The law on sanctions against Russia, Iran and Syria was blocked in the US Senate

On January 8, 2019, the US Senate “stalled” on the bill under the loud and promising title of “Strengthening America’s Security in the Middle East.” Of the 100 senators, the bill has support only in 56, with the required 60 votes.




However, Republican leader in the upper house of parliament, Mitch McConnell, introduced the document for a new review. But the Democrats refuse to consider it, as in any other bills, until the so-called “shutdown” in the country ceases.

The thing is that in the United States since December 22, 2018, due to budget problems, a number of federal departments have stopped working (or are working with severe restrictions). This happened because US President Donald Trump wanted to include an additional $ 5,6 billion in the budget. He needed them to build the promised wall on the border with Mexico. And now, against this initiative, the democrats have become a kind of wall.

It should be noted that the bill on "Strengthening the Security of America in the Middle East" proposes to enforce various sanctions against Damascus in the form of a law, acting on the basis of decrees of the US president, which the head of state himself cannot cancel without congressional approval. Moreover, the document provides for various restrictions on Russia and Iran, as the closest allies of Syria.

Sanctions include not only military issues (contractors, paramilitary groups, aircraft, etc.), but virtually any cooperation with the Syrian government, including hydrocarbon production. This is a gross interference in the activities of other states, in the form of protecting the inhabitants of Syria. Indeed, the bill expressly spells out that it is Russia, along with the authorities of Syria and Iran, that conducts air strikes against civilians and civilian objects of this country.

But article 331 states that sanctions can be suspended if Moscow, Damascus, and Tehran cease such actions, as well as if this is in the "national security interests" of the United States. At the same time, the bill obliges the President of the United States to submit to Congress a strategy for providing humanitarian assistance to the population of Syria, and the US Treasury to establish whether the Central Bank of Syria is engaged in money laundering and, if so, to impose sanctions against it.

At the same time, the same bill provides for defense and other cooperation with Israel and Jordan. For example, the program of assistance to Israel is extended until October 2023, and its annual size should be at least $ 3,3 billion. The US President also receives permission to supply high-precision weapons to Tel Aviv. Cooperation in the space sector, the fight against the illegal use of drones and assistance to developing countries are envisaged.
  • Photos used: https://newsbel.by/
Ad
We are open to cooperation with authors in the news and analytical departments. A prerequisite is the ability to quickly analyze the text and check the facts, to write concisely and interestingly on political and economic topics. We offer flexible working hours and regular payments. Please send your responses with examples of work to [email protected]
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Закон о санкциях против России, Ирана и Сирии был заблокирован в Сенате США

8 января 2019 года Сенат США «забуксовал» по поводу законопроекта под громким и многообещающим названием «Укрепление безопасности Америки на Ближнем Востоке». Из 100 сенаторов законопроект имеет поддержку лишь у 56, при необходимых 60 голосах.





Однако лидер республиканцев в верхней палате парламента Митч Макконнелл внес этот документ на новое рассмотрение. Но демократы отказываются его рассматривать, как в прочем и любые другие законопроекты, пока не прекратится так называемый «шатдаун» в стране.

Все дело в том, что в США с 22 декабря 2018 года из-за проблем с бюджетом прекратили работу (или работают с сильными ограничениями) целый ряд федеральных ведомств. Это случилось потому, что президенту США Дональду Трампу захотелось включить в бюджет дополнительные $5,6 млрд. Они понадобились ему на строительство обещанной стены на границе с Мексикой. И вот против этой инициативы и стали своеобразной стеной демократы.

Нужно отметить, что законопроект об «Укреплении безопасности Америки на Ближнем Востоке» предлагает закрепить в форме закона различные санкции против Дамаска, действующие на основании указов президента США, которые сам глава государства не сможет отменить без одобрения конгресса. Более того, документ предусматривает различные ограничения в отношении России и Ирана, как ближайших союзников Сирии.

Под санкции попадают не только вопросы военного характера (подрядчики, военизированные формирования, авиатехника и прочее), а фактически любое сотрудничество с правительством Сирии, включая добычу углеводородов. Подается это грубое вмешательство в деятельность других государств, в виде защиты жителей Сирии. Ведь в законопроекте прямо прописано, что именно Россия, наряду с властями Сирии и Ирана, осуществляет авиаудары по мирному населению и гражданским объектам этой страны.

Но в статье 331 говорится, что санкции могут быть приостановлены, если Москва, Дамаск и Тегеран прекратят такие действия, а также, если это отвечает «интересам национальной безопасности» США. Одновременно с этим законопроект обязывает президента США в течение 180 дней предоставить в конгресс стратегию оказания гуманитарной помощи населению Сирии, а Минфин США установить, занимается ли Центральный банк Сирии отмыванием денег, и, в случае если это так, ввести против него санкции.

При этом этим же законопроектом предусматривается оборонное и прочее сотрудничество с Израилем и Иорданией. Например, программа помощи Израилю продлевается до октября 2023 года, а ее ежегодный размер должен составлять не менее $3,3 млрд. Президент США также получает разрешение на поставку Тель-Авиву высокоточного оружия. Предусмотрено сотрудничество в космической сфере, борьба с незаконным использованием беспилотников и помощь развивающимся странам.
Использованы фотографии: https://newsbel.by/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти