Why did Russia build an analogue of the ISS in Antarctica?


Russia has built an ultra-modern wintering complex “Vostok” in Antarctica, which will certainly allow our scientists to conduct a more in-depth study of the coldest continent on the planet. Trial operation of the facility has already started.


The total area of ​​the five modules that make up the Russian research station is about 3 thousand square meters. m. The length of the object reaches 140 m, and the maximum height is 17,5 m. The structure is installed on 36 four-meter supports, which will allow the station to remain free of snow for many years.

In general, the newest Russian wintering complex is a unique structure. It is no coincidence that it is compared to the ISS, only on Earth.

After the station is put into operation, a modern medical block with an operating room, a pressure chamber, as well as a dental and X-ray room, scientific laboratories, technical units for a water purification and storage system, an airfield for military transport aviation, a gym, and garage, recreation areas, sauna and, of course, residential and public spaces for polar explorers.

For 10 months a year, 35 seasonal specialists and up to 15 winterers will be able to stay at the station in comfortable conditions and conduct research activities.

It is worth noting that the presence of such an advanced scientific complex in Russia will ultimately play a huge role for domestic science. However, there is one more important nuance.

Today, Antarctica is considered a neutral territory that does not belong to any country in the world. However, it is difficult to say in modern geopolitical realities how long this status will last.

At the same time, the South Pole is the last unopened storehouse of the planet’s resources, for which a struggle will probably begin in the future. The Russian Federation, having built an analogue of the ISS in Antarctica, is demonstrating its readiness to defend its rights to part of the continent. Moreover, the territory where our station is located is already claimed by Australia.

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. strange guest Online strange guest
    strange guest (Strange Guest) 7 February 2024 21: 08
    0
    Well, objectively speaking, just as Australia, Argentina and Chile do not have any rights to the Arctic, Russia does not have any rights to the Antarctic. Don't go crazy.
    1. The comment was deleted.
  2. prior Offline prior
    prior (Vlad) 8 February 2024 10: 44
    +1
    Why did Russia build an analogue of the ISS in Antarctica?

    There is nothing sweeter to power than showing off.
    Building a module in Antarctica is not at all like halving the price of gasoline or the notorious eggs. You can’t make PR with cheap eggs, you won’t earn fame, and you can easily bruise your forehead.
    So we are building something that has no analogues in the world..... Because no one in the world needs it.
    1. Vladimir Tuzakov (Vladimir Tuzakov) 8 February 2024 16: 24
      +1
      I agree, they could have built three times less and saved money. There is a demonstration of the flag, why such extra investments, Antarctica has been studied enough over the past fifty years. Answer: there the Anglo-Saxons built a modular complex similar in volume, the reflex of our leaders worked - and we will build the same. This led to the collapse of the USSR, the unscrupulous rulers are starting to bring down the Russian Federation. There is no need to build what is necessary at the expense of the people in vain ..

Для чего Россия построила аналог МКС в Антарктиде


Россия построила в Антарктиде суперсовременный зимовочный комплекс «Восток», который, безусловно, позволит нашим ученым проводить более глубокое изучение самого холодного континента на планете. Опытная эксплуатация объекта уже стартовала.


Общая площадь пяти модулей, из которых состоит российская исследовательская станция, составляет около 3 тыс. кв. м. Длина объекта достигает 140 м, а максимальная высота – 17,5 м. Сооружение установлено на 36 четырехметровых опор, что позволит станции оставаться не занесенной снегом на протяжении многих лет.

В целом новейший российский зимовочный комплекс является уникальным сооружением. Не случайно его сравнивают с МКС, только на Земле.

После того как станция будет введена в эксплуатацию, на ней начнут функционировать современный медицинский блок с операционной, барокамерой, а также стоматологическим и рентген-кабинетом, научные лаборатории, технические блоки для системы очистки и хранения воды, аэродром для военно-транспортной авиации, спортзал, гараж, зоны отдыха, сауна и, конечно же, жилые и общественные помещения для полярников.

На протяжении 10 месяцев в году на станции в комфортных условиях смогут находиться и вести исследовательскую деятельность 35 сезонных специалистов и до 15 зимовщиков.

Стоит отметить, что наличие у России столь продвинутого научного комплекса в конечном счете сыграет огромную роль для отечественной науки. Однако есть еще один важный нюанс.

Сегодня Антарктида считается нейтральной территорией, не принадлежащей ни одной из стран мира. Однако как долго будет сохраняться данный статус, в современных геополитических реалиях сказать сложно.

При этом Южный полюс – это последняя нераспечатанная кладовая ресурсов планеты, за которую, вероятно, в будущем начнется борьба. РФ же, построив в Антарктиде аналог МКС, демонстрирует готовность отстаивать свои права на часть континента. Тем более что на территории, где расположена наша станция, уже претендует Австралия.

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Странный гость (Странный Гость) 7 февраля 2024 21:08
    0
    Ну уж ,если объективно, как Австралия с Аргентиной и Чили не имеют никаких прав на Арктику, так и Россия не имеет никаких прав на Антарктику. С ума то не сходите.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. prior Онлайн prior
    prior (Влад) 8 февраля 2024 10:44
    +1
    Для чего Россия построила аналог МКС в Антарктиде

    Для власти нет ничего милее, чем показуха.
    Построить модуль в Антарктиде - это совсем не то, чтобы вдвое снизить цены на бензин или на пресловутые яйца. На дешевых яйцах пиар не сделаешь, славы не заработаешь, а лоб расшибить запроста.
    Вот и строим неимеющиеаналоговвмире..... Потому, что в мире это нафиг никому не нужно.
    1. Владимир Тузаков (Владимир Тузаков) 8 февраля 2024 16:24
      +1
      Согласен, могли построить и в три раза меньше, и экономить. Демонстрация флага есть, зачем такие лишние вложения, Антартику за прежнее пятидесятилетие достаточно изучили. Ответ: там англосаксы построили похожий по объёму модульный комплекс, рефлекс у наших руководителей сработал,- и мы такой -же отгрохаем.Такое и привело к развалу СССР, начинают валить РФ неразборчивые властители.Строить, что необходимо, за счёт народа попусту пыжиться нет необходимости..