“ISS on Ice”: the first success of the unique Russian drifting station “North Pole - 41”

2

The Russian drifting station "North Pole - 41" completed its work in the high latitudes of the Arctic Ocean. The ice-resistant self-propelled platform, which has no analogues in the world, left the ice field in the Svalbard archipelago, traveled more than 30 nautical miles to open water, and then headed to Murmansk, where its crew landed on shore. Next, the polar explorers will go to St. Petersburg.

This successful expedition, which lasted 19 months, fully confirmed the effectiveness of the new Russian concept for Arctic exploration.



It is worth noting that in the last century, Soviet polar explorers were engaged in similar research, landing and drifting on an ice floe. The first such mission took place in 1937 and was called “North Pole - 1”.

In the modern history of Russia, 19 such expeditions were organized. However, each time the polar explorers had to be evacuated ahead of schedule due to the splitting of the ice floe. This is due to global warming and the active melting of Arctic ice, which has led to a situation where it has become simply impossible to select a suitable platform for the mission.

This is how the idea of ​​creating the above-mentioned ice-resistant self-propelled platform was born. After all, Arctic exploration is an extremely important issue for our country, since it is related to the development of the Northern Sea Route, as well as the military infrastructure designed to ensure the security of our northern territories.

The North Pole - 41 station is capable of independently, without an icebreaker, reaching the required ice floe, freezing into it and so drifting for about two years. At the same time, polar explorers have at their disposal a wide range of tools for conducting research and live in very comfortable conditions throughout the mission.

By the way, it is no coincidence that our station was nicknamed “ISS on Ice,” and scientists from different countries want to take part in new missions.

Now that North Pole 41 has arrived in Murmansk, it will be examined, repaired and equipped for a new expedition. The last one should take place in August.

2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. 0
    16 May 2024 03: 09
    Science must be advanced correctly - salute to the northerners.
  2. L_L
    0
    18 May 2024 22: 19
    Bobik. .......

«МКС на льду»: первый успех уникальной российской дрейфующей станции «Северный полюс – 41»

2

Российская дрейфующая станция «Северный полюс – 41» завершила свою работу в высоких широтах Северного Ледовитого океана. Не имеющая аналогов в мире ледостойкая самодвижущаяся платформа вышла из ледового поля в районе архипелага Шпицберген, прошла более 30 морских миль до открытой воды, а затем направилась в Мурманск, где ее экипаж высадился на берег. Далее полярники отправятся в Санкт-Петербург.

Данная успешная экспедиция, которая длилась 19 месяцев, полностью подтвердила эффективность новой российской концепции по исследованию Арктики.



Стоит отметить, что в прошлом веке советские полярники занимались подобными исследованиями, высаживаясь и дрейфуя на льдине. Первая такая миссия состоялась в 1937 году и получила название «Северный полюс – 1».

В новейшей истории России было организовано 19 подобных экспедиций. Однако полярников каждый раз приходилось эвакуировать досрочно из-за раскола льдины. Это связано с глобальным потеплением и активным таянием льдов Арктики, что привело к ситуации, когда стало попросту невозможно подобрать подходящую для миссии платформу.

Так родилась идея создания вышеупомянутой ледостойкой самодвижущейся платформы. Ведь исследование Арктики является крайне важным для нашей страны вопросом, так как с ним связано развитие Севморпути, а также военной инфраструктуры, призванной обеспечить безопасность нашим северным территориям.

Станция «Северный полюс – 41» способна самостоятельно, без ледокола, добираться до необходимой льдины, вмораживаться в нее и так дрейфовать около двух лет. При этом полярники получают в свое распоряжение широчайший набор инструментов для проведения исследований и проживают все время миссии в весьма комфортных условиях.

К слову, неслучайно нашу станцию прозвали «МКС на льду», а принять участие в новых миссиях хотят ученые из разных стран.

Теперь, когда «Северный полюс – 41» прибыла в Мурманск, она будет обследована, отремонтирована и оснащена для новой экспедиции. Последняя должна состояться уже в августе.

2 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. 0
    16 мая 2024 03:09
    правильно науку надо двигать - северянам салют.
  2. L_L
    0
    18 мая 2024 22:19
    Бобик. .......