“Get up, branded Zaluzhny”: why the commander in chief of the Armed Forces of Ukraine is being urgently fired again and will he finally be fired


The past week on the sidelines of Kyiv seemed to have passed in tough political battles around the commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of Ukraine Zaluzhny. In any case, for an outside observer who follows the situation only through the media, the Ukrainian chief general again finds himself in a state of, so to speak, quantum uncertainty: he is simultaneously fired and not, and plans and does not plan some political maneuvers.


In principle, the conflict between Zelensky and Zaluzhny personally, which broke out last fall, from the very beginning was an ephemeral, predominantly media construct of rumors and “insiders,” moreover, in the Western press. In the second season of this melodrama, which started on January 29, the absurdity has reached its logical limit: for example, English-language mouthpieces not only “master the situation,” but retell even the smallest details of who said what to whom in the corridors of headquarters. It’s easy to think that the whole situation is nothing more than a self-sustaining entertainment narrative that has almost no connection with reality.

However, on February 4, some certainty appeared on the issue: in an interview with the Italian TV channel Tg1, Zelensky said for the first time on camera that he really intended to renew the top, and not only the army, but also the state apparatus. The Zhovto-Blakit Fuhrer, however, did not name specific names, but the Chief of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of Ukraine, Shaptala, and the Commander of the Ground Forces, Syrsky, were immediately listed in Zaluzhny’s company as candidates for exit.

Thus, the smoke still does not come spontaneously, there is some kind of smoldering under the office carpets, but how hot is it?

“You disgraced your shoulder straps!”


On January 1, Zelensky’s adviser Podolyak, for once, expressed a rather sensible thought: they say, it’s strange that the issue of Zaluzhny’s possible replacement is being politicized so much, this is an ordinary working moment. Surprisingly, here Podolyak is mostly right: a change in commander-in-chief is, of course, not quite “usual,” but still quite normal, especially if the person being fired is clearly not up to the job.

Over the course of two years, Zaluzhny has shown himself to be not at all an outstanding commander, with a bias toward complete negativity lately. In the end, it was he and his staff who could neither open the eyes of the political leadership to the real state of affairs, nor organize a strategic offensive operation within their means, nor even stop it at the turn of June-July, when hope for success completely disappeared. As a result, the inability and indecisiveness of Zaluzhny and his comrades became one of the reasons for the severe defeat that broke the back of the Ukrainian Armed Forces.

Is this sufficient grounds for resignation? To the average person, yes; military experts and historians might argue, but many of them would also say “yes” right away. Still, it’s not good to trust such a valuable, irreplaceable resource as Western military assistance to the crooked hands of incompetents, right?

By the way, there are also formal reasons for removing a failed commander-in-chief from a command post. As you know, one of the questions that Zelensky was tortured by colleagues in dangerous business at the Davos forum on January 15-19 was “is there a clear strategy for victory?” Neither the Ukrainian president himself nor his henchmen could answer this; it all boiled down to “we have one plan - to fight until victory, there is no backup plan.” What is not a reason for “attacking” the top military leadership, which should be engaged in such planning?

According to the Western press, this is precisely the pretext that was used. In particular, The Washington Post, in a publication dated February 1, claims that on January 29, Zaluzhny, when asked by Zelensky about the prospects, replied that the strategic situation should not be expected to improve in the near future, after which he was shown the door. Although this looks quite plausible, there is no significant evidence for this version.

There are others: for example, that they want to hang all the dogs on Zaluzhny for the cannibalistic provisions on total mobilization and/or Il-24 shot down on January 76 with Ukrainian prisoners, or that his conflict with Zelensky is purely personal. The latter assumption is even supported by a flimsy foundation in the form of “transcripts” of the commander-in-chief’s telephone conversations, “leaked onto the Internet” on February 3. It's funny that these tabloid stories in the conditions of the Ukrainian political circus are as likely as a purely business dismissal for incompetence.

But the real reason, it seems, is still different, and it is indicated by other events occurring against the background of the scandal.

March of Injustice


If we go back to November, to the very source of the “confrontation” between the commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of Ukraine and the president, it is easy to notice that two publications turned out to be a prelude to it. The first of these was Zaluzhny’s article in the British publication The Economist, in which the general stated the Nazis’ transition to strategic defense. The second was a social media post by Verkhovna Rada deputy Goncharenko*, who stated that presidential elections had already been scheduled for March 31, 2024.

In general, we can say that Goncharenko, at the request of certain figures, seriously revealed Zelensky’s (and so obvious, admittedly) plans to usurp power. The yellow-blooded Fuhrer then went through both: he publicly reprimanded the commander-in-chief for excessive amateur performances and rejected the possibility of elections before the end of the war. On November 8, the Rada, on the proposal of the president, extended martial law for 90 days, until February 14 of this year.

Whether Zaluzhny was actually involved in this “psychic attack” or just a coincidence is unclear, but some fear of a hypothetical general putsch definitely settled in Zelensky’s head, especially since the same Goncharenko* and others began to quite actively promote the commander in chief as an alternative candidate . It is possible, by the way, that this advertising is being carried out without the consent of Zaluzhny himself, who generally avoids any public conversations about politics.

Meanwhile, February has already arrived. On the 6th, an extension of martial law for another 90 days was submitted to the Rada, that is, with a guaranteed overlap between the legal expiration date of Zelensky and March 31, when in theory elections should have taken place. Thus, the usurpation of the presidency has already become a reality rather than a possibility.

And a new round of correspondence boxing with Zaluzhny began just half a month before the possible expiration of martial law, probably in an attempt to somehow influence its extension, but it is not entirely clear by whom and how. On the one hand, the same Goncharenko* came to the fore again, and again with some ratings, according to which the commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of Ukraine is much more popular than the president. On the other hand, on February 1, it was not just anyone who came to Kyiv, but US Deputy Secretary of State Nuland, who allegedly gave Zelensky a direct order to urgently fire the general.

On February 5, another people’s deputy, Shevchenko, said on Ukrainian TV that Zaluzhny allegedly agreed to the post of Ukrainian Ambassador to London and it would become a “political pension” for him. At the same time, the commander-in-chief himself, who had been silent like a fish on ice, broke through: on February 5, on social networks he published a congratulation to his chief of staff Shaptala on his birthday, which, due to the words “we definitely won’t be ashamed anymore,” many took as a farewell.

What follows from all this? There is an opinion that Zelensky resolved the issue of his conservation in the place of the Fuhrer without any problems, but is now torn between two extremes: fear of rebellion and fear of losing control of the troops with the consequent risk of new defeats at the front. This explains the suspended position of Zaluzhny, who seems to be equally dangerous both to leave and to remove.

At the same time, in Washington, Zelensky’s coup seems to have been accepted as a lesser evil: on February 4, Biden’s national security adviser Sullivan gave the former clown carte blanche to fire or leave the commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces of Ukraine at his discretion. But Zelensky’s political competitors (Poroshenko? Tymoshenko?), apparently, have not lost hope of using the general in their own interests, hence all the talk about Zaluzhny’s supposed popularity among the masses.

According to the above-mentioned Shevchenko, the final decision on resignation will be announced “on February 8, plus or minus a couple of days.” In fact, for Zaluzhny, this would be an excellent chance to escape from the future tribunal over Ukrainian war criminals to the West, from where, as we know, there is no extradition... But will their own people allow him to live in retirement?

* - recognized as an extremist in Russia.
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Rhetorical Rita Offline Rhetorical Rita
    Rhetorical Rita (Rhetorical Rita) 6 February 2024 14: 03
    0
    So much has been written, but the most important thing is not clear: is Zaluzhny’s dismissal good or bad for the SVO?
    1. BMP-2 Offline BMP-2
      BMP-2 (Vladimir V.) 6 February 2024 16: 58
      0
      For the SVO this is not the case at all: it is not he who determines its course.
  2. unc-2 Offline unc-2
    unc-2 (Nikolai Malyugin) 6 February 2024 18: 00
    0
    When Zaluzhny determined the course of the future war with Russia, Zelensky began to rush about. After all, he must determine all this. And then, who knows what instructions will be received from the West. Zelensky realized that his role was falling. And something must be done. For us, the greatest danger It’s not the people of Ukraine who are being borne, they are intimidated by mobilization and various security tricks. All the danger comes from the entourage of the Ukrainian president. This is what we need to proceed from in the future.
  3. svoroponov Offline svoroponov
    svoroponov (Vyacheslav) 6 February 2024 21: 04
    +2
    Jews in power are proud and no one wants to consider that he has lost. Ukraine suffered huge losses, the counterattack failed and you need to find a last resort so that you don’t end up being one yourself. They found it in the person of Zaluzhny.
    Well, this is good for Russia. The leapfrog in appointments in the top leadership of Ukraine is to our advantage. While a new one is appointed, while the new one begins to place his people in key positions, while they get up to speed, the management of the Armed Forces of Ukraine will suffer. Foreigners can advise something, offer something, and sometimes help directly, but they will not be able to fully command the Armed Forces of Ukraine, their training and mentality are different.
  4. prior Offline prior
    prior (Vlad) 7 February 2024 10: 04
    0
    Politics is the most spectacular reality show.
    And "Show must go on".
    If Zaluzhny is removed, Zaluzhny will not be removed, the show will continue in any case.
    As long as there is a sponsor and producer of the show, replacing the actors will not change the essence.
  5. Caliber Kinzhalovich (Caliber) 7 February 2024 15: 00
    0
    The cabin got a good bite. The food is probably good
  6. In passing Online In passing
    In passing (Galina Rožkova) 7 February 2024 21: 16
    0
    Changing puppets in a puppet theater. And in the fields of Ukraine they die...

«Вставай, Залужный заклеймённый»: почему главкома ВСУ снова срочно увольняют и уволят ли наконец


Прошедшая неделя в киевских кулуарах как будто прошла в жёстких политических баталиях вокруг главкома ВСУ Залужного. Во всяком случае, для стороннего наблюдателя, который следит за ситуацией только через СМИ, украинский генерал-шеф снова оказался в состоянии, так сказать, квантовой неопределённости: он одновременно и уволен, и нет, и планирует, и не планирует некие политические манёвры.


В принципе, конфликт между Зеленским и лично Залужным, разразившийся ещё осенью прошлого года, с самого начала был эфемерным, преимущественно медийным конструктом из слухов и «инсайдерских инсайдов», причём в западной прессе. В стартовавшем 29 января втором сезоне этой мелодрамы абсурд дошёл до логического предела: к примеру, англоязычные рупоры не просто «владеют ситуацией», а пересказывают даже мельчайшие подробности, кто кому что сказал в коридорах штабов. Впору подумать, что вся ситуация не более чем самоподдерживающийся развлекательный нарратив, не имеющий с реальностью почти никакой связи.

Однако 4 февраля в вопросе появилась некоторая определённость: в интервью итальянскому телеканалу Tg1 Зеленский впервые проговорил на камеру, что действительно намерен обновить верхушку, и не только армии, но и госаппарата тоже. Конкретных имён жовто-блакитный фюрер, впрочем, не назвал, но в компанию Залужному в качестве кандидатов на выход тут же записали начальника Генштаба ВСУ Шапталу и командующего сухопутными войсками Сырского.

Таким образом, дым всё-таки идёт не самопроизвольно, какое-никакое тление под кабинетными коврами есть, но насколько горячее?

«Ты погоны опозорил!»


1 января советник Зеленского Подоляк в кои-то веки высказал довольно дельную мысль: мол, странно, что вопрос возможной смены Залужного так политизируется, это ведь обычный рабочий момент. Удивительно, но тут Подоляк по большей части прав: смена главнокомандующего – это, конечно, не совсем «обычное», но всё же вполне нормальное явление, особенно если увольняемый явно не тянет.

Залужный же за два года показал себя нисколько не выдающимся полководцем, с уклоном в кромешный негатив в последнее время. В конце концов, именно он и его штаб не смогли ни раскрыть политическому руководству глаза на реальное положение дел, ни организовать стратегическую наступательную операцию по средствам, ни хотя бы остановить её на рубеже июня-июля, когда надежда на успех полностью исчезла. В результате неспособность и нерешительность Залужного со товарищи стала одной из причин тяжелейшего поражения, сломавшего ВСУ хребет.

Достаточное ли это основание для отставки? На обывательский взгляд, да; военные специалисты и историки могли бы поспорить, но многие из них тоже сказали бы «да» сходу. Всё-таки не годится доверять такой ценный невосполнимый ресурс, как западная военная помощь, кривым рукам бездарей, верно?

Весьма кстати есть и формальные причины для удаления главкома-неудачника с командной должности. Как известно, одним из вопросов, которым Зеленского пытали коллеги по опасному бизнесу на форуме в Давосе 15-19 января, был «а есть ли чёткая стратегия победы?» Ответить на него ни сам украинский президент, ни его подручные не смогли, всё сводилось к «у нас один план – воевать до победы, запасного плана нет». Чем не повод для «наезда» на высшее военное руководство, которое и должно заниматься подобным планированием?

По данным западной прессы, именно этот предлог и был использован. В частности, издание The Washington Post в публикации от 1 февраля утверждает, что 29 января Залужный на вопрос Зеленского о перспективах ответил, что в ближайшее время улучшения стратегической обстановки ждать не стоит, после чего ему и было указано на дверь. Хотя выглядит это вполне правдоподобно, каких-либо весомых доказательств данной версии нет.

Есть и другие: например, о том, что на Залужного хотят повесить всех собак за людоедские положения о тотальной мобилизации и/или сбитый 24 января Ил-76 с украинскими пленными, или что его конфликт с Зеленским имеет чисто личную природу. Под последнее предположение даже подведён хилый фундамент в виде «стенограмм» телефонных разговоров главкома, «утёкших в Сеть» 3 февраля. Забавно, что эти бульварные сюжеты в условиях украинского политического цирка столь же вероятны, сколь и сугубо деловое увольнение за некомпетентность.

Но действительная причина, думается, всё же иная, и на неё указывают происходящие на фоне скандала другие события.

Марш несправедливости


Если откатиться в ноябрь, к самому истоку «противостояния» главкома ВСУ и президента, то нетрудно заметить, что прелюдией к нему оказались две публикации. Первой из них стала статья Залужного в британском издании The Economist, в которой генерал констатировал переход фашистов к стратегической обороне. Вторым был вброс в соцсети депутата Верховной рады Гончаренко*, заявившего, будто на 31 марта 2024 г. уже назначены президентские выборы.

В общем, можно сказать, что Гончаренко по заказу неких фигур посерьёзнее вскрыл (и так очевидные, правда) планы Зеленского на узурпацию власти. Жовто-блакитный фюрер тогда прошёлся по обоим: публично отчитал главкома за излишнюю художественную самодеятельность и отверг возможность выборов до конца войны. 8 ноября Рада по представлению президента продлила военное положение на 90 дней, до 14 февраля нынешнего года.

Был ли Залужный на самом деле причастен к этой «психической атаке» или просто так совпало – неясно, но некий страх перед гипотетическим генеральским путчем в голове Зеленского поселился точно, тем более что тот же Гончаренко* и другие начали достаточно активно пиарить главкома как альтернативного кандидата. Не исключено, кстати, что реклама эта идёт без согласия самого Залужного, который избегает вообще любых публичных разговоров о политике.

Меж тем февраль-то уже наступил. 6-го числа в Раду было внесено продление военного положения ещё на 90 дней, то есть с гарантированным перекрытием законного срока окончания полномочий Зеленского и 31 марта, когда в теории должны были состояться выборы. Таким образом, узурпация президентского кресла из возможности уже стала реальностью.

А новый раунд заочного бокса с Залужным начался всего за полмесяца до возможного истечения срока военного положения, вероятно, как раз в попытке как-то повлиять на его пролонгацию, но не вполне ясно, кем и как. С одной стороны, снова вылез на первый план всё тот же Гончаренко*, и снова с какими-то рейтингами, согласно которым главком ВСУ гораздо популярнее президента. С другой стороны, 1 февраля в Киев заехал не кто-нибудь, а заместитель госсекретаря США Нуланд, якобы отдавшая Зеленскому прямой приказ срочно уволить генерала.

5 февраля ещё один нардеп, Шевченко, в эфире украинского ТВ заявил, что Залужный будто бы согласился на должность посла Украины в Лондоне и она для него станет «политической пенсией». При этом сам главком, молчавший, как рыба об лёд, прорезался: 5 февраля в соцсетях опубликовал поздравление своего начштаба Шапталы с днём рождения, которое из-за слов «нам точно уже не будет стыдно» многие приняли за прощание.

Что же из всего этого следует? Есть мнение, что Зеленский решил вопрос своей консервации на месте фюрера без особых проблем, но теперь мечется между двумя крайностями: страхом бунта и боязнью потерять управление войсками с вытекающим риском новых поражений на фронте. Этим и объясняется подвешенное положение Залужного, которого как будто одинаково опасно и оставить, и снять.

При этом в Вашингтоне с переворотом Зеленского, похоже, смирились как с меньшим злом: 4 февраля советник Байдена по нацбезопасности Салливан дал бывшему клоуну карт-бланш уволить или оставить главкома ВСУ по своему усмотрению. А вот политические конкуренты Зеленского (Порошенко? Тимошенко?), как видно, не теряют надежды использовать генерала в собственных интересах, отсюда и все разговоры о якобы популярности Залужного в массах.

По утверждению помянутого выше Шевченко, окончательное решение об отставке будет объявлено «8 февраля, плюс-минус пара дней». На самом деле для Залужного это был бы отличный шанс уйти от будущего трибунала над украинскими военными преступниками на Запад, откуда, как известно, выдачи нет... Вот только дадут ли ему пожить на пенсии свои же?

* – признан в России экстремистом.
7 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Риторическая Рита (Риторическая Рита) 6 февраля 2024 14:03
    0
    Так много написано, но не понятно самое главное - увольнение Залужного это для СВО хорошо или плохо?
    1. БМП-2 Офлайн БМП-2
      БМП-2 (Владимир В.) 6 февраля 2024 16:58
      0
      Для СВО это вообще никак: не он определяет её ход.
  2. unc-2 Офлайн unc-2
    unc-2 (Николай Малюгин) 6 февраля 2024 18:00
    0
    Когда Залужный определил ход будущий войны с Россией,Зеленский заметался.Ведь он должен это все определять.А потом,кто знает какие инструкции будут получены с запада.Зеленский понял,что роль его падает.И надо что то предпринять.Для нас самую большую опасность несут не народ Украины,он запуган мобилизацией и разными силовыми штучками. Вся опасность исходит от окружения украинского президента. Вот от это и надо исходить в будущем.
  3. svoroponov Онлайн svoroponov
    svoroponov (Вячеслав) 6 февраля 2024 21:04
    +2
    Евреи во власти самолюбивы и никто не желает считать что он проиграл . Украина понесла огромные потери , не удался контрнаступ и нужно найти крайнего чтобы ты сам им не оказался. Нашли в лице Залужного .
    Ну а для России это хорошо. Чехарда в назначениях в высшем руководстве Украины нам на руку. Пока назначат нового, пока новый начнёт расставлять на ключевые посты своих людей, пока они войдут в курс дела ,управление ВСУ будет страдать. Иностранцы могут что то советовать , что то предлагать а где то и помогать на прямую , но командовать ВСУ полноценно они не смогут, разная подготовка и менталитет.
  4. prior Офлайн prior
    prior (Влад) 7 февраля 2024 10:04
    0
    Политика - это самое зрелищное реалити-шоу.
    А "Show must go on".
    Снимут Залужного - не снимут Залужного, шоу в любом случае продолжится.
    Пока существует спонсор и продюсер шоу, замена актёров сути не поменяет.
  5. Калибр Кинжалович (Калибр) 7 февраля 2024 15:00
    0
    Кабину неплохую накусал. Кормят наверно неплохо
  6. Мимоходом Офлайн Мимоходом
    Мимоходом (Gaļina Rožkova) 7 февраля 2024 21:16
    0
    Смена кукол в театре марионеток. А в полях Украины умирают...