US Senate prepares resolution against lifting sanctions from Rusal

The head of the Democratic faction in the US Senate, Chuck Schumer, spoke about his preparation of a resolution expressing protest against the idea of ​​lifting sanctions from companies controlled by Russian businessman Oleg Deripaska. We are talking about such corporations as Rusal, En + and Eurosibenergo.




The US Treasury Department last December expressed its intention to remove all three of these companies from the sanctions list in thirty days. At the same time, Deripaska himself remains on the list, so that those assets where he has a share of 50 percent or more will remain frozen.

The ministry explains its idea by the fact that Deripaska's share in the above companies is reduced. However many american policy They believe that even such a partial mitigation of sanctions against the Russians is unacceptable.

According to Schumer, members of Congress will carefully study the grounds for such a decision as lifting sanctions from firms controlled by Deripaska. However, for the Democrats who raise this issue, the point is not only in it, but in the very possibility of influencing decision-making.

I am not doing this because I decided that Congress should take action against this agreement - so far I have not come to such a decision - but in order to preserve the procedural possibilities for introducing such a resolution, if necessary

- quotes the words of Sumer Daily Beast.

If this draft resolution is submitted for consideration, then in order for it to reach President Donald Trump, the document needs to get a simple majority of votes in both houses of Congress. However, as the publication expects, most likely, Trump will reject this resolution. And then its authors will face the task of gaining an overwhelming majority of votes in order to circumvent the veto of the head of state.


  • Used photos: vtorlommet.ru
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Сенат США готовит резолюцию против снятия санкций с «Русала»

Руководитель фракции демократов в Сенате США Чак Шумер рассказал о подготовке им резолюции, в которой выражен протест против идеи снять санкции с компаний, подконтрольных российскому бизнесмену Олегу Дерипаске. Речь идет о таких корпорациях, как «Русал», En+ и «Евросибэнерго».





Министерство финансов США в декабре прошлого года выразило намерение исключить все эти три компании из санкционного списка уже через тридцать дней. При этом сам Дерипаска остается в списке, так что те активы, где он имеет долю 50 и более процентов, останутся замороженными.

Министерство объясняет свою идею тем, что в вышеуказанных компаниях доля участия Дерипаски сокращена. Однако многие американские политики считают, что даже такое частичное смягчение санкций против россиян недопустимо.

По словам Шумера, члены Конгресса будут внимательно изучать основания для такого решения, как снятие санкций с фирм, подконтрольных Дерипаске. Впрочем, для демократов, которые поднимают данный вопрос, дело не только в нем, а в самой возможности оказывать влияние на принятие решений.

Я делаю это не потому, что решил, что Конгрессу следует принять меры против этого соглашения — пока что я не пришел к такому решению, — а чтобы сохранить процедурные возможности для внесения такой резолюции, если она понадобится

— цитирует слова Шумера издание Daily Beast.

Если данный проект резолюции будет представлен для рассмотрения, то для того, чтобы он попал к президенту Дональду Трампу, документу нужно набрать простое большинство голосов в обеих палатах Конгресса. Впрочем, как ожидает издание, вероятнее всего, Трамп отвергнет данную резолюцию. И тогда перед ее авторами встанет задача набрать подавляющее большинство голосов, чтобы обойти вето главы государства.


Использованы фотографии: vtorlommet.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти