Pompeo called the worst threat to the United States

US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo called the state, which, in his opinion, will pose the highest threat to Washington. And this time it’s not even Russia. In an interview that Pompeo gave to journalist Hugh Hewitt, he considered China to be such a threat.


Pompeo called the worst threat to the United States


During the conversation, Hewitt asked his interlocutor a question in the following form:

Is the People’s Republic of China the biggest threat to the West, even more serious than Russia or Iran?


The answer to this question was that there is no doubt about it. The demographic situation in China and its economyand political system. Thanks to all this, the Secretary of State noted, it is China, in the medium and long term, that will become the biggest problem that the United States will face.

The head of American diplomacy also accused Beijing of being too aggressive in some cases and even misleading Washington. For example, Chinese leader Xi Jinping allegedly assured US President Donald Trump that his country would not “militarize” the islands located in the South China Sea. In fact, Pompeo pointed out, the Chinese are actively building military facilities on these islands.

Characteristically, this statement by the US Secretary of State was made against the backdrop of a trade dispute between Washington and Beijing. At the last GXNUMX summit, US and PRC leaders made an attempt to resolve the differences. Time will tell whether it will lead to success, but Pompeo's words speak, rather, of the opposite.

Well, the conclusion reached by the Secretary of State is in the spirit of Washington’s general policy, which seeks to maintain "readiness on all fronts."

On each of these fronts, the United States must secure a dominant role in the world.

- said Pompeo.
  • Used photos: fingazeta.ru
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Помпео назвал самую страшную угрозу для США

Госсекретарь США Майк Помпео назвал государство, которое, по его мнению, будет представлять наивысшую угрозу для Вашингтона. И на сей раз это даже не Россия. В ходе интервью, которое Помпео давал журналисту Хью Хьюитту, таковой угрозой он счел Китай.

Помпео назвал самую страшную угрозу для США


Во время беседы Хьюитт задал своему собеседнику вопрос в такой форме:


Является ли Китайская народная республика самой большой угрозой для Запада, даже более серьезной, чем Россия или Иран?


На данный вопрос последовал ответ, что на этот счет нет никаких сомнений. Вызывают беспокойство и демографическая ситуация в Китае, и его экономика, и политический строй. Благодаря всему этому, отметил госсекретарь, именно Китай в среднесрочной и долгосрочной перспективе станет самой крупной проблемой, с которой столкнутся Соединенные Штаты.

Глава американской дипломатии обвинил Пекин еще и в том, что в некоторых случаях тот ведет себя слишком агрессивно и даже вводит Вашингтон в заблуждение. Например, китайский руководитель Си Цзиньпин якобы заверил президента США Дональда Трампа, что его страна не будет «милитаризировать» острова, расположенные в Южно-Китайском море. На самом же деле, указал Помпео, на этих островах китайцы активно осуществляют строительство военных объектов.

Характерно, что данное заявление госсекретаря США сделано на фоне спора между Вашингтоном и Пекином по торговым вопросам. На последнем саммите «Большой двадцатки» лидеры США и КНР предприняли попытку урегулировать разногласия. Время покажет, приведет ли она к успеху, однако слова Помпео говорят, скорее, об обратном.

Ну, а вывод, сделанный госсекретарем, — вполне в духе общей политики Вашингтона, который стремится сохранить «готовность на всех фронтах».

На каждом из этих фронтов США должны обеспечить себе главенствующую роль в мире

— сказал Помпео.
Использованы фотографии: fingazeta.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти