The entry of American troops into Gabon led to a military rebellion

On the morning of January 7, an attempted military coup occurred in Gabon. The rebels stormed a radio station in Libreville, the capital of the country, and read out criticism of President Ali Bongo. However, most of the army and the security forces did not support the coup, so the coup participants were soon arrested.


The entry of American troops into Gabon led to a military rebellion


Interestingly, two days earlier, on January 5, 2019, President Donald Trump informed the U.S. Congress of the entry of American troops into Gabon. Although there is no civil war in the country, the situation in it is rather complicated. The U.S. contingent, which includes aviation and ground units, was deployed to Libreville on January 2, 2019.

President Ali Bongo is seriously ill. At the time of the putsch, by the way, he was undergoing treatment in Morocco. The absence of the head of state was also exploited by the opposition officers who called themselves “the Patriotic movement of youth in the ranks of the defense and security forces of Gabon”.

Little Gabon is one of Africa's richest in natural resources. Large stocks of oil, manganese, and valuable wood are concentrated here.

Washington is very worried that after Bongo passed away or as president, US forces hostile to the country would not come to power. The reorientation of Gabon towards cooperation with China or Russia is not at all beneficial to the United States.

The introduction of US troops in Gabon is precisely its task to protect American interests in this country. It is likely that a rebellion suppressed today by government forces was associated with this decision of Trump.
  • Photos used: http://far-maroc.forumpro.fr
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorbunov.vladisl (Vlad Dudnik) 8 January 2019 07: 18
    +1
    Gabon is a former French colony. In Gabon, even the state language is French. There is an unspoken rule in the West. The former metropolises control the former colonies. That is, the Americans got into the territory of French interests. Another click on Macron's nose. lol
    And at the same time China is encouraged. China is Gabon's main economic partner.

Ввод американских войск в Габон привел к военному мятежу

Утром 7 января в Габоне произошла попытка военного переворота. Мятежники взяли штурмом радиостанцию в столице страны Либревиле и зачитали обращение с критикой президента Али Бонго. Однако большая часть армии и сил безопасности путч не поддержала, поэтому участники переворота вскоре были арестованы.


Ввод американских войск в Габон привел к военному мятежу


Интересно, что двумя днями ранее, 5 января 2019 года, президент Дональд Трамп сообщил Конгрессу США о вводе в Габон американских войск. Хотя в стране нет гражданской войны, положение в ней довольно сложное. Американский контингент, включающий авиацию и сухопутные подразделения, был переброшен в Либревиль 2 января 2019 года.

Президент Али Бонго тяжело болен. В момент путча он, кстати, находился на лечении в Марокко. Отсутствием главы государства и воспользовались оппозиционные ему офицеры, называющие себя «Патриотическим движением молодежи в рядах сил обороны и безопасности Габона».

Маленький Габон – одна из богатейших по природным ресурсам стран Африки. Здесь сосредоточены большие запасы нефти, марганца, ценных пород дерева.

В Вашингтоне очень опасаются, чтобы после ухода Бонго из жизни или с поста президента, к власти в стране не пришли враждебные США силы. Переориентация Габона на сотрудничество с Китаем или Россией совсем не выгодна Соединенным Штатам.

Ввод войск США в Габон как раз и ставит своей задачей обезопасить американские интересы в этой стране. Вероятно, что с данным решением Трампа был связан и подавленный сегодня правительственными войсками мятеж.
  • Использованы фотографии: http://far-maroc.forumpro.fr
Объявление
Мы открыты к сотрудничеству с авторами в новостной и аналитический отделы. Обязательным условием является умение быстро анализировать текст и проверять факты, писать сжато и интересно на политические и экономические темы. Предлагаем гибкий график работы и регулярные выплаты. Отклики с примерами работ просьба направлять на olga.hr@vo-media.ru
1 комментарий
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. gorbunov.vladisl Офлайн gorbunov.vladisl
    gorbunov.vladisl (Влад Дудник) 8 января 2019 07:18
    +1
    Габон бывшая колония Франции. В Габоне даже государственный язык французский. На Западе есть негласное правило. Бывшие метрополии контролируют бывшие колонии. То есть американцы влезли на территорию французских интересов. Очередной щелчок по носу Макрону. lol
    А заодно и Китаю поднагадить. Китай основной экономический партнёр Габона.