Why Poland is doomed to Russian coal

The Polish media provide interesting information about the state of the local coal industry. It turns out that the coal mines of this country are not able to cover all the available domestic demand for coal. For example, the Polish edition Dziennik Gazeta Prawna (DPG) reports that even state-controlled energy companies PGE and Tauron are already using coal imported from Russia.




According to the publication, coal imports to Poland by the end of 2018 may amount to 18-19 million tons and about 70% of this amount will come from Russian coal. So, for 10 months of 2018, Poland imported 15,73 million tons of coal, including 11,18 million tons from Russia. This is another record, since in 2017 Poland imported 13,3 million tons, including 8,7 million tons from Russia. This is due to the fact that in Poland coal production began to decline after the process of closing unprofitable and other illiquid mines began. Now Russia is the largest coal supplier to Poland. Although most recently Poland was famous for its coal industry, steadily entering the top ten coal-mining states of the world.

Now, according to the publication, Polish coal companies, despite investments, can not increase production at such a rate to cover the needs of local consumers. That is, despite the recapitalization of the mining industry in Poland worth more than 3 billion zlotys ($ 820 million), local power engineers cannot count on the full supply of domestic raw materials.

At the same time, during the winter period, Polish power engineers receive raw materials from the local mining industry within the framework of the lower threshold of the “plug” contained in the contracts. This is approximately 10-20% less than average values. In this regard, coal imports to Poland in 2019 may increase to 20 million tons.

Last year, Tauron, which owns its own mines, produced 1,8 million tons less coal than anticipated by the plan. PGE could not help, so the company turned to import. Including from Russia

- specify in the publication.

For example, on December 12, 2018, about two thousand tons of high-quality “low sulfur” coal were certified. This coal was delivered from Russia for PGE to the Rybnik power station. Moreover, according to the publication, in 2019 only PGE (Polish energy group) may require 2 million tons of imported coal.

It should be noted that it is beneficial for Poles to buy coal from Russians for many reasons. Delivery from Russia takes place within 2-3 weeks, and a ship from the USA, South Africa or Australia can wait a month or more, and it is not a fact that the quality of coal will meet the requirements. So here Russia has no serious competitors in quality and speed of delivery. However, like Poland, there is no other reliable alternative.

At the moment, we are doomed to Russian coal. It is mainly about heat supply, because it needs the low-carbon fuel that Russia offers. The Polish mining group is not able to provide raw materials during the high winter season. I believe that this is also the case with energy, because production in the country is falling

- quotes the publication of the expert opinion of Peter Machentek.

According to the expert, it makes no sense to introduce an embargo (which the Polish government threatened in 2016) on coal from Russia, since Poland is doomed to lose the case in the WTO. And unambiguously and quickly, with corresponding consequences. Therefore, the expert relies on the United States that they will want to increase coal supplies to Poland, as happened with LNG. And US Secretary of Energy Rick Perry allegedly took note of this issue during a recent visit to Poland.
  • Used photos: http://www.southcoal.ru/
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.
I have an account? Sign in
  1. gorenina91 Offline gorenina91
    gorenina91 (Irina) 9 January 2019 17: 21
    +2
    -In addition, Poland will have the opportunity to resell Russian coal to the same ... Ukraine ...
  2. Luda Offline Luda
    Luda (Luda) 9 January 2019 21: 12
    +1
    What is the attitude to the monuments to the Soviet Soldiers-Liberators! Only always meanness from them!
    I wanted a coal with a low sulfur content! Yes, hurry up!
    And why can’t they increase production themselves? Despite the investment? am am

Почему Польша обречена на российский уголь

Польские СМИ сообщают любопытную информацию о состоянии местной угольной отрасли. Оказывается, что угольные шахты этой страны не в состоянии покрыть весь имеющийся внутренний спрос на уголь. Например, польское издание Dziennik Gazeta Prawna (DPG) сообщает, что даже контролируемые государством энергетические компании PGE и Tauron уже используют уголь, привезенный из России.





По данным издания, импорт угля в Польшу по итогам 2018 года может составить 18-19 млн. тонн и около 70% из этого количества придется на уголь России. Так, за 10 месяцев 2018 года Польша импортировала 15,73 млн. тонн угля, в том числе 11,18 млн. тонн из России. Это очередной рекорд, так как в 2017 году Польша импортировала 13,3 млн. тонн, включая 8,7 млн. тонн из России. Связано это с тем, что в Польше начала сокращаться добыча угля, после того, как начался процесс закрытия убыточных и прочих неликвидных шахт. Теперь Россия крупнейший поставщик угля в Польшу. Хотя совсем недавно Польша славилась своей угольной отраслью, стабильно входя в десятку угледобывающих государств мира.

Теперь, по утверждению издания, польские угольные компании, несмотря на инвестиции, не могут увеличить добычу с такой скоростью, чтобы покрыть запросы местных потребителей. То есть, несмотря на проведенную докапитализацию горнодобывающей промышленности Польши на сумму в более чем в 3 млрд. злотых ($820 млн.), местные энергетики не могут рассчитывать на полное обеспечение отечественным сырьем.

При этом в зимний период польские энергетики получают от местной горнодобывающей промышленности сырье в рамках нижнего порога «вилки», содержащейся в контрактах. Это приблизительно на 10-20% меньше средних значений. В связи с этим импорт угля в Польшу в 2019 году может увеличиться до 20 млн. тонн.

В прошлом году Tauron, владеющая собственными шахтами, добыла на 1,8 млн. тонн угля меньше, чем предполагал план. PGE помочь не могла, так что компания обратилась к импорту. В том числе и из России

- уточняют в издании.

Например, 12 декабря 2018 года прошли сертификацию около двух тыс. тонн высококачественного угля «с низким содержанием серы». Этот уголь был доставлен из России для PGE на электростанцию в Рыбнике. Более того, по мнению издания, в 2019 году только PGE (польская энергетическая группа) может потребоваться 2 млн. тонн импортного угля.

Нужно отметить, что полякам выгодно покупать уголь у россиян по многим причинам. Поставка из России происходит в течение 2-3 недель, а корабль из США, ЮАР или Австралии можно ждать месяц и более, и не факт что качество угля будет соответствовать требованиям. Так что тут у России нет серьезных конкурентов по качеству и скорости доставки. Впрочем, как и у Польши – нет другой надежной альтернативы.

На данный момент мы обречены на российский уголь. Речь идет в основном о теплоснабжении, потому что ему нужно низкоуглеродное топливо, которое предлагает Россия. Польская горнодобывающая группа не в состоянии в высокий зимний сезон обеспечить сырье. Я полагаю, что так же обстоят дела и с энергетикой, потому что добыча в стране падает

- цитирует издание мнение эксперта Петра Мачентека.

По мнению эксперта, ввести эмбарго (чем грозилось польское правительство в 2016 году) на уголь из России нет смысла, так как Польша обречена на проигрыш дела в ВТО. Причем однозначно и быстро, с соответствующими последствиями. Поэтому эксперт уповает на США, что те захотят увеличить поставки угля в Польшу, как это произошло с СПГ. И министр энергетики США Рик Перри в ходе недавнего визита в Польшу якобы принял этот вопрос к сведению.
Использованы фотографии: http://www.southcoal.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

2 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. gorenina91 Офлайн
    gorenina91 (Ирина) 9 января 2019 17:21
    +2
    • 2
    • 0
    -Вдобавок у Польши появится возможность перепродавать российский уголь всё той же...Украине...
  2. Люда Офлайн
    Люда (Люда) 9 января 2019 21:12
    +1
    • 1
    • 0
    Как относятся к памятникам Советским Воинам-Освободителям! Подлость от них только всегда!
    С низким содержанием серы уголёк захотелось! Да поскорей!
    И почему же не могут увеличить добычу сами? Несмотря на инвестиции? am am