Антонову», стал Boeing.

    И кто бы сомневался.
    1. Hayer31 Офлайн
      Hayer31 (Mher) 17 декабря 2018 17:44
      0
      • 0
      • 0
      Esli Boeing takoy plaxoy , pochemu Suchoy Super Jet toje s Boeing om sotrudnichiet? Ili skajem tak Suchoy mojet a Antonov net?