Is the US going to exit Afghanistan?

It became known that on December 17, 2018 a meeting of representatives of the United States and the Afghan Taliban movement (prohibited in Russia) should be held. Negotiations will be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), as reported by the Taliban spokesman Zabihulla Mujahid.




Mujahid noted that, in addition to the Taliban, the United States and the UAE, representatives of Saudi Arabia and Pakistan can also attend the meeting. This is logical, given their literal involvement in Afghan processes since the late 70s of the twentieth century.

These talks between Washington and the Taliban will be a continuation of two previous consultations. They were then led by US Special Representative for Afghanistan Zalmay Khalilzad in Qatar. It should be noted that Khalilzad was born in Afghanistan (Mazar-e-Sharif) and at a mature age became a US citizen. He was the US ambassador to Afghanistan and Iraq, so he is very competent in the local context.

Currently, there is a serious activation of the United States at the diplomatic level. Officially, this is explained by the White House’s desire to resolve the situation in Afghanistan. At the same time, the Taliban refuse to communicate directly with the current government in Kabul, considering it a puppet of the West and calling it illegal.

By the way, there is an opinion that Washington is forcing negotiations with the Taliban solely in order to withdraw its troops from this country. Their stay there has dragged on and is no longer justifying itself. But to withdraw the troops, you need at least some semblance of calm. So it was when the USSR withdrew its troops from Afghanistan in the late 80s of the twentieth century. And now a very similar situation is observed.
  • Used photos: http://ru.axar.az/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

США засобирались на выход из Афганистана?

Стало известно, что 17 декабря 2018 года должна состояться встреча представителей США и афганского движения «Талибан» (запрещено в России). Переговоры пройдут в Объединенных Арабских Эмиратах (ОАЭ), о чем сообщил пресс-секретарь талибов Забихулла Муджахид.





Муджахид отметил, что на упомянутой встрече, кроме «Талибана», США и ОАЭ могут присутствовать также представители Саудовской Аравии и Пакистана. Это логично, учитывая их буквальную вовлеченность в афганские процессы с конца 70-х годов ХХ века.

Эти переговоры Вашингтона с талибами станут продолжением двух предыдущих консультаций. Их тогда проводил спецпредставитель США по Афганистану Залмай Халилзад в Катаре. Нужно отметить, что Халилзад родился в Афганистане (Мазари-Шариф) и в зрелом возрасте стал гражданином США. Был послом США в Афганистане и Ираке, так что он весьма компетентен в местной специфике.

В настоящее время наблюдается серьезная активизация США на дипломатическом уровне. Официально это объясняется желанием Белого дома урегулировать ситуацию в Афганистане. При этом талибы отказываются общаться с действующим правительством в Кабуле напрямую, считая его марионеткой Запада и называя незаконным.

К слову, есть мнение, что Вашингтон форсирует переговоры с талибами исключительно для того, чтобы вывести свои войска из этой страны. Их пребывание там изрядно затянулось и уже не оправдывает себя. Но, чтобы вывести войска, нужно хоть какое-то подобие спокойствия. Так было тогда, когда СССР выводил свои войска из Афганистана в конце 80-х годов ХХ века. Вот и сейчас наблюдается очень похожая ситуация.
Использованы фотографии: http://ru.axar.az/

Мнение редакции может не совпадать с точкой зрения автора публикации

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Ctrl Enter
Читайте также
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти